We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historical home, art, exceptional breakfast and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rogers and Brown House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rogers and Brown House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Ipswich B&B and Inns
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Historical home, art, exceptional breakfast and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

Charming B&B! Warm, friendly, helpful, and interesting hosts Johanne and Frank made our stay comfortable, relaxing, and informative.
Breakfast was made-to-order (my Mom diabetic, myself, vegetarian), and sumptously delicious.
Johanne's art was a wonderful discovery - our room was graced with her first mural, and this contributed to ambiance beyond expectations.
Frank's knowledge of Ipswich and surrounding coastal areas further contributed to our experience of the East Coast, and also put into perspective how Ipswich and its breathtakingly beautiful Crane Beach is a jewel on the map to be returned to summer after summer...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellernottourist9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
30
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

If you are visiting Ipswich, Frank and Johanne's B&B is like walking into a friends home; whom you have never "officially" met. We were there to mix business with pleasure (our first visit to the area). Our room was so comphy, we slept like we were in our own place. Breakfast was wonderful or we should say Wow. Thank you so much Frank and Johanne for inviting us into your home and helping us decide that our move to the area is the right choice for us.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GigglingDolphins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland area
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

This house was an integral part of our visit to Ipswich, Essex and Gloucester. Frank and Johanne our gracious (and gifted) hosts have worked to renovate what was originally three houses joined to form one intriguing mansion. Johanne is a wonderful folk artist, and her work decorates many walls. Frank is well-informed and informative.

We were in the federal queen room for three nights--extremely comfortable four-poster bed, well-calibrated air-conditioning, chairs, couch, chests of drawers, etc. There's a toilet and sink adjoining the room, but for a shower you exit and descend steep back stairs, and go through the kitchen. The bathroom's great when you get there. For the King room I believe there's a private shower.

And PS, the breakfast is excellent--fresh, ripe fruit just for starters....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinnerout66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

My wife and I are not B&B people-this is only our 2nd experience-but it was very good.The owners were personable,informative and kind.It felt like we were at our friends house.Great breakfast,too.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pod1276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2010

This house is beautiful, fascinating, and welcoming. If you love American history, and maybe don't love the typical frilly Victorian b&b, it is definitely for you. The owners are lovely too. It was especially cozy in winter!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynncorinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

We usually don't write reviews of our B&B stays, but our experience at the Rogers & Brown B&B in Ipswich was so memorable, we felt others should know more about this charming home and its innkeepers, Frank and Johanne. First, the home itself is rich in history with one section dating back to the late 1600s (!) and the "newer" part built around 1750. Second, Frank and Johanne have done an amazing job of fully restoring the entire home to its early American style and in great taste. (Many of Johanne's own paintings grace the walls of most rooms.) Breakfast each morning was a feast.
Best of all, this lovely couple really go out of their way to make you feel at home. In keeping with what the small sign says outside their front door, we entered as strangers and left as friends. Finally, Ipswich and the environs are pregnant with early American history. And...we were just minutes away from a glorious 2-mile wide white sand beach.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jabreu_il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2010

We've chosen this Bed and Breakfast reading one of my preferred decor magazine.. Country Sampler.. This Bed and Breakfast is really a beauty.. with old and primitive style mixed, a little of american and european decor... The innkeeper , Mrs. Johanne is a folk art painter and there is also a studio next the Bed and Breakfast with lovely paintings!! We've bought also one and brought back to Italy!!
The bedroom are lovely decorated and also breakfast in the morning is delicious..
We've been there after Christmas and Christmas decorations were really special.. wonderful!!
We recommend you to stay in this place... what a pity to have to go away the next day!
We hope to have the possibility to come back during our summer holidays!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stitchforlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
10.9 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
9.8 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
8.4 mi away
Blue - Inn on the Beach
Blue - Inn on the Beach
#1 of 1 in Plum Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston North Shore
9.7 mi away
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newburyport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
4.4 mi away
Shea's Riverside Inn & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rogers and Brown House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rogers and Brown House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Rogers and Brown House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 83 County Rd, Ipswich, MA 01938-2511
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Ipswich
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rogers and Brown House Bed and Breakfast is a lovely, historic home, just a short walk to the Ipswich town center. Come to relax and unwind, enjoy a special romantic getaway, attend a special event or walk the pristine sands of Crane Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rogers and Brown House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing