We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service in a lovely locale”
Review of Black Cat Tavern

Black Cat Tavern
Ranked #7 of 199 Restaurants in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $33
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Our casual waterfront restaurant is located right on the docks of Hyannis Harbor across from the Hy-Line ferries. Dine inside, where the look is all about classic seaside style, or outside on our heated patio while watching the boats sail in and out of the harbor. The menu features everything from thick, juicy burgers and garden-fresh salads to fresh native seafood and prime beef. Visit the Black Cat Tavern, year-round favorite among locals and visitors alike. Serving lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch with entertainment four nights a week in the lounge. Plenty of free parking with valet service offered for your convenience.
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Friendly service in a lovely locale”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Menu is a bit limited but steak tips (why tips?) were excellent. Seafood comes highly recommended by hubby

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank WeeWhiteWabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    679
    531
    242
    86
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Grab Drinks & Chowder at their Outdoor Bar”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We sat outside at their bar out back on a Sunday afternoon to have some drinks and clam chowder. The bartenders were very friendly and the chowder was great! There was live music and since it was chilly they had outdoor heaters. It was the perfect spot to chill out and have some drinks.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChantalTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, MA
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“cotton-candy-pink tuna and brown pork ribs”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were walking around Hyannis harbor and the Black Cat seemed to be bustling so we went in. We have read about the Shack (which is right next to the Tavern) and probably should have stayed with it. The seating on the front porch was very nice, with great view of the harbor. The bread basket was warm and provided a great start to our meal. A bowl of steamers was fresh and sweat. But everything went downhill from there. Sesame-crusted tuna was cotton-candy-pink in color and mealy (okay, this was not Ahi). A flat iron steak was chewy and overcooked, and smothered in a thick brown mushroom sauce. A rack of baby-back showed grey-brown meat - processed, not freshly made in-house, with industrial BBQ sauce. The place tries to be chic and cool and upscale. The prices reflect that. But if the food is not up to snuff, you may as well stay on the Shack side. Oh, one last annoyance: the Shack has maki (sushi rolls) on the menu, and even their magazine ad is a close-up picture of a maki. But the Tavern menu only has tuna sashimi and tartare (at $12.95!). Our Server gave a shrug when i asked why that's so. Given the quality of the tuna, may be it was just as well we didn't order the sushi.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Douglas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Great good. Lovely inside but best place to eat is on the front porch or in the Shack out Back. Delicious food. Well priced. Charming servers especially red haired Irish waitress. Super lobster rolls. Good live music on Sundays. Great bar inside. Very buzzy so book if you can. They give you pagers otherwise and no wait is too long.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Super-Tasty Giant Lobster Roll”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Lots of Lobster in a soft buttered Roll = Lobster Roll. They have one size: Giant so, go hungry. Hip spot right on the Harbor -- had outdoor bar but, was drippy when I was there. As soon as I get back, will go back to the Black Cat!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BeeLawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Cat Tavern also viewed

 
Hyannis, Cape Cod
 

Been to Black Cat Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing