We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice restaurant--Good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Roadhouse Cafe

The Roadhouse Cafe
Ranked #14 of 188 Restaurants in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our menu offers everything from native seafood dishes, such as cioppino and blackened swordfish, to Italian specialties and pasta dishes, and a variety of choice steaks. If you're looking for a lighter bite, look no further than our Bistro where we offer salads, sandwiches and thin-crust gourmet pizzas in addition to our full dinner menu. A carefully culled wine list, 20 of which are available by the glass, and nearly 30 beer selections round it all out. House-made desserts, espresso and cappuccino are the perfect ending to a perfect evening at the Roadhouse Cafe. Whether it's a romantic dinner for two or a private party of 150, let the Roadhouse Cafe make your evening a memorable one.
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
113 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant--Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

The restaurant has a very varied menu--seafood, steaks, italian and pizza. They have a piano bar on Friday and Saturday nights. Our waitress, Isabel, was super. I had a baked stuffed lobster and my husband had steak au poivre. Both were very good. The lobster was a little heavy on the bread stuffing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carlotta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    130
    50
    34
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Huge menu, attentive, professional staff great atmosphere. We are regulars and have only had one off night. Mainly due to being seated at a bad table. Chicken oscar is fabulous!
Jazz Monday nights,
Great!

Helpful?
Thank Golfingkicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty Lake
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Drinks one day, dinner another”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stopped by first for Irish Coffee. Well made, but overpriced drinks.. way over priced. Made dinner reservations late the next evening. This restaurant is owned by the same people as the Black Cat. Once we sat down we realized there were many of the same items on the menu as the other restaurant. I had a good meal, but better service than at the Black Cat.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 509ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Time to change our opinion of The Roadhouse (unfortunately)”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

The Roadhouse has been a 'go-to' place for us….good and dependable food, even if expensive. In recent trips, the food and the service seemed a bit off, but not too bad. This time? Ugh! I ordered the Cioppino ($37) and they apparently "forgot" the lobster claw! They brought one out afterward, but it was rubbery and hardly crackable. My wife ordered the sesame tuna, and the tuna was room temperature (it was good), but the soba noodles and vegetables were cold, almost as if they came out of the refrigerator. Really, we have seen enough to conclude that recent service was NOT a series of one-off nights. It is too bad. We really liked this place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LTD299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Food + Great Service + Great Piano = EXCELLENT!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Food was consistent across the board, as we all ordered fresh, local fish. The lobster quesadillas are amazingly delicious - very nicely done and quality exceeded. I started with an appetizer of Kobe Beef Carpaccio with extra virgin olive oil and pepper – I recommend! Excellent food and service offered throughout the evening. The lounge area next to the bar (come in from the parking lot at the door marked “Back Door Bistro) is now my favorite spot; it has a piano with a professional pianist. No “sing-a-long” just great sounding music from a gifted performer! A recommendation from Bill, the innkeeper, at Simmons Homestead (www.simmonshomesteadinn.com) got us to check it out. Naturally, we told Bill how much we enjoyed our dinner and the entertainment here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BostonGourmet48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Roadhouse Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Roadhouse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing