We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off-season value”
Review of Sea Breeze Inn

Sea Breeze Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea Breeze Inn
Ranked #9 of 9 Hyannis B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights in May 2014. The location is great: it's only about a block from a public beach and about a 5-10 minute bike ride to the ferry for Nantucket. It was a great jumping off point for going into town, yet at the same time feeling peaceful and secluded. This is an old historic house, so expect cramped quarters and drafts. Also, in agreement with some other reviews I've read online, the breakfast is a little sad, though knowing that now you won't be too disappointed - just basic cereal, fresh fruit, and maybe a muffin or two.The inn-keeper is friendly and had great tips for us in and around the area, such as where to get free-parking and where to eat (we were constantly refered to as "guys"). The great part about going in the off-season was that we were only 1 of 2 parties that had booked the hotel that weekend, and our room was upgraded from one of the smaller cheaper rooms to a larger one. For the price, I enjoyed the charm, proximity to the water, and the service we received.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank novachili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 64 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

The house was very old. There was a funky smell in the room. The entire decor needs to be updated. The Inn Keeper tried to pass off the furnishings as antiques. Not ! The breakfast is supposed to be "an expanded continental breakfast." Don't be fooled. The cereals are kept in large plastic containers and are all stale! I don't think they've been changed in years ! We thought there would be fruit salad - only apples and bananas ! We had no choice but to eat elsewhere. The surrounding area is wonderful, bu skip this place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed only one night, this is a very old place, needs some serious updating, everything was funky, old musty rooms, poor beds, shower and bath were tiny, very dated, the whole place smelled bad, the breakfast was packaged foods and I didn't bother with eating anything. I would recommend staying elsewhere. We won't go back there again

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bodeeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Ugh. We thought this BnB would be a good value, but it ended up being a bad choice. Like the other reviews said, the entire house was old and in need of serious updates and a good cleaning. The rooms smelled very musty, and the showers were moldy and small. Family members had a worse room than we did; the moldy smell was overpowering. Breakfast is cold cereal and bagels - very disappointing. The host is nice, more of an "in your face" nice. They charge you in full, in advance, which I suspect is because people kept not wanting to pay at the end of their stay because of poor quality.

This place has so much potential, but unfortunately current conditions make for a bad stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llclarityll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Even if the owner is very nice, the room was very old, as well as the restroom. Breakfast is nothing special. Since it is not a cheap please, we would expect something better. I wouldn't come back to stay here

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eeeleonora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here during summer vacation because of recommendations from Lonely Planet. What a disappointment - facility is extremely old, everything squeaks, bedsheet is scratchy, shower does not stay the same temperature, cold cereal+grocery store bagels + stale muffin for breakfast. Convenient location though on a pretty quiet street.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank epaulshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

quite some time since i stayed here so perhaps things have changed. The layout of the Inn is rather unusual - winding staircases to the rooms which are by no means modern, but very comfortable if a little bit pokey.

Hosts were very obliging and nothing was too much bother, breakfast was standard fare that you would find in any Inn.

The Inn's proximity to the beach, the harbour and the main street make it a wonderful location.

Overall some basic work could be done to modernise the house, but it should be done in such a way that it will still retain it's charm.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katy-lied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyannis
1.1 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#4 of 22 in Hyannis
1,276 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
#10 of 22 in Hyannis
52 reviews
1.3 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
1.3 mi away
Heritage House Hotel
Heritage House Hotel
#17 of 22 in Hyannis
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Breeze Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Breeze Inn

Address: 270 Ocean Ave, Hyannis, MA 02601-4421
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hyannis
Price Range: $89 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Breeze Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Sea Breeze Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Breeze Hotel Hyannis
Sea Breeze Inn Hyannis, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing