We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Restaurant”

Salt Kitchen and Rum Bar
Ranked #7 of 41 Restaurants in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
West Newbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

This restaurant knows how to treat its customers, even when there is a problem. We arrived at Salt for our 7 PM reservation last Saturday night, but they had lost our reservation. The hostess handled it professionally by finding us a seat at the bar and bought us a couple of drinks while we waited for a table to open. It took a while because it was very busy, but we got a table and enjoyed a wonderful meal. Mistakes happen, but a professional staff knows how to deal with a problem. Kuddos to the hostess and we'll be back soon.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    48
    18
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful! Repeat diner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have been to Salt many times and have never had a bad meal. Our 5 year old daughter enjoys it-says it is her favorite restaurant, which is great because we don't always want to go to a "family" place. Gourmet comfort food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shapleigh, Maine
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“LOBSTER WELLINGTON~~~”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

On advice of friends and clients we stopped by SALT in Ipswich last week and we were OVER THE MOON about the food and the ambiance. Open for less than a year, this restaurant and its owner, David Gillis, are doing a fantastic job at carving out a niche for themselves. One of us had the FARMER'S BURGER - a most interesting combination of great ground beef, cheddar cheese, crispy bacon, caramalized onions and a fried egg - all served in a pretzel roll. VERY enjoyable, along with spring greens salad. My meal was LBOSTER WELLINGTON and it was fantastic! Two ample puff pastry purses filled with fresh lobster mean, and topped with a lobster gravy. One of the best lunch meals I have enjoyed in a long time.
SALT KITCHEN and RUM BAR deserves your attention! You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LakeRealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
335 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Lots of bottles of beer on the wall”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We felt lucky to get into the Salt Kitchen as it is usually closed on Mondays, but was open for the Veteran's Day holiday. There are only about ten tables. Names of bottled beers and nearly a hundred varieties of rum as well as daily specials were noted on large chalkboards. Our late arrival, around 2 PM meant that many specials were out. Nevertheless, one of our party sampled a "Privateer" rum drink with blood orange soda and mint: it was great and went down quickly! We tried the moules frites, cheeseburger, guinness stew and a remarkable lobster reuben. All were good, none outstanding. The service was slow, but friendly.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Vibe!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Loved the concept,food is fresh,fresh tasty and local! Rum drinks are inventive and interesting! Atmosphere is cool, but loud and small and tight. The lobster pastry appetizer was amazingly good, but I found the scallops on the salt block, to salty and traded with my friend for a pork belly mini taco, which was good but extremely spicy! My friend had chicken and waffles that were mouth watering, so a little hit or miss but totally worth a try!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rkptmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Salt Kitchen and Rum Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing