We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Comfortable Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Paddock - CLOSED

The Paddock
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Comfortable Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

We had dinner at The Paddock last night. It has the atmosphere of being in Grandma's dining room ..... and I mean this in a very positive way. It was very comfortable, the staff was very attentive and everyone took care to greet us. We both had the Prime Rib special, which was cooked exactly as ordered and delivered after just a short wait. It was delicious. The wine list was serviceable, with a decent variety of bottles to suit the restaurant's steak and seafood menu.

After dinner we were headed to a show next door at the Melody Tent. The restaurant allows you leave your car in their lot, which is a great advantage in avoiding traffic congestion after the show.

I have seen a number of somewhat negative reviews of this restaurant on this site. I have to say, our experience was truly positive from start to finish.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank modacious1725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    60
    21
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food, wonderful sevice at a Cape Cod Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

As others have stated we have been coming to the cape for 30 + years and always passed on the paddock as being too "touristy". We tried it recently for our 25 anniversary dinner, and we were very happy. Service was top-notch and had many old-school touches like splitting salads and helping us to not order too much food. The goat cheese appetizer was outstanding and enough for 4 people, salads were great, and main courses were outstanding. The steak was delicious and the scallops were incredible, as was the nice warm bread served with the meal. The martini's were served with side care so you got your money's worth and they were reasonably priced. Wine selection was good, and the chocolate cake for dessert was to die for. The place is like an old time fancy resataurant with paneling and a nautical theme. The waitress, Donna, was a true professional and made our night special. We will be back for sure.
Don't listen to the bad reviews give it a try!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gia611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
98 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Sad to see a restaurant that was once great in such a decline”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Very sad to see The Paddock in this state of decline. I have not been to the Paddock for 5 years, but previous experiences I had were nothing short of remarkable. We were really looking forward to treating ourselves. We ate at the bar on a Thursday night. We split a lobster bisque, mussels and (what we looked forward to the most) the house special 2lb baked lobster stuffed with scallops and shrimp. This dish *used* to be so big even 2 people could not finish it, tons of giant sea scallops and giant shrimp in an outstanding stuffing. The lobster bisque was just plain **aweful**!! It was luke warm, no lobster, no hint of sherry, almost gluey, it was really gross, we didn't finish it. The mussels were also tasteless and also barely warm. The baked lobster was a huge disappointment, 2 slivers of scallops on top along with one small shrimp cut in 1/2. The lobster was just plain overcooked, the claws were burned. I've never seen a burned lobster shell before. I have a split opinion about the service. The first bartender was just terrible, a 20-something girl. She forgot the bread. She forgot my wine. She forgot the water. She forgot the silverware. She forgot the bread - twice. We had to ask for lobster crackers and pickers, she said they didn't have any pickers...seriously? She left 1/2 way through dinner without saying a word, and thank god for us, a guy in his (i want to say) late 50's took over who knew what the heck he was doing. He redeemed this review from a 1* rating to a 2*. I heard later from friends that the original owners son is now running the place but is trying to sell it. Just a shame, the food and service here used to be outstanding, even though the decor was straight out of the 80s. Oh and speaking of which - someone do something about the GREEN CRUD oozing out of the faucets in the ladies room for crying out loud, something is literally GROWING on it. I was completely grossed out, so it was the appropriate ending to a totally lackluster meal. Close already, its dead to me, I'll never go back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank northshoregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Give the Paddock a try”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

I have been coming to the Cape for 30 years and always passed by the Paddock as to stuffy/old/dated. We gave the Paddock a try because we had tickets to Little Big Town playing at the Melody Tent. The Paddock has valet parking and is a two minute walk to the tent. The drinks were good sized, the meals were very good. We split a dessert and my wife had a flaming coffee served table side (a show in itself). The waitress was very good friendly helpful and told a story or two. The prices are a bit high, but you will find linen, nice sized tables not to close together and lots of dark wood paneling. The Paddock reminds me of classic old time resturants in NYC, Boston or Detroit. Give the Paddock a try and if you have tickets to the Melody Tent no parking hassle, a win all around.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John_Paul02904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

We were going to Melody Tent and looking for a place to have dinner. Checked Trip Advisor and reviews were good for this place. We had a delicious meal,very nice Wait Staff,would highly recommend this restaurant. Nice setting & atmosphere!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NannieMarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Paddock also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing