We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish EVERYBODY were here!!!!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hyannis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Saltwinds Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 9 Hyannis B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 5, 2009

This is the first time a write a comment. It's because this is the perfect place to stay, and i'm very serious on that!
Craig and Ginny, the owners, are simply wonderful; I don't want to be boring explaining about how nice is place, how much it's clean...I repeat you, it's perfect!
And you don't even need any tourist's guide: ask Craig, and you're done! He knows where you wanna go, where you don't, he really care about the fact that you deserve the best (it's like a hug! believe me!).
Surely I'll come back: I don't think I could find a better place...and better (I can call them) friends!

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank davideberruti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conroybaxter, Owner at Saltwinds Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2010

Hoping you are well and I must say your English is much better than my Italian. Thank you so much for choosing us for your holiday. Loved the pictures you sent they came out beautiful. I especially enjoyed and treasure the picute you drew us before you left. Once again thank you all
and thank you for the lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 133 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2009

After reading the one and only review for Saltwinds B & B I felt I had to make a posting to supply a totally different view.
My wife and I stumbled accross Saltwinds during a three week touring trip to the USA and were greeted by the most hospitable couple we have ever met on our travels.
We had booked into an overexpensive hotel when arriving in Hyannis and were looking for somewhwere more affordable to relax for a few days.
The owner {Craig} said to us that he only had a room but we were welcome to cook on the barbeque and keep our food in the fridge in his kitchen.
We were picked up from our hotel and driven to the supermarket and waited on while we stocked up for the week.
The breakfast which was served outside by the pool was of superb quality and so filling that we had only fruit for lunch most days.
We were asked when we arrived what we would like to do on our stay, Craig not only told us where to go but also provided transport.
Imagine our surprise when he was waiting on the jetty to take us home after a trip to Marthas Vineyard.
Saltwinds is ideally located between a beautiful beach and the main street in Hyannis.
It has a fantastic colonial feel to it and has a well kept pool.
If you want to visit Cape Cod , Marthas Vineyard or Nantucket ,Saltwinds is the perfect base.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnyfp2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

We booked into Saltwinds at the last moment after reviewing an incredibly bad RCI property we had originally booked in Hyannis.

Craig and Ginny made us feel like family rather than guests; they took ALL the hassle away from ALL the tour options, recommending a wide variety of venues and trips from both personal and guest recommendations. Nothing was too much trouble.

One's holiday experience when travelling solo to an area one doesn't know - and when one is "time challenged" can be made or broken by even one bad experience as regards restaurants or tour options. We only had 4 days to visit in the area before moving on and it was important to "squeeze" the very best out of everything Cape Cod and it's environs had to offer.
Craig even ferried us to and from the Port for ferry trips thus saving us the bother of finding our way there and parking plus he had discount vouchers for the ferry itself.

More importantly both Craig and Ginny seemed to genuinely enjoy hosting guests - we enjoyed many an interesting chat, particularly with Craig who on the day of our stay talked us through all the options for trips and restaurants in the area -it was like having one's own personal concierge.

Oh and a very important by the way, breakfasts were delicious and imaginative and we found ourselves looking forward to looking at the breakfast blackboard each morning to see what treat was in store once again. Breakfast like everything else was always served with smile and a friendly word from whomever served us. The room was spotless and "made up" every day

Thanks - thoroughly enjoyable stay all round with not a wasted minute

Carol and Gavin

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAS52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

We stayed here for three nights during the last week of July 2009.

The service provided by Craig and Ginny, the owners of the B & B, as well as the relaxed atmosphere, is probably the best part of the B & B. We felt relaxed the moment we stepped foot onto the B & B, which is located on a quiet street in Hyannis. Craig came to greet us right away and we were taken to our room. Ginny and Craig are very friendly and know the area like the palm of their hands. They were quick to provide us with suggestions on places to go and restaurants to dine in. The service here was excellent, and made our vacation more pleasant and stress-free.

The rooms are extremely clean, and being a B & B, made you feel like you were at home. The rooms are so separate from one another, each with their own bathroom, so you always had extreme privacy. Unlike other B & Bs we've gone to, you don't feel like you're inside someone else's home. It's more like you have your own separate (yet small) unit within a home. There was a bar fridge and microwave in the room. We used the BBQ, and Ginny kindly offered us real plates instead of the paper ones we had. There's also plenty of ourtdoor seating all around the front and backyard, to just sit or eat a meal. You can also use their indoor seating area, which is also spacious and pleasant. Each night we sat in the back and had a glass of wine in the backyard deck, facing nothing but trees and New England flowers and bushes.

The B & B is very close to the beach, maybe a 5 minute walk at most (we're slow walkers). We carried our beach chairs and towels, which the B & B provides. This easily saved us $15 per day, which is the cost to park your car at the beach at the end of the road.

Main Street is also within walking distance, as are many restaurants and other amenities. We went to the Island Merchant one night, which had great food and live entertainment (Craig's excellent suggestion).

Lastly, the breakfast they provide is excellent, and would cost you, with coffee and juice, no less than $30 for two people elsewhere. We had french toast and fruit on day one; omletes with beef and fruit on day two; and pancakes and fruit and bacon on day three. However, there was always two choices for breakfast.

Overall, this B & B is very relaxing, pleasant, and affordable. By the time you add up all your savings from the breakfast, not having to pay for beach parking, free use of beach towels and beach chairs, having a grill to make your meals at home, and not having to pay for parking at the ferry terminal, you end up getting a bargain. You also get access to really kind and knowledgeable innkeepers, who did everything they could for us during our stay.

We will most certainly be back. Thanks again, Ginny and Craig!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorkToTravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

This was an overdue vacation to get away from the busy hectic city, but not have to fly!!!! The Salt Winds BB was relaxing, clean, walk a private (not crowded beach with life guards). The inground pool was awesome for our kids to enjoy!

To get up and walk into a homemade delcious breakfast is PRICELESS!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessicaminor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

This was our second stay at the Salt Winds and consider it the best place to stay in Hyannis. Cozy, comfortable and immaculate, the B&B is in an excellent location close to beaches, shopping and attractions, many within walking distance, although hosts Ginny and Craig willingly offer rides if you want or need them. Their knowledge of the area allows them to make excellent recommendations for activities and restaurants. They are cordial and fun and so attentive to our every need. The pool and tranquil setting were so nice, the food was delicious. It was definitely a wonderful experience, and we look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrindlecentralMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Had the pleasure of visiting the Cape and staying with Ginny & Craig at the Saltwinds. Our room was fresh and inviting (and spotless). Our hosts were terrific...Ginny is a wonderful cook; our breakfast was delicious, certainly not skimpy. The staff were pleasant and fun to talk to. We look forward to coming back in September when the crowds thin. Would definitely stay at Saltwinds again and again!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank capekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hyannis hotels
1.0 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#5 of 22 in Hyannis
1,276 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
#10 of 22 in Hyannis
53 reviews
1.2 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cape Cod Hyannis
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
0.9 mi away
Cape Cod Harbor House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saltwinds Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltwinds Bed & Breakfast

Address: 319 Sea St, Hyannis, MA 02601-4508
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hyannis
Price Range: $125 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All private baths,air,full breakfast,pool,parking. Apartments available, sleeps 4-5 people, full kitchen weekly rates available. Walk to beach and town, grill,use of beach chairs,umbrellas and beach towels. Let us help you plan your vacation, local knowledge on the best beaches,eateries and shopping. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Saltwinds Bed And Breakfast
Saltwinds Hotel Hyannis
Saltwinds Bed & Breakfast Hyannis, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing