We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old rooms but friendly staff and excellent location”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hyannis Travel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyannis Travel Inn
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old rooms but friendly staff and excellent location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2007

The rooms at Hyannis Travel Inn could be better. A lot. At first, when we checked in, we were given a room on the first floor. However, the front desk clerk asked if we could have a room on the third floor. We agreed. Upon, entering the room, we immediately saw that it had not been renovated in a long time. In fact, the room has probably never been renovated since the hotel was built. Anyway, we saw that the furniture was broken, the bathroom door was scraped off at the bottom, and something was sticking out of the ceiling. The remote also did not work. I made about two or three trips to the front desk to exchange it. However, the hotel is in a great location, just one block from Main Street and the harbor. The walk to the beach, though took about 30 minutes, but we decided to go there by car. Also, the breakfast was ok, but could've been better with some fruit and in a separate area, not in the pool (big hazard, considering there are little children running around). Front desk people were friendly, and knew a lot about the area.

  • Liked — Location and friendliness of the front desk staff
  • Disliked — Rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arctic4162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    237
    76
    22
    15
See reviews for
187
193
26
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2007

lets just say not what you expected. somebody needs to do some catching up with that hotel. everythings just a mess and its so dirty. lots of furniture is scratched,broken,and nothing in the rooms really match at all. it. i would definitly not reccomend this hotel for anyone. its a shame. this is 2007, not 1987. the rooms should be a little bit nicer. alot actually. The only good thing out of the experience is the staff. They were very friendly. but i guess they had to be to make up for the appearance of the hotel.

  • Liked — the pool area
  • Disliked — the rooms
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank familyguy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Warwick, RI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2007

May 31, 2007

My husband and our two children just spent Memorial Day weekend on Cape Cod and stayed at the Hyannis Travel Inn. I can not say enough good things about this hotel. The experience was so enjoyable. This was our second time at the hotel, and we intend to visit many more times. The staff is so friendly and helpful. We have stayed at many hotels, and motels all over the country, and I can honestly say that this is one of the best. I have stayed at five star hotels that were not as wonderful as this hotel. We travel with two children, one of whom is 5, the other 11. When we can find a hotel with a kid friendly staff it is a definite plus. The Hyannis Travel Inn goes above and beyond! The indoor pool is so relaxing! The hot tub almost put me to sleep! If you are looking for a relaxing vacation with the kids, this is the place, walking distance from Hynnis center and shopping! Get away alone, this is also a great place to go! This was probably the cleanist hotel that I have ever stayed in!

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank thecardpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2007

You get what you pay for!! Aside from the great location to the Main Street restaurants and shops and friendly hotel staff, the hotel was a disappointment. The rooms desperately need to be updated. Our room had a tv that didn't work, scratched furniture with missing handles on the drawers, paint scraped off the bathroom door and a heating unit with a broken knob. For a AAA two star rating, I expected better.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — condition of the rooms
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chattycatBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2007

When we checked into the Inn the desk woman was very nice.She explained all the things the inn had to offer to the guest.
We were given a great room that was very clean. The rooms were a nice size for a family of four. We went and asked the desk clerk for a place to eat and suggested many nice places. We
swam in a big pool that was clean and had a life guard. Every
person that worked at the hotel was very nice and helpful with everything. If you are traveling and need a hotel in Hyannis i would suggest the Hyannis Travel Inn.

  • Liked — pool
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cjrdpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook.CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2007

My family just returned from our first family vacation in Cape Cod. We stayed at the Hyannis Travel Inn. When I was a child I stayed there with my family and I always remembered breakfast poolside and swimming indoors. I must say that even though the weather was not on our side the 3 days we were there we still had a blast. Hyannis Travel Inn is easy to find and conveniently located in the middle of a lot. We took our 3 year old son to the childrens museum in Mashpee and it was an easy drive. In the same day we went just the other side of the inn to the Zooquarium which was also great. The people working the front desk at Hyannis Travel Inn were great. They were very helpful in recomending good dining and activities that were both kid friendly but adult enjoyable. I highly recommend that you get your next vacation to Cape Cod off to the right step and book a reservation at Hyannis Travel Inn. I know my family will be back again.

  • Liked — Off Peak season has great rates and they offer restaurant and bar discounts
  • Disliked — Not a thing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank WorkingFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyannis
0.5 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
0.1 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#3 of 22 in Hyannis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
0.2 mi away
Heritage House Hotel
Heritage House Hotel
#17 of 22 in Hyannis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cape Cod Hyannis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyannis Travel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyannis Travel Inn

Property: Hyannis Travel Inn
Address: 18 North St, Hyannis, MA 02601-3840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hyannis
#4 Business Hotel in Hyannis
#4 Family Hotel in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hyannis Travel Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyannis Travel Inn is an 83-room, AAA rated 2 diamond motel. It is ideally situated in the heart of Hyannis, the "Hub of Cape Cod". Main St shops and restaurants are only one street over. Hyannis harbor is only 3/10ths of a mile away where you can take the ferry to Nantucket or Martha's Vineyard or go deep sea fishing. Kalmus Beach is 1.1 miles away. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast each morning by the indoor pool. We also have an outdoor pool and whirlpool. There are mini refrigerators in every room. Free local calls. Free parking. Free wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyannis Travel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyannis Travel Hotel Hyannis
Hyannis Travel Motel
Hyannis Travel Inn Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing