We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming guest house in Hyannis”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hyannis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Saltwinds Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 9 Hyannis B&B and Inns
Dunrobin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Charming guest house in Hyannis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

We lucked into finding this place and I'm so glad we did. Craig and Ginny are perfectly suited for this business. Their BnB is filled with character and perfectly located for visiting Cape Cod. It is a short walk down the street to the ocean. The room we stayed in was comfortable and clean and tidy. The only drawback was that the wi-fi was sporadic but, we were supposed to be on holidays anyway. Breakfast is served between 8 and 9:30 in the area that also serves as the office. With the doors and windows wide open, you can't beat the smell of the ocean and the nice breezes. The two choices for breakfast which change daily are tasty and filling. Endless coffee and juice round out the experience.

Craig loves to talk and he is filled with suggestions for restaurants, day trips, beaches, parking.... everything. We followed his suggestions and, as a result, saw interesting features of Cape Cod that we likely would have missed. Make sure you ask him for ideas of what to do and where to eat. We would definitely love to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    10
    0
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
78
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

Ginny and Craig were both incredible hosts.......very accomodating.....beautiful pool was a nice surprise!! The breakfast was outstanding. Hanging in the hammock out back was very relaxing.....only downside was the shower was extremely small and thin and I am 5.7. Room was kind of musty but very comfortable. THANK YOU!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston,Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Why would anyone stay at a big box motel/hotel when a B&B of the caliber of the Saltwinds exists?

I recently stayed for three nights while attending a conference at the nearby Hyannis Conference Center. Proprietors Craig and Ginny have established a welcoming, home-style B&B. The room (#5) that I stayed in during my visit was colorful, extremely clean, quiet, and met all of my needs for a restful environment. The bathroom and shower were clean and well-provisioned for personal needs. The morning breakfasts were varied, fresh, and very filling.

A plus in staying at this type of B&B is the personal service offered and rendered willingly by the owners. Craig and Ginny are accommodating and want each of their guests to experience the best that the Hyannis area has to offer. Craig pointed me in the right direction with multiple recommendations for restaurants.

My only lament was that I had to leave after three nights and return to the reality of work! Future visits to Cape Cod will definitely include a return visit to Saltwinds and new found friends Craig and Ginny.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeasideRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conroybaxter, Manager at Saltwinds Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Craig and I want to thank you for your lovely review. You are a ray of sunshine, I love your sense of humor, very similar to ours. It is always nice when you can joke and laugh then turn around and have an intellectual conversation. We would love to see you back and hopefully your wife can join you next time, we can entertain her while you are busy with work. Until next time, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andalusia, AL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

My husband and I booked this excellent B & B for our New England vacation July 2014. Ginny & Craig were awesome! Craig gave us wonderful restaurant suggestions (along with coupons) and he also discussed with me my daily routes I ran each morning. I was on a mission to find the Kennedy compound. Craig didn't think I found it so he offered to drive my hubby and I by it on our last day there, come to find out I ran on the property. Oops! Craig took his time to give us some background of other homes in the area on our tour.
The breakfast and service are excellent. The location is very quant and the rooms are cute and very clean. I highly recommend staying here. The friendliness of both Ginny & Craig are worth the stay! If we are ever back in New England we will definitely be back at Saltwinds.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dillards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

My Mom & I spent our summertime vacation together for 3 years at Saltwinds. We were treated like queens. Our breakfasts were 5 & 6 course freshly cooked meals, fresh fruit, coffee, tea's & juices cooked by the owners Craig & Ginny, always fresh, always delicious. Craig drove us to the Ferry & picked us up when we returned from Martha's Vineyard, my Mom had never been. He would drop us off uptown, tell to shop, have fun, call when we wanted to return. The cleanliness of each room & cabin that we stayed in was impeccable. My Mom passed 3 years ago on Memorial Day, I received a call from Craig. My husband & I have the occasion to travel and have stayed in some of the "best" hotel chains, what I say to them is, NOT EVEN CLOSE to what Saltwinds offers just in cleanliness, forget about all of the rest of the kindnesses that we enjoyed for the same, reasonable price. Ginny & Craig, I needed to take the time to write this review for many reasons, but most importantly, my Mom would have wanted me to, and to say thank you for everything, and for me, the memories. Everyone should experience what a truly wonderful vacation at the Cape can be.

Room Tip: Every room is a great room, number one cleanliness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conroybaxter, Owner at Saltwinds Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Marie, thank you for your kind words. Craig and often think about you both and how much your Mom loved being here and what a ball of fire she was. I have a picture of the two of you on the side of my fridge and I look at it and smile everyday I am cooking. Hopefully we will see you again one day, I know how difficult it is going back somewhere without your loved one, I often feel the same since both my parents have passed. Always in our hearts. Love you Ginny & Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We just returned from a 5 night stay with our new friends Ginny and Craig. Oh sorry they are the owners of Saltwinds. Everything is wonderful from breakfast to after dinner drinks. The room we stayed in was beautiful (room 7) and the bed very comfortable. Both Ginny & Craig go above and beyond to make sure you have everything you need. Even on a night when I was not very hungry for dinner Ginny went into her own home and made me a plate of cheeses and crackers, (Gluten Free). We will definitely return to see this warm, inviting, friendly and thoughtful couple again. Thank you!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindik910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conroybaxter, Owner at Saltwinds Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you so very much, it was a pleasure meeting and chatting with you both. We are happy you enjoyed your trip and got in some relaxation time. Hopefully we will see you both again in the future. Thanks for making our job that much easier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

My family of four just returned from a 10 day stay at Salt Winds B&B, which was recommended to us by a friend. We instantly felt right at home. Our one bedroom apartment was very clean, and came with everything we needed to be comfortable for the vacation. The breakfast was not only delicious, but it gave us a chance to talk with other guests and to talk to Craig and Ginny about our plans for the day. Since this was our first visit to Cape Cod, we were so thankful to have their helpful advice about where to go and what to do. We decided to take a day trip to Nantucket, and Craig was aware of a discounted ferry rate AND he drove us to and from the ferry, which meant we didn't have to deal with finding a pricey parking spot. Also, my two boys (ages 6 and 8) loved the B&B and Craig and Ginny (and their adorable dogs, Bo and Brady). They had lots of fun playing in the pool, and there were chairs, towels, and sand toys for us to bring along to the beach. Finally, Salt Winds is in a GREAT location!!! We were easily able to walk to the very nice Main Street in Hyannis, and Keyes Beach - right down the road. It won't be long before we are back for a visit!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janet V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyannis
1.2 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
1.0 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#3 of 22 in Hyannis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
0.9 mi away
Cape Cod Harbor House Inn
0.6 mi away
Cape Cod Ocean Manor
Cape Cod Ocean Manor
#1 of 9 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saltwinds Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltwinds Bed & Breakfast

Property: Saltwinds Bed & Breakfast
Address: 319 Sea St, Hyannis, MA 02601-4508
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All private baths,air,full breakfast,pool,parking. Apartments available, sleeps 4-5 people, full kitchen weekly rates available. Walk to beach and town, grill,use of beach chairs,umbrellas and beach towels. Let us help you plan your vacation, local knowledge on the best beaches,eateries and shopping. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Saltwinds Bed And Breakfast
Saltwinds Hotel Hyannis
Saltwinds Bed & Breakfast Hyannis, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing