We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Wait”
Review of Zabagliones - CLOSED

Zabagliones
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Small and quite intimate, this wonderful restaurant serves excellent food well. We were lucky to get a last minute reservation for two on a Saturday night. The restaurant was very busy. We were warmly greeted immediately by the very pleasant hostess/waitress. Of course, every place in this small restaurant is visible from everywhere else. The menu and wine list were presented very soon after we were seated. The menu seems very ordinary but the specials (of which there were only two this evening) were very tempting. The wine list was interesting and had an adequate number of wines at varying prices. Our Caesar salad was served after a reasonable wait and was very fresh and crisp and lightly dressed. The entrees, rack of lamb for $29 and stuffed veal chop , $32 were generous servings and delicious. Both were appropriately done, with flavorful au jus and hot when served. But the wait for the entrees was too long. It seemed that the very small kitchen and very small kitchen staff made more prompt serving a problem. We were not disappointed with the quality and taste of the meals and the wine we chose, a Spanish xxx was very good although a bit too fruity for my taste. It was priced withing my range. In all, we were very pleased with our meal but wish that it would have been served more quickly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joelws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    15
    6
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lynnfield, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“OK...not great”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We visited Zabagliones from out of town primarily because we were in Ipswich, hungry, and the Tripadvisor ratings looked OK. What we found is this is a local restaurant with local, cozy, atmosphere...cozy is PC for small. Our waitress was friendly and efficient but it seemed it took inordinately long for our dinners to arrive. Our meals were tasty, the portions were ample. Fortunately we did not have to engage the cook, as other reviewers did, since out meals were prepared to our satisfaction. Decor is fair which is why I gave Zabagliones an "average" rating. If I lived in the Ipswich area I might return but to me it's not worth more than a 20 minute ride so I probably will not be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jax14fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Solid”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I'll start by saying that my expectations when dining outside of NYC and a select number of other cities are very low, so my very low expectations were greatly exceeded by this place. The food was very tasty.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brownsteindl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beware”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Owner is very rude and inappropriate. Beware when asking for something a certain way or sending something back. He WILL kick you out. What ever happened to the saying "The customer is always right."?

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“An agreeable spot in Ipswich”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We--a party of six--had dinner here on a recent Saturday night and were very pleased with our experience. The food (and our bottle of wine--a nice 2005 Prunotto Barolo) was excellent (I loved my stuffed veal chop and the others in our group were extremely happy with their assorted ravioli dishes--the antipasti and desserts were also very nice) and the service was entirely competent, although it slowed somewhat as the restaurant filled (our reservation was for 6:00 p.m.). We all were very casually dressed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vaoenophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing