We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal, great service”
Review of Black Cat Tavern

Black Cat Tavern
Ranked #7 of 199 Restaurants in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $33
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Our casual waterfront restaurant is located right on the docks of Hyannis Harbor across from the Hy-Line ferries. Dine inside, where the look is all about classic seaside style, or outside on our heated patio while watching the boats sail in and out of the harbor. The menu features everything from thick, juicy burgers and garden-fresh salads to fresh native seafood and prime beef. Visit the Black Cat Tavern, year-round favorite among locals and visitors alike. Serving lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch with entertainment four nights a week in the lounge. Plenty of free parking with valet service offered for your convenience.
South Yarmouth, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great meal, great service”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Had a great meal with my family (a large group). I had the baked stuffed sole. It was delicious. The broccoli side dish wasn't hot enough, but still good. Everyone seemed to enjoy their meal. Dessert was tasty. Chocolate lovers should try the rocky road cake. Yum! The waitress was attentive and very friendly. It could have used a bit more light and the room between the tables was a bit on the tight side, but overall a great evening and I am looking forward to returning to try some other dishes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CJ T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    679
    531
    242
    86
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“So good, we ate there twice”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great food and atmosphere. Thoroughly enjoyed both their seafood and their ribs! Swordfish steak was to die for!
Was only a couple of minutes stagger from our hotel which was handy afterwards.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jt0475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We went to The Black Cat Tavern for dinner on a Wednesday evening. We had to wait for a table which was fine but you either had to stand outside in the cold or stand around people eating their food. They don't have any place for people to sit and wait for a table. We felt very uncomfortable standing over people as they ate and also having people watching us eat. The food was pretty expensive for the amount you received. You also had to have valet parking and was not allowed to park your own car and they held the keys until you came out for your car and then they retrieved your car from their parking lot.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Popular Place”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by others at our hotel. We were offered a high top in the bar which was very noisy with a large group waiting for a table. I had the salad with salmon which was very good. My husband had the scallops with risotto, which he said was good but could have been hotter. It's a busy spot probably because of the location near the harbor and other hotels. We weren't really impressed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PJMinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great lobster meal”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The stuffed 2 pound lobster was excellently prepared and very tasteful.

Service was friendly, altough asking 6 times in 30 minutes if everything is still alright, might be overdoing it a bit ;-)

The price was somewhat elevated but I guess you also pay for the location and the view on the harbour of Hyannis.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bj0rnC_BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Cat Tavern also viewed

 
Hyannis, Cape Cod
 

Been to Black Cat Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing