We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobster Pots to borrow!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hyannis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Captain Gosnold Village Cottage Colony
Reviewed September 3, 2010

We stayed at Capt Gosnold’s village for a week in June just before high season and the place was surprisingly quiet because the week after we were there the prices doubled. Our cottage was a one bedroom cottage with a very nice sitting room/ kitchen and a small but perfectly adequate bathroom.

The cottage was covered with knick-knacks which we had to move to “higher ground” given we had our toddler with us. We had a nice patio with BBQ as well. All considered the accommodation was very good – homely would be a good description. We only had neighbours for 2 nights and we could hear them but nothing which was too intrusive. I think they probably got the short end of the stick with our early starts with our daughter (sorry guys if you are reading this but I don’t think we were too noisy).

There is a little playground which our daughter loved and a number of beach toys and paraphernalia that the owners were more than happy for us to borrow. They really were very pleasant and accommodating folk. They also have lobster pots etc which you can borrow to cook your seafood. The pool wasn’t open which was a shame – they were starting to get it ready for the season when we were there; but to be honest it wasn’t too much of a disappointment as we were out and about all the time.

You have an allocated parking space for your unit. If you can’t be bothered to cook then a number of local restaurants will deliver.

All in all we had a great time and we would go back. Hyannis was a great base for us given its location as it was our first trip to Cape Cod. Hyannis may not be the most glamorous of settings but a) it is mid cape so ideal for exploring both ends and b) we did feel that a number of other places were somewhat “precious” or in modern parlance: up themselves….

Not sure we would want to pay full season rates; but that is more about the Cape in general than Captain Gosnold’s.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Shardlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 65 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2010

After our 3 week traveling we ended up in Captain Gosnold where we rented a cabin for our family (3 teenage kids). A true hidden pearl in a peaceful environment. The landlady was so kind to teach us how to perfectly grill a swordfish steak. An unforgetable experience.
Family de Jong, Vught The Netherlands

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kisorreaiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

We found this place on Lonely Planet, and it exceeded our expectations. We had a lovely little one-bedroom cottage with a kitchen that was well equiped and that you could actually cook in. The staff are super-friendly and very helpful. They even had put a little German flag on our house as we are German. The neraest beach is a 5-7 minute walk away and in mid-May it was super quiet and very beautiful. The price ($140) a night for 3 people was very reasonable.
The only downside were the beds as the mattress in the actual bed was quite old and uncomfortable and the sofa-bed in the living room wasn't super-cozy either but then you wouldn't really expect that from a sofabed.
All in all, we loved it there and extended our stay for a day. However, the prices go up to $250 during high season, and I am not sure if that's quite worth it. But then it's Cape Cod, so it's to be expected.
I would HIGHLY recommend this place off season for families or a group of friends.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Josina1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

We stayed here in late September/early October, our third visit here. I cannot believe the previous review - it does not sound like the same place. We have visited many places in the USA and stayed in 5 star hotels, so we are not easily satisfied. The cottages are charming and lovingly furnished and everything you could possibly need is supplied, apart from food. The web page and the information left for guests in the cottages states clearly that there is a daily housekeeping charge (in lieu of tips) and that guests are expected to wash their own pots. In my view that is perfectly acceptable. This is quintisential Cape Cod. The grounds are well kept, there is an outdoor swimming pool well screened and a play area for the children. It still manages to be private and secluded. The village is set in a residential area and blends in with it's surroundings. Hyannis is a matter of minutes away by car where you can shop to your hearts content. Hyannis main street has lots of individual type shops and the harbour is also minutes away. A perfect place from which to tour the Cape.
Jill and her daughter Lexi manage the village and are always approachable, friendly and do all they can to make your stay a happy experience. It is fair to say that there is a little rust here and there in the bathroom, but the cottages are spotlessly clean. Would we go again? - yes, in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

Stay away from this place. We went there in a big group - 8 adults and 2 kids. We took a cottage with 3 bedrooms and 3 baths but were informed that the 8 adults can't stay there even though they have 7 beds (two double beds in each room and a pullout in living area). They made us pay extra for a separate smaller cottage/room. The attitude too was bad and rough. The cottage itself was expensive (we thought it was worth it initially since we were a big group but it didn't make sense after we had to take another one). Most of the devices in the cottage had rust on them - the refrigerator, air vents, bathroom fixtures and so forth.
No Internet access of any kind.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank agaurav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

My daughter, her two children, myself and another granddaughter stayed here for seven days the first part of June. It was the first time we have stayed in a cottage on Cape Cod. We found the three bedroom cottage to be a very nice place to stay. Each bedroom had its own small, but adequate bathroom. There were televisions in each bedroom and one in the family room area. The decor was very beachy and cute. The kitchen was adequately stocked. It was very much like what you would think an older beach cottage would be. We had a leak in one bathroom that was fixed the next day. I found Jill, the rental agent and all round go to person, to be very friendly and helpful. The pool was clean and inviting. The summer help were polite and friendly. All in all, excluding the weather, we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rylett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2009

My boyfriend and I just got home from a wonderful trip to Captain Gosnold. It is Spring of 09, so not very many people were there. We booked a studio style cottage, and it was PERFECT! The staff that i met were wonderful and very sweet. Quaint little kitchen area, comfy king size bed, cozy dining area. The interior was wonderful, beachy decorations, strange little nick nacks that just made the cottage come to life with charachter. You truely havent experienced the Cape untill you have stayed in one of these cozy cottages. The outside is made of the little wood shingles, and pretty pink shutters.. gorgeous!! The little deck was so convinient with the grill. At night, we took a walk to the beach, it took no more than 5 minutes to walk there. It was so pleasant, truely the BEST time we ever had at the Cape (i have been coming here every year since i was 2 years old). 100% Rating!! Alot of the other reviews dont recommend it for young couples, but we are 22 years old and LOVED every minute of it!!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rubyloo212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyannis
1.0 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#5 of 22 in Hyannis
1,276 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,126 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
#10 of 22 in Hyannis
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,261 reviews
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
2.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cape Cod Hyannis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Gosnold Village Cottage Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Gosnold Village Cottage Colony

Address: 230 Gosnold St, Hyannis, MA 02601-4831
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Hyannis
Price Range: $60 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captain Gosnold Village is a grouping of quaint cottages with lovely landscaping and a heated outdoor pool is located in a quiet residential area. The fully equipped cottages range from studios up to three bedrooms. All have free wifi dedicated to your room and private decks with gas grills for cooking out. Walk to three beaches, Main Street and Hyannis Harbor with its Island Ferries all within a mile of our location. Everything for the perfect Cape Cod experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Captain Gosnold Village Cottage Colony Hotel Hyannis
Captain Gosnold Village Cottage Colony Hyannis, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing