We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite”
Review of The Roadhouse Cafe

The Roadhouse Cafe
Ranked #12 of 200 Restaurants in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Our menu offers everything from native seafood dishes, such as cioppino and blackened swordfish, to Italian specialties and pasta dishes, and a variety of choice steaks. If you're looking for a lighter bite, look no further than our Bistro where we offer salads, sandwiches and thin-crust gourmet pizzas in addition to our full dinner menu. A carefully culled wine list, 20 of which are available by the glass, and nearly 30 beer selections round it all out. House-made desserts, espresso and cappuccino are the perfect ending to a perfect evening at the Roadhouse Cafe. Whether it's a romantic dinner for two or a private party of 150, let the Roadhouse Cafe make your evening a memorable one.
Willow Street
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favorite”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The food mainly is why we always eat here before leaving by ferry the next day. The service is good. We request a table by the window. The booths are not recommended if you are large or tall as they are very tight. There is an early bird price before 6- $3.00 off on most everything and also includes a house salad which is ample.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelsquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    141
    55
    35
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cotuit, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst experience in 50 years of restaurant dining”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was so bad, it verges on the unbelievable. A man who never should have been placed at the host station, gruffly asked us if we had a reservation -- no smile, no greeting, no hello. I gave him our reservation information and, without a word, he turned his back on us, busying himself with something more critical than seating guests, I guess, and we remained there, perplexed, until a waitress spotted us from the dining room and came to ask if we had reservations. I again gave the information and we were seated. The woman who served as our waitress must have been from the same employment agency as the ill-groomed host. She looked too old to be working and her dour-faced demeanor confirmed her lack of enthusiasm and energy for the task. She did take our order, however, but not before snapping at one of my guests for asking a question. And then she was off -- to the beach, I guess, or home for a nap, because we didn't see her until late in the evening when she reappeared with our food. In the meantime, there were few waiters about and those few avoided making eye contact with me. In short, we were left unattended for the whole evening. Now, for the food. It was cold. One pasta dish had no dressing or sauce at all. My pasta entree consisted of a few noodles swimming in a loose meat sauce. The three dishes were unappealing and, by that time, we had lost our appetites, so we three took our meals home. We reheated them the next day, but they were so off-tasting, we threw them out. I wrote to the owner about this dreadful experience but my letter was ignored. Insult over injury ensures I'll not be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Arrogant and over rated”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Reserved, but were pushed into an area where even the waitress could not round the table. Asked to be moved to an empty booth and were eventually accommodated but with attitude. The food was good but the service was so fast that entrees arrived before the appetizers were finished and the whole experience was over in less than one hour. This is not fast food prices and claims to be a premier restaurant on Cape Cod yet it is losing its reputation.
I wrote after the meal but I guess unsuprisingly, never got a response
Such a pity to see excellent cuisine ruined by atmoshere and the feeling that the customer does not matter. Reputations take time to grow but can be lost in an instant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulW939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level 6 Contributor
391 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 436 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere.. Service could be better.”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

If you find this helpful, please click yes where it asks.
----------------------------------------------

Ambiance - nice. Its a little cramped and cozy but has character. Have lots of entertainments. We sat ON the piano.

Parking - they have valet .. Use it or suffer. Not the greatest.

Service - waitress was nice but food was slow for us for some reason. Others got theirs faster.

Price - 2 adults, 3 kids (they offer kids portions but no menu). 2 drinks and 1 app was 101 + tip.
Not terrible.

Food - food was great. Not the best ever but no complaints all around.

Drinks- were a little weak.. Sorry just needed to be a little stronger.

Overall - i would certainly go here again BUT i would expect around a mediocre experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank snmurphy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, bit stuffy”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Nice food and good service but the atmosphere was stuffy and the booths so squashed in it was difficult to get in and out. We were considering coming for a big family meal but decided against it - not very welcoming.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank montfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Roadhouse Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Roadhouse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing