We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Musty, Damp, and Unhealthy”
Review of Sea Breeze Inn

Sea Breeze Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Breeze Inn
Ranked #9 of 9 Hyannis B&B and Inns
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Musty, Damp, and Unhealthy”
Reviewed September 9, 2010

We found this place last minute on priceline and decided to give it a try. It was the worst mistake we've made in a long time! The room was damp and carried a musty odor that lingered. The bathroom was tiny and the sink was soooo short....like maybe 3 ft. off the floor. Worse yet, the lighting in the bathroom was a yellow-green hue and the shower looked dirty and tiny. I certainly couldn't get ready for my friend's wedding under those conditions. We decided that we would stay the night and leave in the morning. Before I climbed into bed, I noticed that the pillow case had bleached-out acne med. stains on it and looked very faded and over-used. The kicker is when I climbed into bed....the bed was very damp and if it wasn't 3am when we arrived, I would have booked it out of there. In the morning, we packed up and were ready to leave. Upon informing the "owner," we were told that there are no refunds under any circumstances! Several previous reviewers also commented on this policy and it is the most ridiculous rule I've heard of. I wish I knew of her unacceptable policy before we stepped foot on the property. I think it's quite obvious why she came up with that rule....everyone would leave and she would lose a ton of customers. There are a lot of nicer hotels in the area and the extra $25 or so that you would have to pay to stay at a different place is well worth it!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BlondieandCoCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    7
    8
    12
    17
See reviews for
10
31
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Never ever stay here. Our room was dirty. The sheets on the bed were very old and faded. The room smelled like mold and was dark and dingy!. The bathroom was not clean and the shades had holes in them. The window did not lock. We left and were still charged for one night.Could NOT stay there. We were on our way to another part of the Cape where we stayed in a beautiful B&B. Repeat NEVER STAY HERE!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runner052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hyannis hotels

Quincy, MA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

This was our 4th or 5th time stayin at the Sea Breeze Inn. We keep going back due to it's location (walking distance to Main St. & to a small off the beaten track beach. You could also walk to a larger beach about a mile away.

We rented out the jacuzzi cottage as we had my wife & I, two friends with their 1 year old & another friend joining us later in the weekend. For 5 adults & a 1 year old, the cottage was perfect. We found it clean, and in good condition. The backyard was sort of a bonus for us. It had a grill, a deck, several chairs, a table, and lots of little toys for the 1 year old to play around with. We also found the free WiFi helpful as well.

The inn keeper, Raisa, remembered us & greeted us with hugs. She really is a sweet lady & is always ready with a helpful recommendation about the area.

The bathroom in the cottage was a bit larger than needed due to the jacuzzi tub, where the shower was rather claustrophobic. Raisa kept us supplied with fresh towels each day. Just so you are aware, there is no daily maid service for the cottage, so clean up after yourself.

As for the location, we tend to stay here near the Fourth, so we can walk over to the beach & watch the fireworks at night. The Sea Breeze Inn also has a small roof deck you can enjoy.

The cottage also does not include the breakfast. It does have a full kitchen with a coffee maker, so plan accordingly. I would say that the cottage can sleep up to 8, as I think that the couch is a sleeper sofa. Otherwise, there are two bedrooms & the loft area, comfortably sleeping 6. As far as a value, it is hard to beat this one for Fourth of July weekend!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celo626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, Ma
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2010

My husband and I had been together before in June 2006- and he had been a few times before that. It's not the most modern spot to stay at but the inn keeper is the sweetest lady and the accomodations acceptable. It was clean, with plenty of towels...although there s only a shower- no bath.

We arrived at about 9 PM for a week long honeymoon stay and were greated (and remembered!) with open arms. She congratulated us when she learned we were just married, showed us to our room and told us to let her know if we needed anything,

Breakfasts are simple and delicious- fruits, toast, bagles, cereals and beverages and are eaten in a quiant little room.

Upon arrival home each day from our exersions she asked us what we did and if we enjoyed ourselves and that sweet lady even put flowers, chocolates and a card in our room one day as a wedding gift.

It's a nice quiet place to stay both times we went and is just a hop, skip and a jump away from a clean and quiet beach.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanieplante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, FL
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2009

This B & B has a great location, walking distance form Hyannis Beaches. The rooms are small and noicey. The bathroom is smaller still. The owners made an attemp at renovating, but it as a poor one. Vinyl floors and falling apart furniture. Rooms are noisey from road noice and from adjoining rooms and common areas. Not a restfull stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankBocaRaton_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester, ma
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2009

My husband and I only planned on staying for 2 nights for an early 2-year wedding anniversary. We didn't have very much money. However, when we woke up after the 2nd night, we both looked at each other and said, "Is there any reason we shouldn't stay another night?"
The price is very reasonable, considering the distance to the beach and Main St. All walking distance! There's a deck on top of the main house overlooking the ocean (you can even sneak out to the beach for a moonlit stroll!). The Innkeeper, Raisa, was someone I would call 'Mom'. She was very accomodating and hospitable, not to mention very attentive to our needs...but not too much. We loved her!
The room was a lovely Victorian style (with A/C!!!), the beach was well groomed, and the restaurants were great (try the chowder!)
Overall, we plan on visiting this beautiful place for years to come!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianbrianconrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2009

Stayed in the Jacuzzi cottage with our 2 grown up children (18 and 21) whilst friends stayed in one of the hotel rooms.
We were greeted by our friendly hostess, and given lots of information about the area/ restaurants etc.
The cottage is compact, with 3 bedrooms- 2 small doubles on ground floor and a king in the roof space which is accessed by a drop down loft ladder. Not much room to stand up, up there, and we folded the ladder up at night so the occupant could not get down if they needed to use the bathroom. (I wouldn't put small children up there).
Kitchen area was well equipped with cooker, fridge etc, and there is a small dining table and sofa. Everything seemed clean and in good order. Fridge was clean and very cold, but there was a faint "whiff" of fish at times. Small deck and BBQ area, with working BBQ grill. Bathroom clean and in good working order. Availability of hot water seemed variable. Shower always hot, but we did have to boil water in the kettle to wash up kitchen pots on several occasions.
The location is fabulous- 5 minutes walk from the beach, and a few minutes drive to Main street. It was great to kick back and relax on the deck or sofa with our family and friends (8 of us in total). The owner was friendly and genuine, very helpful.
This place is quirky- don't expect the Ritz- but we had a great time and would definitely stay in Jacuzzi cottage again

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family-reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyannis
1.3 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,063 reviews
1.1 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#3 of 22 in Hyannis
1,248 reviews
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,205 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
1.3 mi away
Heritage House Hotel
Heritage House Hotel
#17 of 22 in Hyannis
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Breeze Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Breeze Inn

Property: Sea Breeze Inn
Address: 270 Ocean Ave, Hyannis, MA 02601-4421
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Breeze Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Sea Breeze Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Breeze Hotel Hyannis
Sea Breeze Inn Hyannis, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing