We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel not Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heritage House Hotel
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Free Parking and the location is good, Hotel in need of a facelift the staircases and firedoors at the end of the corridors more in keeping with a 1960s school building. Staff very friendly and helpful recommending restaurants and giving directions. Breakfast was fine but really more a Motel, Don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed. For what we paid it was good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank festive_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 499 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2011

This a motel. Don't be fooled, it's a motel. The rooms were only slightly larger than a typical holiday inn, and they are in desperate need of renovation. The bed was ~ 2ft off the floor ! The bathroom was dirty and the fixtures were worn. I was disgusted by the lack of cleaning by housekeeping.
Service in this place is awful. The bell hop doubles as the bus boy and waiter at the one and only restaurant. The food was tasty, but the staff was so rude, I walked out one day. We were traveling with a tour group. Breakfast buffet was provided every morning, but there was apparently a policy that 4oz of juice was the limit for each patron, because when I asked for more juice, I was told that I had had all the juice that I was permitted to have for breakfast....that's when I walked out!
Please stay elsewhere. I certainly will the next time I visit Hyannis.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WorldTraveler89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

+free parking
+location: on the main street
-It's a bit old: rooms & hotel
-no wifi in room

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rdrummen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Not what we expected at all after seeing the website. Built at the end of the 60s and is still there! Reception not very friendly or helpful except at one point on the 2nd day when they printed a driving route to New York for us. Asked about breakfast - "yes, we serve breakfast". No more info - had to drag bits out of them. Asked about evening meals - no the restaurant only opens Fri and Sat eve. But each evening they were providing meals for coach parties. We probably wouldn't have eaten there as there is loads within walking distance down Main St (though avoid Schooners - see review) and lots more a short drive away. Because of the attitude etc we decided to have breakfast out and found a good place almost next door (Persy's Place) and one across the road. Rooms - spacious, dated, bed the least comfortable of any we've had during this holiday. Bathroom cramped and needs modernising. Reception smells of chlorine from the pool (pool looked quite nice). Wi-fi, as a previous person has said, only available in reception. Reception consists of a few chairs. Website says also available in dining areas but told we couldn't go in there!
Not a hotel we'd go back to or would recommend - I'd class it as a motel.

Room Tip: I think they're all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mirandayork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Called for reservations this summer and spoke to a young man whose command of English was iffy and reserved what seemed to be a suite for the family at what seemed to be a decent price. On the way to the hotel that evening, I realized we were running quite late and so telephoned the hotel to confirm that we wouldn't be arriving for another few hours; the young woman who answered told us not to worry.
When we arrived at 11:30 or so to check in I was told that we, or at least part of our party had already done so, which was impossible since we were all together. The rooms had been given to someone else (whose name, by the way, bore no resemblance to ours). And it turned out that the suite we had reserved did not exist either, and the price we had been quoted referred to one room, not the total. Close to an hour followed while one man behind the counter retreated to an office where we could hear him make calls to other management, while a another man (foreign, much younger) who obviously had less authority stood by uncomfortably and waited for orders.
Finally, way past midnight, we were able to get the first man to emerge from the office and were given two rooms in two separate buildings for the price we had originally been quoted, although he was quite obviously angry with us for insisting on paying that price. I never saw the rooms in the main building and so cannot comment on them, but the rooms in the motel-like buildings in the parking lot were fairly large, plain, motel-like and decently clean. The price for the rooms is clearly based on the location of the hotel and the fact that it was high season on the Cape - they were not high-end rooms.
Encounters with staff - not the same as the night before - the next day were pleasant enough. The management apparently hires young Europeans for the summer, some of whom do not have the requisite language skills or sufficient knowledge of the area to be of help (we overheard one young clerk tell a guest a driving time to Provincetown that was way off, especially for a Saturday). In the worst cases, like ours, the miscommunication makes for exhausted guests and angry staff.
Great location if you need access to the ferries, however!

Room Tip: Reviewers seem to like rooms in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SomewhatSelective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Don't usually like to complain but first impressions count and ours is terrible. Hotel advertises hi speed wi-fi. Hmm but thus does not include wifi access in the rooms. Asked the receptionist if we could be moved to a room with wifi access. Not possible as the rooms don't have wifi access apparently. How can a hotel advertise that it has wifi? Staff are rude. The savings made by staying here are really not worth it. Do yourself a favour and in such a beautiful area book into a decent, customer focussed hotel or B&B! This hotel will disappoint you.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frex_Ant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We had 2 rooms for 3 nights in early Sept 2011. The front desk staff had a lot of difficulty understanding us when we needed to check-in and when we asked for extra pillows. The building our room was in did not have an elevator so we had to haul all our luggage (for an 11 day trip) up the stairs. The beds were very uncomfortable (cheap mattresses) and the rooms did have an odor. Although it wasn't a bad experience I think that we would choose a different hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amendoz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hyannis hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
#10 of 22 in Hyannis
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#5 of 22 in Hyannis
1,276 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Cape Cod Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
0.3 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cape Cod Harbor House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage House Hotel

Address: 259 Main St, Hyannis, MA 02601-4095
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Price Range: $61 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heritage House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage House Hotel is Cape Cod's first Solar Powered Hotel, we are making a constant effort toward greener business practices. We are conveniently located one block from Hyannis Harbor, which is the departure point for the Martha's Vineyard, Nantucket, and Whale Watch Ferries. While at the property explore Main Street Waterfront District, offering antique shops, galleries, kayak and bike rentals, dancing, dinning, and live entertainment. We are located directly across from the Regional Transportation Center and Train- Home of Boston's Cape Cod Flyer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Heritage House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Hyannis
Heritage House Hyannis
Heritage House Hotel Hyannis, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing