We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny restaurant with delicious food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bangkok Kitchen

Bangkok Kitchen
Ranked #18 of 188 Restaurants in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
boston
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Tiny restaurant with delicious food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

My husband and I visited Bankok Kitchen soley based on the trip advisor reviews. We are so glad that we tried the restaurant. The food was some of the best Thai food that we have had. We ordered a spicy fish cake appetizer that I so wish our favorite restaurant in Boston prepared. It was soooo good. We also had pineapple fried rich and pad thai. Both were expertly prepared. I would love to give this restaurant 5 stars but the dining room is very cramped with about 8 tables and they do such a booming take out business that they neglect the diners that are right there in front of them! We had to wait quite a while just to place our order while they answered endless take out orders. There also was not anyone to really check on us once the food arrived or to fill our water glasses. If you can be patient with the wait for theses things, I would encourage you to visit and eat your fill of really good Thai food. They do take reservations so I strongly suggest that you make them. We saw couples turned away when there were empty tables that had been reserved for reservations.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hollisjanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    45
    13
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rijmenam, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“authentic... average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Small, quaint: yes. Different from the numerous chips-and-fish-shacks: yes. But far from really good Thai food. The service was also very unusual for the USA: the waitress did hardly speak to us. The dumplings were cold inside. I would not return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kaylacleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good food great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

After almost 3 weeks in the US we needed a culinary change. we had read the reviews and were not dissappointed. When we first arrived I doubted the choice as there was only one other table occupied. I shouldn't have - the food was good and authentic and was amazing value for money. By the time we left there were many people waiting in cars outside to get a table . This place is small and seems very very popular - with good reason

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We went to this restaurant due to the #2 rating on TripAdvisor. We called ahead and luckily we did as there is very limited seating. While we were eating, several people came in and one of the employees was constantly having to figure out where to seat people, asking us if we could do without one of our tables (we had a party of 5), etc. They have quite a few people order take out and now we can see why - it would be more relaxing to eat at home as it gets pretty crazy in the small space.

We ordered 4 different entrees, and the best were the Pad Thai and the Masaman Curry, the latter being the best - very yummy! I ordered the Green Curry with Chicken and while it was very good, it wasn't quite as good as the Masaman. If you are bringing kids who don't like too much spice, the veggie delite (which you can add Chicken or other meats to) was very mild as it just had a light soy sauce, and the wonton soup is easy as well for little ones to deal with. We also tried the crab rangoon app which were some of the best rangoons we've ever had.

Our main complaint was that there were not enough people serving the food/waiting on tables. We sat for 10-15 minutes before we received our drinks. Glasses with ice sat on our tables for quite awhile before the sparkling water came. The waitress was more concerned with picking up checks and getting the tables turned over than attending to us who were already seated. They could definitely use more help out in the dining area. Luckily the food didn't take too long to come out. We would try the food again, but we probably wouldn't dine in again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NHFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved it...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Small restaurant with a big welcome and great food. Everything from the starters, crab Rangoon (amazing) and spring rolls were fresh and full of flavor. The thai mango curry was super and the Thai spaghetti was also wonderful. For those looking for a drink... it's byob... And if you forget there is a great liquor store about 300 yards away. The service was promptly and very friendly. Looking forward to my next visit.

Helpful?
Thank Dflat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok Kitchen also viewed

 
 
Hyannis, Cape Cod
 

Been to Bangkok Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing