We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay- unorganized”
Review of Catboat Rides

Catboat Rides
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Catboat Rides offers fun and affordable sailboat excursions and charters in Hyannis, MA. Our boat, the 'Eventide', is a Catboat class of sloop rigged sailboat, an authentic traditional local design. She is 34 feet long, has a wide 10 foot beam and a mast 38 feet tall, assuring a steady, smooth, and comfortable ride. We get much closer to coastal attractions than other Hyannis excursion boats. We have a well stocked bar and galley onboard. Our dock is at 146 Ocean St. Hyannis, Cape Cod, Massachusetts. Follow ferry signs to Hy-Line Ocean Street Dock(Not South Street Dock!) Turn left into metered parking lot immediately after 2 large signs for Hyannis Harbor Cruises and Spanky's Clam Shack Restaurant (across from Hyannis Holiday Motel).
Cheyenne, Wyoming, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Okay- unorganized”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I scheduled on a slow weekday in July. So it was hot. They served drinks, but were out of water- only 1 in the cooler. They substitued with iced tea. then When paying for drinks- i had a beer- they didn't have any change! The ride was okay- mainly due to no wind thru the bay, so we were slow moving and mostly on engine( not their fault!)
The capatian was nice- stated at beginning he was not a tour guide- so was not expecting much.
It was hard to tip at the end as I had no extra change- used it on the drink!
I would suggest you pick a windy day if you can for a more pleasurable ride.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    6
    4
    4
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Shady Operation”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Sounds like our experience was similar to others. Our group of 8 made a reservation days in advance for the afternoon of the 4th of July. Called to confirm on the morning of our trip. Told that we were set to go. When we got to the dock to check in on a beautiful summer day, another cruise was disembarking, and we were told there was "engine trouble" and that our cruise would be delayed until 6pm, but they were "almost sure" we would be ready to go in a few hours. That was fine, we changed our plans waiting the hours until 6. We could watch the boat - it seemed fine, no one was working on an engine and the crew was hanging around. When we returned to check in, the lady at desk had an entirely different story!! She said that she told us that we wouldn't be able to sail, that they knew the engine could not be fixed, she didn't remember our phone call etc. etc. We walked away, totally disgusted but very suspicious. After all, the entire crew was still hanging out around the boat!
We were not surprised to see the boat load up with passengers and head out to sail just a few hours later. There had been no engine trouble. They just didn't feel like taking a group out! Sadly, it ruined our plans for the entire day.
What a shame! We will tell everyone we know who is headed to the Cape to avoid this shady operation.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank greto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus_M_Sherman, Owner at Catboat Rides, responded to this review, July 14, 2015
We are sorry, but there was engine trouble that took longer than anticipated to fix. We are not a shady operation. We do try to please all our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great Classic 1930s Sailboat!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was a great experience! Not often does one have a chance to sail on a great and beautifully maintained classic 1930s wooden sailboat like this one. Being a shoal draft boat, we were able to sail in some quiet estuaries very close to shore. It was very peaceful with the motor off and with the only sound being the wind and ripple of the boat through the water. A beautiful way to experience the peace of nature with a friendly captian and crew. My wife and I hope to sail with them again, hopefully before this summer is over!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MajorHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Grumpy...”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The only bad experience of our 2 week US holiday. Overpriced for what it turned out to be: a boring 90min trip which was even cut short. Grumpy captain, we felt like he didn't really want anyone on the boat and couldn't be bothered. Staff rather unprofessional, just talking over you as you wouldn't be there. If you don't want people on your boat I guess this is not the job for you... All in all - a real let down, sorry!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Manuela3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Never got to go out on the boat because of their disorganization!!!”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

I've been coming to the Cape since I was a child and I can confidently say this is the worst experience I've ever had.

Where to start? The day we originally made reservations for turned out to not be ideal weather, we called them to change our reservations and they told us they were cancelling the outing that day anyways (thank God we called, who knows if they would have told us they were cancelling it). We pushed our reservations to two days later. That day we made the half hour trip to Hyannis and arrived about 20 minutes early and waited and waited and waited. After our expected departure time when not a single crew member was there we called and realized just how disorganized this whole operation is, they hadn't remembered our reservations and were scrambling to figure something out. The captain said he'd see if he could pull it together and he'd call me back, we exchanged several conflicting phone calls at this point, first telling us he couldn't get a hold of his first mate, then telling us he did and we could go out that day. FINALLY when they both arrived we were told it would be 5 minutes to set up the boat, 10 minutes later they tell us there were "freak electrical problems" and we wouldn't be able to take it out that day. Once again we made reservations for the next day. Being more cautious the next day, we called before we made the trip to see if the boat was working and the weather was okay but no one answered. We decided to go out because we did have reservations and hadn't heard from them. When we arrived it was the same thing as the day before- no one there. We figured they got our reservation time wrong so we got ice cream and waited (all the while trying to call them every 5 minutes, no answer all day!). When we arrived back at the boat closer to the second departure time we ran into the captain who apologized and told us we couldn't go out again today. He was under the impression his first mate had called us but we never received that call.

Long story short: two days of our vacation were wasted because of their disorganization and carelessness. They are very friendly and we wanted to give them the benefit of the doubt but ultimately their sloppiness was just unacceptable. Please do yourself a favor and book with someone else, there are so many other boat trips to take in the area that are consistent and reliable and don't come with the stress and hassle.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catboat Rides also viewed

 

Been to Catboat Rides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing