We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best $15 I've spent in a long time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crane Beach

Crane Beach
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy the Northeast's most spectacular beach and follow trails and boardwalks through a landscape of sand dunes and salt marsh.
Wilmington Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Best $15 I've spent in a long time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Selected this beach based on TripAdvisor reviews and I am thrilled I did. We went on a Monday so the admission price was only $15. Plenty of parking, plenty of space on the beach, they have changing facilities and a nice snack bar, etc. Getting to Ipswich on back roads and police traps was a pain, but well worth getting to our destination. The water was COLD in late June. I like cold ocean water...this was REALLY cold water. We will be coming back!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BrettLoehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    89
    10
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
East Brunswick
Level Contributor
112 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were there on Labor day weekend. It was very crowded but this beach is very, very long. Don't worry, you'll find a spot to lay your umbrella. The sand and water is clean. Well equipped with bathroom, changing room, shower to wash your feet. Food stand and bbq grill sell wraps, burgers, hot dogs and drinks. It's very different from Wingaersheek beach which I would highly recommend. Less crowded and best to visit at low tide.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank WanMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Crane's Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Beautiful beach, but visit before the Greenhead flies arrive in late summer. Nice bathrooms and changing areas.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank k1ptravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
334 reviews
152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Vamos a la Playa !! Ohh oh oo ooohhoo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice beach, though with 25$ per car at the weekend little pricy. Lots of parking space, showers, restroom, food & beverage can be purchased at moderate prices. The beach is kept clean, it is very long, so even on crowdy days just walk a little further to get your own more quiet spot. Don't forget sun umbrellas. Definitely good place for kids, there are life guards on duty. Have fun!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KKBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean and beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

The beach is clean and beautiful. For June 1st the water was surprisingly warm. Someone had told me that there are "many" green flies but I only saw a few. Perhaps they appear later in the season. I've visited many beaches and this ranks amongst the best. The only criticism I have is that the parking lot fills up quickly and there is poor communication between the police and the people who run the lots. The police detour traffic away from the lots and could not provide any estimates as to when they would allow additional people to access the road toward the lots. When I explained this was my third attempt the policeman agreed to allow me to access the road and try to find a spot in the lot. When I arrived at the parking lot there were ample spaces. So, it was confusing to me that the police were detouring traffic and had signs set up indicating "lot is full". When I left there were ample spaces as well however as I passed the police they were still detouring traffic and still had "lot is full" signs posted. Otherwise beautiful place!!! Great views, really and truly enjoyed it. I thank the officer for letting me through (I don't live in the area and probably would never have had the opportunity to see the beach) however I felt bad for the people who parked their cars miles away and walked.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mellowmelll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crane Beach also viewed

 

Been to Crane Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing