We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place to stay in Ipswich!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rogers and Brown House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rogers and Brown House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Ipswich B&B and Inns
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The best place to stay in Ipswich!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

We loved staying at Rogers & Brown Bed and Breakfast earlier this month. It made our first visit to Ipswich to explore family history even a more memorable one.. Frank and Johanne's hospitality was superb and they helped us feel very comfortable and "at home." Breakfast was excellent in their beautiful dining room and the living room was cozy to sit in and talk. This home is close to the center of town. The Federal Queen Bedroom was large and comfy but I think we'd get the King Room (or the smaller queen room) next time to have a shower in our bedroom. We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbaro14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
30
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

My husband found this B&B on line -- I've given him a lot of credit. The building dates from the colonial era and has been well maintained through the centuries. The hosts are informative and welcoming and the breakfast we had was excellent. This is not the place for you if you need sleek, large, marble-tiled bathrooms, but if you are looking for a charming and convenient location in a historic town, you couldn't do better.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiriamfromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

Charming B&B! Warm, friendly, helpful, and interesting hosts Johanne and Frank made our stay comfortable, relaxing, and informative.
Breakfast was made-to-order (my Mom diabetic, myself, vegetarian), and sumptously delicious.
Johanne's art was a wonderful discovery - our room was graced with her first mural, and this contributed to ambiance beyond expectations.
Frank's knowledge of Ipswich and surrounding coastal areas further contributed to our experience of the East Coast, and also put into perspective how Ipswich and its breathtakingly beautiful Crane Beach is a jewel on the map to be returned to summer after summer...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellernottourist9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

If you are visiting Ipswich, Frank and Johanne's B&B is like walking into a friends home; whom you have never "officially" met. We were there to mix business with pleasure (our first visit to the area). Our room was so comphy, we slept like we were in our own place. Breakfast was wonderful or we should say Wow. Thank you so much Frank and Johanne for inviting us into your home and helping us decide that our move to the area is the right choice for us.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GigglingDolphins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland area
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

This house was an integral part of our visit to Ipswich, Essex and Gloucester. Frank and Johanne our gracious (and gifted) hosts have worked to renovate what was originally three houses joined to form one intriguing mansion. Johanne is a wonderful folk artist, and her work decorates many walls. Frank is well-informed and informative.

We were in the federal queen room for three nights--extremely comfortable four-poster bed, well-calibrated air-conditioning, chairs, couch, chests of drawers, etc. There's a toilet and sink adjoining the room, but for a shower you exit and descend steep back stairs, and go through the kitchen. The bathroom's great when you get there. For the King room I believe there's a private shower.

And PS, the breakfast is excellent--fresh, ripe fruit just for starters....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinnerout66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

My wife and I are not B&B people-this is only our 2nd experience-but it was very good.The owners were personable,informative and kind.It felt like we were at our friends house.Great breakfast,too.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pod1276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2010

This house is beautiful, fascinating, and welcoming. If you love American history, and maybe don't love the typical frilly Victorian b&b, it is definitely for you. The owners are lovely too. It was especially cozy in winter!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynncorinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
10.9 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#4 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
9.8 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
8.4 mi away
Blue - Inn on the Beach
Blue - Inn on the Beach
#1 of 1 in Plum Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston North Shore
9.7 mi away
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newburyport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
4.4 mi away
Shea's Riverside Inn & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rogers and Brown House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rogers and Brown House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Rogers and Brown House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 83 County Rd, Ipswich, MA 01938-2511
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Ipswich
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rogers and Brown House Bed and Breakfast is a lovely, historic home, just a short walk to the Ipswich town center. Come to relax and unwind, enjoy a special romantic getaway, attend a special event or walk the pristine sands of Crane Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rogers and Brown House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing