We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessential Cape Cod”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hyannis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Captain Gosnold Village Cottage Colony
Reviewed October 5, 2008

Wow! We stayed three nights, September 23-26, 2008, in Cottage 2A, a one-bedroom cottage that was absolutely wonderful, as well as very clean. There was a large private deck with two lounge chairs, umbrella table with four chairs, and a gas grill. The deck faced into Captain Gosnold Village with a pleasant view of the other cottages and lovely landscaping. The living room, breakfast bar and kitchen were spacious and airy—quintessential Cape Cod. The living room included a comfy sofa, an overstuffed chair and ottoman, a coffee table, end tables and a large TV. The kitchen provided everything you would need including a small 4-burner stove, microwave, fridge, coffee maker, tea kettle, plates, cutlery, glassware, pots & pans and cooking implements. The breakfast bar with two chairs divided the kitchen and living room. Down the hallway was a spacious knotty wood-paneled bedroom with a generous closet, deacon’s bench, large dresser, and a bed that seemed larger than a double. Linens were very soft and cozy. The bathroom was somewhat small with a tiny shower stall. The shower was our only complaint; it was the smallest we’ve been in with the exception of an RV shower. There was plenty of shelf and closet storage in the hallway outside the bathroom, and lovely decorations throughout the cottage. Two good-sized fans were provided for air circulation. The thermostat-controlled electric heat was handy to take the chill off the autumn evenings. We agree that Captain Gosnold Village is “Cape Cod’s best kept secret”. It is truly a gem, located close to the beach and Hyannis harbor, as well as many of Cape Cod’s wonders. It was the perfect home-base for exploring up and down the Cape. We learned that each cottage is individually owned as a condo. Thus, the character of each cottage may be very different. We couldn’t have been happier with 2A, except for the shower. Mom and daughter managers Jill and Lexy were friendly and very helpful. NOTE: There is a $10/day housekeeping gratuity charge, in addition to the room/cottage rate. This is done in lieu of leaving tips for housekeeping. Given the scope and size of the cottage, this seemed entirely reasonable to us.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ted_and_Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 65 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2008

We booked a 4 night stay in September 2008 based primarily on the overall positive trip advisor reviews. We were misled. The rooms were musty and tired. The showers were not hot, and only provided warm mist. The sheets were rough. The promised internet only worked 20% of the time. Then there was the requirement to pay a $60 service fee upfront in cash. Actual service was little more than making the beds. Housekeeping called daily to say they were coming and then they would not show up for 1 to 2 hours. While the price was relatively low, we still feel we overpaid. We will not return.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank TwoBostonTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2008

We stayed in the three bedroom cottage late May, during the "off-season." The price could not have been better for the value we received. We had three couples in our party and split the cost three ways, it would have cost much more if we had stayed at a hotel, and we had so much room. The three bedroom also includes three bathrooms, a kitchen, a living room, and a porch as well. The cottage community reminds me of a quaint suburb with beautiful landscaping throughout. The pool is very clean and well maintained, oh and it's heated as well. This was also the perfect location for our stay since we wanted to see sites in Boston to Provincetown. The office manager Jill was extremely knowledgable about the Cape and will make recomendations based on what experience you want to have in Cape Cod. I would recomend Captain Gosnold Village to anyone who is visiting Cape Cod and I will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank marcsnewtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2007

What a cute place this is! I planned this trip a year in advance. We chose this place because me and the other ladies that I went with wanted to spend time with each other in a "home" type setting. Our cottage was perfect!!! It was very clean, comfortable and very cute! We were all very happy with our choice. I hate to even say a negative thing about the stay but I have to say that there's not alot in walking distance. We were under the impression that we could walk to the beach, stores, etc. Not so unless you are used to walking a long distance. Most of the things we did were a short drive away. Like I said, I loved this place and our stay was wonderful. I would go back here to stay in a second! I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank mickchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

Location: Was alright, about 1/2 mile walk to beach.

Views: The lawn was lush, but views of the parking lot grew tiresome.

Lodging: The cabins were quiant, definitly needs updating, dissapointed by overall shape.

Weather: The weather was incredible! One day of rain the whole trip.

Overall: I was doing an investigation trip to find were to bring my family, I ended up going with a Resort down the street located on the ocean off sea st. If you don't mind small cozy cabins, gosnold village is ideal, i just needed something more comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank socorugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2007

Thanks to all the previous postive tripadvisor reviews on this place we booked for a weeks stay in July /Aug 2007.

This place is excellent. We had a one room cottage for the 4 of us. Good kitchen area with big fridge and cooker. Nice lounge with TV and TV in the bedroom. Bathroom Ok with a good shower.

Certainly the cottages have character. You will either love it or hate it! I thought it was great. The grounds are lovely and the pool just right though its surround could do with some work.

The cottage was spotless and cleaned daily except Sunday. Good parking and seemed very safe.

The staff are brilliant. Lots of help and advice if you ask.

Position is excellent, just outside Hyannis and close to the ferries and airport.

One tip - fly to Natucket. The ticket is only just double the slow ferry fare and it takes 20 mins instead of 2 hours on the ferry. The kids will love it - mine sat next to the pilot.

The worst thing about the place is the web site. I doesn't do the place justice at all.

The price is, I think, about right.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Combe274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2007

Stayed for 3 nights in a 2 bedroom cottage during May 2007 with a 12 month baby. Plently of space, quiet, great location to visit Cape Cod and easy access to the ferries in Hyannis for Nantucket. Cottages are heated with kitchen facilities. No air conditioning but do have ceiling fans. No housekeeping on Sundays and when they do work they do not wash the dishes. This can result in a less than clean kitchen on arrival, which was our experience.

Cottages can share a wall depending on the size/layout booked. Might be a problem if you have noisy neighbors, but was ok for us.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Peripatetic_Pro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hyannis hotels
2.7 mi away
Cape Codder Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
#10 of 22 in Hyannis
61 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cape Cod Hyannis
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
1 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#5 of 22 in Hyannis
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Gosnold Village Cottage Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Gosnold Village Cottage Colony

Address: 230 Gosnold St, Hyannis, MA 02601-4831
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Hyannis
Price Range: $60 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captain Gosnold Village is a grouping of quaint cottages with lovely landscaping and a heated outdoor pool is located in a quiet residential area. The fully equipped cottages range from studios up to three bedrooms. All have free wifi dedicated to your room and private decks with gas grills for cooking out. Walk to three beaches, Main Street and Hyannis Harbor with its Island Ferries all within a mile of our location. Everything for the perfect Cape Cod experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Captain Gosnold Village Cottage Colony Hotel Hyannis
Captain Gosnold Village Cottage Colony Hyannis, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing