We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Katie's Homemade Ice Cream

Katie's Homemade Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 11 Dessert in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We make all our ice cream daily on the premises using only the freshest and finest ingredients.
nottingham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We've been to Hyannis lots of time but never been in here, not sure why...
It was very busy the day we went and I can see why, the ice cream is fantastic, lots of choice, the staff we're great and friendly.
We'll be back next year.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank etak14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie's I, General Manager at Katie's Homemade Ice Cream, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thanks so much for stopping in this year!I am so glad to know you enjoyed our ice cream. If you visit again please stop by our new creamery. It is our open air kitchen where you can watch me make ice cream and all the other frozen treats for Katie's.

Until next time,
Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    51
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream I have ever had in my entire life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We weren't expecting much but a typical crappy ice cream cone from anywhere on main street but, let me tell you, Katie's has the best ice cream I have ever had. I got the cookie dough in a cone, not only was the small extremely HUGE, it was DELICIOUS! It didn't taste disgustingly sweet like regular vanilla or something, but it was just right, and the cookie dough itself was amazing too. I loved it so much, I went back every single night of my vacation for more....probably gained like 10 pounds but soooo worth it. I'm gonna miss it, until I go back next year! I want more:( Out of every ice cream shop I have went to, THIS is the best, go try it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie's I, General Manager at Katie's Homemade Ice Cream, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
This is one of the best reviews I have ever read! Thank you so much for all of your positive insights into our ice cream! I love it when such a classic, popular flavor like cookie dough is recognized since we take care with each and every one of our flavors. Next time you are in the area please stop by and visit Katie's Kitchen where you can watch as we make all of our ice cream and everything else for the ice cream shop!
Can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Love this place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Katies has everything from homemade candy and ice cream with a nice gift shop in the back. This is my second year staying in Hyannis and the first place we have to hit it Katies. The best salt water taffty, the guy makes it right there in front of you.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank trixeec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie's I, General Manager at Katie's Homemade Ice Cream, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
That is such a wonderful review. Unfortunately, I believe you are talking about Kandy Korner, not Katie's, however they are a wonderful candy store. Next time your in town stop by and visit us, Katie's Ice Cream, we make all of our ice cream right on site and Monday to Saturday you can stop by our kitchen and watch Katie making all of her frozen treats. Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
105 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice little ice cream spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Service was good and the flavors were varied and yummy. Scoop sizes are good and given the wide range of ice cream prices a single scoop for $3.60 for a decent-sized scoop was a good deal.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Seniye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie's I, General Manager at Katie's Homemade Ice Cream, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thanks so much for stopping into our store on your trip to the Cape! Glad to hear you enjoyed your experience. Hope to see you again soon! Have a wonderful rest of the summer.
Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

While walking on the Main Street in Hyannis, Katie's homemade ice cream beckoned us inside to try the homemade treat.
Once inside we reviewed the board, chose a flavor and then surveyed the counter to determine the ordering protocol. It took us less than 2 minutes to see there was no protocol. Customers standing about, somewhat chaotically; a wait staff, of at least 5, either standing around or taking so much time "creating" a single scoop serving that after many minutes we walked out! We headed east, enjoyed not only delicious ice cream at the Sundae School in Dennis, but their well trained and supervised staff!, quite the opposite of the staff at Katie's!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabbie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie's I, Manager at Katie's Homemade Ice Cream, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for bring this to our attention as it is very important that all our customers are served in a friendly and timely fashion without feeling rushed. Our sincere apologies from our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katie's Homemade Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Katie's Homemade Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing