We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place and a lovely couple”
Review of Les Picardies

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Picardies
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had a wonderful weekend of here with our two boys and some friends and their children: wonderful spot; highly entertaining and informative wine-tasting; lovely large room with the luxury of a roll-top bath; and most of all a warm and welcoming generosity of spirit. What is there not to like..?

Room Tip: The large room with the roll-top bath in the corner is a real treat.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for Les Picardies
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 42 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

We came with our two children, friends and their children. What can we say a truly fantastic weekend, friendly helpful and proffessional. You have to try the wine tasting option, although dont plan too much for the next morning! We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rupert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here early September and cannot say enough kind words about our experience. From the warm welcome, cold beers on a hot hot day, huge room with roll top bath in the corner, pea-cocks in the garden admiring our car, a game on table tennis before dinner, great meal and more importantly hosted by a couple who know the true meaning of the word hospitality.
Can recommend highly and we will return in the future!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DorothyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

What a wonderful surprise to find such a kind and friendly couple. A beautifully restored house in such peaceful surroundings made our short visit a real joy. We will definitely go back and stay for longer as soon as we can. A particularly lovely garden breakfast and next time, without doubt, we will have dinner at their charming candlelit table.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed at Les Picardies, a magnificent 15th century Manor House, for 4 nights in July, whilst we house hunted in the area. Our room, overlooking the garden, complete with well, was very spacious, and a perfect mix of traditional and ultra modern. The shower was "state of the art", large, with powerful jets, mood lighting and even music!
The hospitality of owners Martin and Em, and son Hamish were second to none.There was always a welcoming pot of tea, or glass of wine on offer, when we returned tired after a busy day of house hunting. Em's delicious dinners, served family style, included freshly picked veg from their kitchen garden ( doesn't get much fresher than that!), and wine. Excellent value , served in a relaxed , friendly manner, in a lovely traditional dining room.
The grounds include an old well, and a lake, and a neighbour's magnificent peacock, and 3 peahens, wander by searching out treats from the vegetable garden!
We really enjoyed our stay here, and look forward to returning in the future. We will follow with great interest the transformation of this magnificent building.
Please note, I inadvertently ticked the boxes for swimming pool and fitness centre, ( there is no swimming pool or fitness centre),and there is not an edit option. TRIP ADVISOR please note!

Room Tip: We stayed in bedroom 2, with the great shower, and overlooking the garden. We were very happy with t...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ailes60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights as a short break. Only 30mins from Limoges airport where we hired a car. The B&B was fantastic with very welcoming hosts. A great base to explore rural France.
We had the Superior Double room with en-suite which was a lovely big room with views over the garden, the shower was very powerful and everything was nice and clean. We ate breakfast outside which was also wonderful. We had 2 evening meals which were delicious and the wine was fantastic too! Thank you for making our short break so much fun.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drycured
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celinette1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lespicardies, Owner at Les Picardies, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lesterps
14.4 mi away
Chateau de Nieuil
Chateau de Nieuil
#1 of 1 in Nieuil
172 reviews
10.7 mi away
L'Azur Hotel Restaurant
L'Azur Hotel Restaurant
#1 of 3 in Saint Junien
115 reviews
21.2 mi away
Hotel La Chapelle St-Martin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
13 Bees
13 Bees
#1 of 14 in Confolens
22 reviews
24.9 mi away
Camping de Freaudour
Camping de Freaudour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Pardoux
102 reviews
13.5 mi away
Village Flottant de Pressac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Picardies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Picardies

Address: Lieu Dit les Picardies, 16420 Lesterps, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente > Lesterps
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Lesterps
Price Range: $76 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Picardies is ahandsome 15th century manor house offering chambres d'hote and an optional fully licensed table d'hote. There is around one hectare of gardens and a lake, set in beautiful rural surroundings on the eastern edge of Charente region in south western France. We can offer table tennis and petanque but we also have two hammocks and plenty of deck chairs! The house is situated on Cycle route 42 and there are plenty of well marked walks in the vicinity. There are two large double rooms, with south facing views, at the front of the house. One with a bath and separate WC and the other with a provate shower room and WC. At the back of the house there are a further two large bedrooms, one double and one twin bedded room sharing a shower room and WC. The house comfortably sleeps up to 10 people and there is a very large, comfortable sitting room and a large dining room available for guests. When necessary, there is central heating throughout the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Les Picardies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing