We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Pizza and a Beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pizza Barbone

Pizza Barbone
Ranked #3 of 189 Restaurants in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Coventry England
Level Contributor
164 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great Pizza and a Beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Dropped in here after a day on Nantucket and were not disappointed in the pizza or the local beer. The service was prompt and friendly and the ambience and decor were modern and comfortable. Although we did not have the wine there was a good range available suitable for the style of food on the menu. We would return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank simoncoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    133
    34
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Centerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Superb specials”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I don't ordinarily have pizza because it all tastes the same--drowned in tomato sauce with non-descript cheese and whatever else on top. We went to Pizza Barbone because they also have delicious salads, with fresh ingredients and herbs from their rooftop garden. But I had occasion to have two pizzas there--the eggplant lunchtime special and the duck-confit evening special. I never had pizzas so good! The duck, with local peaches and fresh mozzarella, was a triumph that really upscale restaurants would offer. A very nice, relaxed place, also very clean and nicely designed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LibraPi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We opted to try this place and so glad we did. Alex our server was wonderful. Arancini(rice balls) were very good and we had pizza with sopressata super yummy. Also, the pizza biance verde with arugula and ricotta was awesome. Great wood fired pizzas. The only personal recommendation we would say is we would prefer our pizzas cooked a bit more. We would return without a doubt. Nice place, very clean and good location on Main Street.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MangiaCTUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
100 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Was good, but didn't live up to the hype”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Went because we had heard good things. Tried the cheeseless pizza for dietary reasons and, from the description, was expecting a flatbread drizzled in EVOO and topped with tomato slices and fresh herbs, sort of like bruschetta. What we got was a soggy crust that was charred on the bottom with tasty pizza sauce and nothing else spread on it...sort of like cheese pizza without the cheese. Guess we should have known better, but like I said, that wasn't the description and certainly wasn't what we thought an authentic Italian place would serve up.

On the plus side, the staff were friendly, accommodating and quick.
On the down side, the oven and light fixtures were covered in dust and the table in sticky beer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveler01534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Left hungry and with a lighter wallet...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Pizza was good quality.... BUT the portions were way too small and the price way inflated. An 18% added gratuity for a piiza place...c'mon, are you kidding me! There are better valued pizza options in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canul8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Barbone also viewed

 

Been to Pizza Barbone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing