We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for drinks and grub!”
Review of Matt Reilly's Pub

Matt Reilly's Pub
Ranked #5 of 22 Restaurants in Lanesboro
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Restaurant details
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place for drinks and grub!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

In the summer it is a grreat place for sitting outside on the back deck overlooking the beautiful view of Pontoosic Lake.
Located on Rte 7 on the Pittsfield-Lanesboro line.

Helpful?
Thank mrr107i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    47
    19
    8
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great view if you're tall enough!”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Have been here a couple times, love the out door dining. Was there on a sat. Afternoon for lunch it was very hot and thought it would be nice by the water. They have a two level deck which the lower deck is reserved for cocktails only? ,ok, at night, i get it..it was noon on sat? No one was down there, i asked and was told they can't break the rules? So we sat in the last open table which was 3/4 in the sun. Food is average. Went for the view, which we really couldn't see over the railings and other diners!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mshirikjian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe MA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Rules Rules and More Rules”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Matt Reilly's had a reputation of being a nice place to go to spend time having a drink and grabbing a bite to eat. Must have been before the new rule book. Going out with a group of friends we decided on Matt Reilly's and headed there with visions of fun and food. Well the best laid plans as they say. Ten of us made the trip and we settled in at two outside tables. We ordered drinks and as we did we were looking at the appetizer menu. Once we decided on what we wanted rule one came into play. If we were only going to have appetizers and drinks, we were sitting in the wrong section and had to move.
Moving to another section of the deck and smaller tables, we ordered. One of our group decided they wanted something more substantial to eat and ordered from inside and got a to go container. While she was eating, someone came over to the table and told her she couldnt have to go food on the deck and took the containers off the table. Guess that was rule number two.
Later on there was an order for a shot of something called Oatmeal Cookie. When the waiter delivered it he also told them they were cut off from ordering more shots. Considering they only ordered one, this seemed a little odd. So when a manager came over and the discussion came around to that, she said it was because the waiter was responsible if someone left there and got into an accident. Apparently this only applies to shots because they would continue to give the table regular drinks just not shots. This responsibility apparently did not apply to people who showed up drunk, were drinking in the parking lot before being seated and had one of their party urinate on a face in plain view of anyone on the deck who happened to turn that way. So in the future, we (who have decided to do this regularly) will not be going back to Matt Reilly's too many rules, which apparently only applied to our party. We were not unruly, drunk nor loud. So off we go somewhere else to spend our money. Which was a bit considering there were ten people and the waiter was well tipped. So who knows why.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dave n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“View of lake, lots o' bevs, and darned good food”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Try the lobster on Friday nights, but expect a wait. This once-biker bar, now turned tourist AND locals fave. Reilly's Burgers have sausage mixed in, great sweet potato fries, steamers, fried clams, etc. In nice weather, a seat on the back patio with gorgeous view of Pontoosuc Lake is worth waiting for.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Candide J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing outdoor dining”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

A comfortable way to beat the heat with outdoor dining. Solid meals for all. A bit confused about why the seats closest to the water are reserved for bar patrons. They are also allowed to smoke, so your lake and mountain views can be a bit hazy.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank SF C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matt Reilly's Pub also viewed

 

Been to Matt Reilly's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing