We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of The Paddock - CLOSED

The Paddock
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We went to the Paddock because of its high ratings, but we were quite disappointed. We were encouraged at the beginning of the meal because the bread was good and the wine was reasonably priced. Unfortunately, the salad was limp and the main course of lobster-stuffed haddock, the daily special, was bland and rather ordinary.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    60
    21
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC MEAL”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My husband and I were celebrating his birthday- again (because the night before-on his birthday-we had a terrible meal). I started out with Broccoli/Cheddar Soup which was excellent and my husband had the Clam Chower which he said was excellent. I then had the Grilled Sirloin- I was not disappointed at all the meal was wonderful and my husband had a seafood meal which he thoroughly enjoyed- it had a scallop, swordfish, and shrimp. We will be back in the future when visiting Cape Cod.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CountryDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hatfield, pa
Level Contributor
122 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Picked out of desperation.”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Our party of four were trying to reach another restaurant and just could not make the connection. We were riding around about 4 times and we kept coming upon The Paddock. So we were left with the choice of not eating or finally pulling into their parking lot. Well we pulled into the parking lot and that was the best choice out of almost our entire stay.

THe first impression is very favorable, Menu appeared to be a little high until I ventured to the back of the menu and found our prize. A pre fix
meal costing $18.00 for three courses. Selection was limited but very favorable. No one tells you this so I suggest if you decide to go check the back of the menu. Food was very good, service could be better. It is definitly worth another try.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dennis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Going downhill”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The restaurant is in need of an internal facelift. This was once THE place to go, close to the Melody Tent for a pre-concert meal. My last visit was disappointing with prices to high for the quality of the food and the atmosphere. Friends are saying the same.

Helpful?
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A good, cured restaurant”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Service is quick, waitresses all kind and professional, but, most of all, lobster is not a lobster: it is a giant, exquisite, beasty lobster! 5 stars

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Paddock also viewed

Hyannis, Cape Cod
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing