We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
Review of Island Merchant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Island Merchant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Loved the potato chip encrusted tuna. Service was friendly. Good variety of choices on menu, all interesting and unique.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank diversetraveller220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    10
    7
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“simple with a touch of elegance and romance”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Cozy little place at the end (or begging depends where you start your walk ) of Main street. It can get very busy and a bit noisy but full of locals which is always a good sign. You can expect a nice music and tasty menu, friendly and unassuming service; they will let you sit after you finish your meal and simply enjoying the music. Portions a reasonable sized, not too little but not soo big that you feel stuffed to your ears. Clam Chowder didn’t have too much potatoes which is often a problem for me, appetizers were inventive, as not boring "same thing everywhere type", y had style and small twist, and finally our salad was fresh didn’t soak it too much dressing and smoked pork had an actual smoked taste with a touch of home sauce. Decorations on the wall in the shape of windows make place seems bigger then it is and give it this romantic flair with welcoming and pleasant atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank irchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
93 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food and Service”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We arrived at the Island Merchant about 6PM and were the only customers. Decided that we should check out the menu before we committed to staying. The menu looked good and we had a recommendation so we decided to stay. First we had an appetizer of Nan Bread with Shrimp and Beans. This was excellent and we then knew that we had made the correct choice to stay. Three of us had Taco dishes two Cod and one pulled Pork, the fourth person had an Island Merchant Burger. The Tacos were served in an oblong dish divided into 5 sections, each section had a different ingredient for the tacos. This was a perfect way to serve this type of meal. The burger had a slice of pineapple, cheese and a fried egg over easy. Not your typical cheese burger but much better than most. The wine by the glass is a good pour in a decent wine glass. The service was great and as we ate the restaurant began to fill up. They have live entertainment that starts at 8:30. I will go back again and also try their other restaurant The Islander at Crosby Boat Yard in Osterville.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NFalmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth, ma
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Won't be visiting again.”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I too purchased a Groupon and was also told I needed a reservation. There were also empty tables when we arrived, but the person doing the seating said that those were reserved, but they were empty for the next 30 minutes after we arrived. We had to eat dinner, which was a disappointment , at the bar.

I was also surprised that our server, also the bartender, never offered another beverage after the first, as we were having soft drinks, but the couple next to us received plenty of attention with refills of wine without being asked at all. I would not recommend this establishment with or without a Groupon.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janmacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

I bought a Groupon for this restaurant thinking it might spur Groupon on to offer more Cape Cod selections and, also, to support a local business (as opposed to a chain). I called to make a reservation (required as part of the deal) and was told I could not have one for the time I wanted but could have one a half hour later. Since there were time restraints, we wrangled it to somewhere in the middle. When we got there, all the tables except two were empty so why could we not have had the earlier reservation? The waitress for the whole place was also bar-tending and answering the phone, so maybe that was why. At any rate, we asked her advice and got rather ambiguous responses on everything except the fish tacos. Our appetizer was tenderloin with herbed cheese and crostini on greens with a fried egg. It sounded interesting so we tried it and were sorry we did. The egg was not cooked enough so the texture was gag inducing, the crostini was so hard, we couldn't break it with a knife and the steak was incredibly tough and under-seasoned. Our main courses were OK. As someone else mentioned, smallish, on the salmon. The fish tacos were good but not great. When we inquired about the included dessert, we were told that the only choice was carrot cake. The menu offered chocolate cake, cheescake, and almond joy sundae. I asked about the sundae and she said they could give us "something like it". No chocolate sauce, lots of coconut, and, again, just OK. Our server was nice and did a good job, especially considering she was covering all the tables (Yes, other people did come in) but she alone was not enough for us to consider spending our entertainment dollars here again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Librarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Merchant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing