We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This restaurant aspires to be Chuck-e-cheese”

Charlie Horse Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 47 Restaurants in Kingston
Restaurant details
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“This restaurant aspires to be Chuck-e-cheese”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Food is very "food chainish". Wait staff are usually very attentive or accommodating, unless of course you have had two beers and laugh too loudly. Saw a guy hauled out by cops because he was served two beers, questioned his food, got a little loud, but then was "escorted" out. This place has a reputation for a lot of police visits once the bar starts cranking. Stay away if you can.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MisLis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    17
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good spot for family meal or drinks with friends”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I ate here with a large group of family and friends. There is a good variety of food and lovely cocktails. It is family friendly. The service was fast and friendly. The staff were very helpful dealing with a large party. Would definitely go there again .

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GalwayGal001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Depressing”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This place is just depressing. It is the opposite of high-end... The food is mediocre, the drink selection is poor, noisy, and obnoxious kids running around everywhere. The owners also own the Abington Ale House which is shocking to me because the AAH is great; totally different experience from the Charlie Horse

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
88 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Better than I expected!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were in a rush to get to an event, and starving, so we pulled into the Charlie Horse, which we thought would be just an average sports bar kind of experience.
Au contraire, fellow diners.
First surprise: several roomy dining areas, with ample space between tables - so, although it was crowded, it didn't feel cramped or too noisy.
Next bonus: Super friendly staff. Everyone was smiling and nice, and said "you're welcome," instead of "no problem." Great service!
Biggest surprise: really good food. Reasonable prices.
We don't make it down to that area often, but we'd definitely go back to the Charlie Horse!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sage143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie Horse Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Charlie Horse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing