We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sinful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Marty's Donut Land - CLOSED

Marty's Donut Land
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
92 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Sinful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

I don't think I have ever had as many wonderful kinds of donuts from anywhere as from Marty's Donut Land in Ipswich. You could definitely buy some of them for a dessert. So fantastic.
They are open early. Their cinnamon rolls are also incredibly DELISH.
This is an old fashioned donut shop... no atmosphere ... just scrumptious donuts. If you get
there really early... before 5am when other donuts are being cooked in the kitchen, you can
take your donuts and pay for them on the honor system. What a wonderful place to have in
our wonderful town of IPSWICH, MA.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pajpaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
216 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Get here while it's still around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Where have all the real donuts gone? Marty's still has them -- big, gooey chocolate glazed ... Honey dipped ... And real crullers. Definitely a candidate for Diners, Drive-ins and Dives. The coffee's not bad (but you can skip the decaf, it's not a decaf kind of place) but it's all about the DONUTS!

Helpful?
1 Thank StartSlowAndEaseOff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice donuts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

The donuts were good. The nice young girl who worked there patiently told us what each donut was. It is not a fancy place, but I would go back.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travelmouse64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Huge donuts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

My husband and I disagree: I thought my donut was average, but he really liked his (although he can't remember what kind he had!). The donuts were enormous. The little donut shop is small and nondescript. The service was really good - a nice woman behind the counter.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bringonspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake City
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Early doghnuts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Fresh from the oven! The best! Go early and get em' while thy're hot!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stevens48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marty's Donut Land also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing