We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service and average food”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Bistrot de Soleil

Bistrot de Soleil
Ranked #34 of 189 Restaurants in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $28
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brewster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
83 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Poor service and average food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Service was extremely slow. Three of us had cool pasta with sole and one had dry salmon. The petite beef entree was good. Salads and deserts were good. The six of us are very experienced dinners and would not return. There are many much better nearby restaurants.

Helpful?
4 Thank Dickcape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    64
    18
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well prepared and beautifully set”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have dined at Bistrot de Soleil twice now and both times it was fantastic. Most recently I went with a date and enjoyed the prix fixe dinner and enjoyed every morsel of food that was served. The only reason that this review is "very good" as opposed to excellent is that the meals were delivered very slowly and our waiter was in deep conversation several times with a table across the restaurant while we were waiting. Overall, the atmosphere is warm and welcoming, the food is definitely some of the best on the Cape, and it is an enjoyable experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Terrific Meal for a Great Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We went here for 3 dinners in a row. They have a $20 special between 4:30 and 6:30 that is beyond compare. You get a glass of wine, appetizer, entree and dessert. All are excellently prepared and very tasty. One of our appetizers was the mussel plate with many, many mussels in a delicious garlicky/buttery sauce. The plum sauce on the ricotta pie was exceptional as were our fish dishes and my steak. Further there was nice music in the background that did not overwhelm conversation.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lfodea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hidden Jewel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Five of us visited this restaurant for the first time last evening. We had heard several favorable experiences from various friends about this Italian restaurant. We made reservations ahead.
The menu is full of delicious offerings.
Without exception, we all enjoyed our food. The best of the evening was the tender and perfectly seasoned pork belly. Just scrumptious! The deserts were decent and of good size. The New York cheesecake was light and moist.The beverages were mediocre. The wine pours were substantial.
They offer a Prix Fix menu at certain hours for only $20.00. This included a complimentary glass of either white or red wine. It's 3 courses and left me more than full.
Our only complaint might be what seemed to be either poorly trained or new wait staff.
All in all, it's a good new find for us, as we dine out several times per week.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“One of The Cape's Best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I had not been back to Bistrot de Soleil since the first week it opened. What a difference six months makes. We had to wait ten minutes for a table, the bar and all tables were full - and this on a Thursday night in November no less.

The $20 Three Course Dinner with a glass of wine, may well have had something to do with that.

Quality and presentation of the food is exceptional. Carrot/Spinach Soup of the Day, was an interesting mix of flavour and texture. Veal Picatta with homemade pasta awesome. Braised Beef with Mashed Potatoes, just a little too salty, was so flavourful and tender.

Cheesecake - was so so and the Triple Chocolate Bundt Cake cold have only been improved with some Vanilla Ice Cream.

The wines were great as well. Service was spot on.

Less than $43 for two, incredible deal!

If you have not been yet - call and make a reservation and check it out. You wont be disappointed!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot de Soleil also viewed

 
Hyannis, Cape Cod
 

Been to Bistrot de Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing