We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too bad it's a great location”
Review of Hyannis Travel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyannis Travel Inn
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Too bad it's a great location”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed there 7-11-13. It is in great walking distance to everything you need. The front desk people were very nice. Before we went to the melody tent I got stuck in the bathroom of room 214. The door is all warped. That should have been a sign. The room had an smell but it was one like cleaning/bleach smell. So we didn't think anything of it. Then when we returned from the show the smell was just awful. Too foggy to drive home. The beds , pillows and linens were awful. We must not have gotten a good room after reading some of the other reviews. It's too bad because it seemed very nice otherwise. Wish I could get my 125.00 back. It was a waste of money.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 214
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    248
    79
    22
    15
See reviews for
197
205
28
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Nice basic hotel/motel. about 10 minute walk to nantucket ferries. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Nice basic continental breakfast. indoor pool was nice. Rooms were clean. Basic but comfortable. They looked like they were doing some renovation to outside porches when we were there in June. Overall nice stay. Convenient for day trip to nantucket.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atl30303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed one night at this hotel and was extremely impressed. The location and facilities are excellent as is the service. I was most impressed with the cleanliness of the room, spotless and fresh. Highly recommend the Hyannis Travel Inn.

Room Tip: bring your bathing suit - the pool is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim1845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
625 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The place certainly looked like a motel in the heart of Hyannis Main Street. The price was much higher than the usual motel but perhaps it was the hight of the summer season. It was clean and had two nights of good sleep but nothing special to write about. The staff was very nice and continental breakfast was motel variety. If this is one of the best hotels in Hyannis, I doubt I will be staying in this town again. You won't have a memorable stay but you'll have a good stay as a stopover.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yori O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We decided to get away to Hyannis for the weekend and booked our two night stay here. The inn is in a great location- close to both the beaches, historical sites, and main street. The inn is pretty old and outdated,, but has a mini fridge and iron which is nice.
The continental breakfast was fine- lots of carbs, yogurt and coffee , but no fresh produce.
My biggest concern here was safety. There was no outside lock to get into the sleeping area, and all you got was a basic key for your door. We left our key in the car and was able to get back into the room with a credit card- no problem.
There is a deadbolt you can use if you are in the room- but do not leave valuable in the room when you leave- way too easy t get into.
The staff was friendly and accommodating as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covina, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the hotel room was for the bargain price listed in the triple A book. The staff, as mentioned in the other reviews, was terrific. Jennifer, not only researched the hard to read local bus schedules to Provincetown, but had them handwritten by the time we returned from dinner. Clilff, the manager, is very knowledgeable about the whole Cape, not just Hyannis, and had touring suggestions. Paula, in the breakfast room, was delightful--a great person to meet in the morning. They thoroughly enjoy their jobs. There was an expanded continental breakfast that included waffles, toasters, yogurts, and cereals. Coffee, tea, and chocolate is available during pool hours. Pool area clean. Indoor and out pool and jacuzzi. Lots of tourist info. Free parking. One block from Main Street. Two blocks from South. Near the bus line from Boston or Logan--a few blocks. One half mile to the boats to Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket. A block or so from the Kennedy Museum and about 15 mins. from the beaches. Rooms were big. Tub/shower combo and two vanity areas and separate tub/WC area. I read that some rooms were not clean. Ours was! We even had a small balcony. LInens were fresh daily. Not luxury, but really nice. The staff made all the differnce. They made us feel like guests in their home. That's a comment I read over and over.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed two nights in June during shoulder season with two young children. We had no idea what to expect of the inn, particularly that it is on the inexpensive side for the Cape, but were pleasantly surprised. By far the best thing about the inn is the staff, who were universally among the most friendly and helpful we have encountered traveling. From check in, getting extra towels, help with picking a beach, to breakfast, it seemed like the staff genuinely wanted to talk to guests and make them feel welcome. As for breakfast, it is a cold breakfast, but the baked goods were above average. The location is very good, just a block from Main Street and a few blocks from the harbor.

It is important to keep expectations in check for the accommodations, though, as the inn is a older and starting to show its age. Room ceiling are a bit low, towels are thin, TVs are small, etc. If you are expecting a Marriott or Hilton brand hotel you will be disappointed. The inn is clean and safe, however, and provides the basics. The inn was full when we stayed and there was no problem with noise. It was great for a family vacation, good value and reminded us parents of trips when we were kids. As long as it keeps the same excellent staff we will go back.

Room Tip: No elevator, so be ready to carry bags up a few flights of stairs for third floor rooms. Those are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyannis
0.1 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#3 of 22 in Hyannis
1,248 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,064 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage House Hotel
Heritage House Hotel
#17 of 22 in Hyannis
468 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyannis Travel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyannis Travel Inn

Property: Hyannis Travel Inn
Address: 18 North Street, Hyannis, MA 02601-3840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hyannis
#4 Business Hotel in Hyannis
#4 Family Hotel in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hyannis Travel Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyannis Travel Inn is an 83-room, AAA rated 2 diamond, Cape Cod hotel.  It is ideally situated in the heart of Hyannis, the "Hub of Cape Cod".  And it is within walking distance to many activities.  Those activities include, golfing, shopping, dining, sports, recreation, cultural attractions and beautiful Hyannis harbor where you can take the ferry to Nantucket or Martha's Vineyard.  Relax and enjoy the warm and congenial atmosphere that only a family operated hotel in Hyannis, MA can provide. 
Each hotel room features cable TV, individual heat and air conditioning and free Wi-Fi access. Hyannis Travel Inn hotel guests will also enjoy the convenience of an in room refrigerator, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, and free local calls at our Hyannis Hotel in Cape Cod, MA.  All rooms are non smoking.  Complimentary Continental Breakfast is served each morning. The staff at our hotel in Hyannis, Ma will help you relax and enjoy your Cape Cod vacation.  The Hyannis Travel Inn is a perfect choice, with our downtown Hyannis location, clean comfortable rooms and very affordable rates.  Take a look at our packages and specials page.  There you will find many holiday specials and Cape Cod golf packages.  Whether you are here for a Cape Cod wedding or vacation, our Cape Cod MA hotel is the best value for your Cape Cod lodging.   The staff at the Hyannis Travel Inn wants to make your stay the best that it can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyannis Travel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyannis Travel Hotel Hyannis
Hyannis Travel Motel
Hyannis Travel Inn Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing