We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Meal for a Great Price”
Review of Bistrot de Soleil

Bistrot de Soleil
Ranked #31 of 199 Restaurants in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $28
Cuisines: French, Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
El Cerrito, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Terrific Meal for a Great Price”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We went here for 3 dinners in a row. They have a $20 special between 4:30 and 6:30 that is beyond compare. You get a glass of wine, appetizer, entree and dessert. All are excellently prepared and very tasty. One of our appetizers was the mussel plate with many, many mussels in a delicious garlicky/buttery sauce. The plum sauce on the ricotta pie was exceptional as were our fish dishes and my steak. Further there was nice music in the background that did not overwhelm conversation.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lfodea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    68
    19
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hidden Jewel”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Five of us visited this restaurant for the first time last evening. We had heard several favorable experiences from various friends about this Italian restaurant. We made reservations ahead.
The menu is full of delicious offerings.
Without exception, we all enjoyed our food. The best of the evening was the tender and perfectly seasoned pork belly. Just scrumptious! The deserts were decent and of good size. The New York cheesecake was light and moist.The beverages were mediocre. The wine pours were substantial.
They offer a Prix Fix menu at certain hours for only $20.00. This included a complimentary glass of either white or red wine. It's 3 courses and left me more than full.
Our only complaint might be what seemed to be either poorly trained or new wait staff.
All in all, it's a good new find for us, as we dine out several times per week.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“One of The Cape's Best”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I had not been back to Bistrot de Soleil since the first week it opened. What a difference six months makes. We had to wait ten minutes for a table, the bar and all tables were full - and this on a Thursday night in November no less.

The $20 Three Course Dinner with a glass of wine, may well have had something to do with that.

Quality and presentation of the food is exceptional. Carrot/Spinach Soup of the Day, was an interesting mix of flavour and texture. Veal Picatta with homemade pasta awesome. Braised Beef with Mashed Potatoes, just a little too salty, was so flavourful and tender.

Cheesecake - was so so and the Triple Chocolate Bundt Cake cold have only been improved with some Vanilla Ice Cream.

The wines were great as well. Service was spot on.

Less than $43 for two, incredible deal!

If you have not been yet - call and make a reservation and check it out. You wont be disappointed!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Hyannis, MA has dozens of fine restaurants to choose from. Bistrot De Soleil was recommended by friends. We were pleasantly surprised. We shared the meatball appetizer with freshly made tomato sauce. I had the Italian Fish Stew which contained a nice size piece of fish, 2 or 3 large scallops and shrimp and several lobster claws in a light tomato broth served with pappardella pasta. My husband had the Chicken Francese with the most flavorful sweet pea risotto we have ever tasted. We will definitely go back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxboro, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great place for fine or casual dining on Cape Cod”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Bistrot De Soleil is a new establishment in Hyannis that my wife and I found during our vacation this September. It has everything we were looking for: great food, reasonable pricing, nice service, and elegant decor.
The place is very good for lunch and fine/casual dining.

Michael B.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot de Soleil also viewed

 
Hyannis, Cape Cod
 

Been to Bistrot de Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing