We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always Pleases” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Merchant - CLOSED

Island Merchant
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Marstons Mills, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always Pleases”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is one of our favorite restaurants. There dishes are what you can't find elsewhere. Great mixture of flavors. Love the griddled chicken and peaches and the tenderloin appetizer are favorites

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    10
    7
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sagamore Beach, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not so Good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

have been to this restaurant in the past and it was very good, not so much now. bought a groupon worth $70 and couldn't even spend that much. They changed the menu and none of the great things they showed in the offer were available any longer. the food was OK, not great.Not worth the money. after spending what the groupon cost, drinks, and Tip, I could have had an awesome meal somewhere else in Hyannis. I feel like I was ripped off. 2 stars is being generous here

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BobB925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, MA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not Good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Bought a Groupon for this restaurant after reading other Trip Advisor reviews. Either these people were at a different restuarant or we just happened to dine on a bad night (mind you, it was a Saturday, so if any night they should be on their game, this is it). We had a 7:30 reservation, and, at that time, there were quite a few empty tables (not a good sign on a Saturday night). There were roughly 7 entrees on the menu and, prior to taking our order, our server informed us they were out of 2 of them (30 minutes later she informed the couple next to us that they were out of 3 of them).
Given the limited offerings on the menu, both my husband and i ended up ordering the Jerk chicken with penne pasta and shared a ceasar salad. The ceaser salad was no better than what i can make with the Et Tu ceasar salad kit, and the Jerk Chicken was more tasteless than the worst pasta dish you could order from Olive Garden - in fact, it made Olive Garden's food seem delicious in comparison.

I often rely on Tripadvisor reviews in selecting restaurants and feel like the reviews of this restaurant were just way off.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank elsadog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food, and great music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were a group of 8 guys who were hungry after a round of golf. The food was excellent and very creative. People had the pulled pork sandwich, potato salm and the cod and everyone had more than enough to eat and good quality. they let us take our time. The desert was also different and very tasty. Prices was very good. The music was excellent!! I have recommended the restaurant to many people going to the Hyannis area.Some of the guys were lied the Cape Cod beers. I was suprised that they were not that busy for a Saturday night in September, hope they stay around.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank soxrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Loved the potato chip encrusted tuna. Service was friendly. Good variety of choices on menu, all interesting and unique.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank diversetraveller220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Merchant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing