We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service”
Review of Embargo

Embargo
Reserve with OpenTable
Embargo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 199 Restaurants in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Went to Embargo this summer while on a family vacation. Nice, trendy place, good atmosphere, great and expedient service, and the tapas were, for the most part, quite delicious. A nice change from your usual fried seafood spots you find all over Cape Cod.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rock66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    111
    23
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“1/2 price Tapas on Tuesdays!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

If I lived here I would come back. Great selection! I enjoyed the 1/2 price Tapas on Tuesday and was surprised at the selection, as only 2 items were not allowed (lobster), everything else was free game. My martini was tasty. Service was good, attentive and prompt. Atmosphere was nice.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank michaelandtracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“A solid value as always”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We have frequented Embargo many times for the 1/2 price appetizers. It is always a sold value. The food is great and the prices between 4-6pm can not be beat, especially in a tourist area such as Hyannis Center. Highly recommend this special. Even if you miss the special deal, the food and service is still worth the visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Frederick, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Eh - it was ok”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I went to Embargo to have a drink with a couple friends and do Karaoke - There was no waitress. When I went to the bar - I stood there for a few minutes and the woman bartender came up and went directly to the man next to me first (surely men tip pretty women better so...) to be told I was there first (Bartender should have asked). I think the drinks were tiny for $8 each (small glasses lots of ice hardly any liquid). The busboy clearly was taught to go by and pick up any glass with no liquid (sales tactic to get people to buy more drinks) and I had to stop him three times from picking up the glasses that had ice in them - one time he didn't even ask he just grabbed the glass - I had to stop him to keep him from walking away too quick... (seasoned ice is better than having nothing) .... Karaoke was fun to listen to

If you're looking for a bar scene that is loud, overcrowded quickly and crazy with people - Have fun this is your type of bar.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loretta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Spot”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Purely the only place to get a drink and see a descent crowd.
Every other Bar on main Street is Scary.
The Decor is very nice and the "White" Bar is Beautiful.
Music is always great!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vojin1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Embargo also viewed

 

Been to Embargo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing