We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Staff was great, accomodations... poor” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn & Suites / Hyannis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites / Hyannis
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Akron, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Staff was great, accomodations... poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We picked this hotel based soley on price, and it is true that you get what you pay for.
I should say though, the staff was incredibly nice and professional. This is the only thing I have good to say about the property.
They still use keys for the doors.
Security no-no. It made me very nervous and we slept with a chair wedged inbetween the door knob and floor. I just dont trust when you have a hotel with actual keys anymore. Too many things could go wrong.
The biggest thing to complain about though was the fact that apparently the staff do not know what a "fitted sheet" is. Our two beds were made with a flat sheets used only on the beds. I could have complained, but what would be the point? If they had them, I am sure they would have used them. So, I guess this hotel has no fitted sheets.
Luckily though, I tried to move very little in the bed so as to not expose the mattress underneath... terrible night of sleep..
The walls were very thin and we could hear when the person next door was taking a shower. Now, I know you hear other rooms in hotels, but it sounded so loud that I thought it was our shower at first.
Free breakfast was pretty good.
Not really anything the hotel could do about the thin walls, but they really should consider going to coded door entry... and buying new sheets.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    81
    85
    46
    45
See reviews for
85
115
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Although the location and price appears to be a great benefit, I would not recommend. We had reservations for two rooms, as my husband and I were traveling with our mothers. We arrived late on a Tuesday night after 12 hours of driving. The rooms were dirty and unclean. Both rooms had broken glass from beer bottles on and in the carpet, dust/dirt where the walls/floor meet, and just relatively old. I could not positively say that they even cleaned the room, as we found an item of clothing along side the bed. Vinyl curtains had holes and were dirty. Shower curtain had mildew. Breakfast room was dirty and extremely small; could barely walk around the tables and other guests. The continental breakfast consisted of half-cut muffins and bagels, no bread for toasting, no cream cheese, no eggs, no waffles. Could not even get coffee until after 7 a.m. Although we had reservations for three nights, we checked out the next morning. On a positive note, the office was apologetic. Definitely not worth the value or location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hyannis hotels

Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We arrived without a reservation and we were surprised at the value for the location. We were walking distance to Main Street restaurants, the harbor, and the beach. The staff was friendly and helpful. Complimentary continental breakfast was average, but fine for our purposes. We would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoolOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed here for an off season weekend and it was very good. A nice surprise with amenities that make up for the few drawbacks. It was generally clean. The front desk staff was very professional and helpful. Nice lobby area. The breakfast room is a bonus with free upgrade from continental style. Boiled eggs, waffles, bagels, cereal, fruit, coffee and juice. We enjoyed staying and will go back. A couple of drawbacks....the curtains were vinyl which worked to block the early morning sun but ours had small holes in them. Also the shower curtain had some mold....just a little but I saw it. Tiny bit more attention to detail and this would have been 100% good, I'll still give it a 95% thumbs up. I will go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ejoi67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Great location...right downtown close to resturants and boats docks. Room was average but clean. Hotel has both an indoor & outdoor pool. Free complimentary breakfast was very good...waffles, bagels, toast, muffins, creal, coffee, juice. Great price/value for Hyannis!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank out-n-about112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusettes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Upon arrival we were greeted promptly and given our key. Room was average but clean.Bed was firm and pillows thin and no bed bugs.Right downtown and easy parking and close to boat doks and restaraunts.This is a no frills place to stay but would use again because of cost.Hyannis can be pricey and other hotels are double in price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

08/29- I will keep the experience at ABVI simple. The rooms had webs in plain sight. The bath tub did not drain properly. The windows did not feel safe and could easily be tampered/broken into.
The breakfast is good. The service, I don’t think that any of the two guys at the front actually have any education in hotel management, as when a Real situation happened, they didn’t know how to take care of it. The only thing they were good for is to tell you where to find the best fish n’ chips.

The real situation that happened is that the 3 night stay of 300$ ended up cost me 6000$ in car damages. As after our full day excursion, we came back to the hotel to find that our car had been hit and to go to the office. Just to go to the office, the person there did not know anything. Another client had hit our car which was parked while we were at Martha’s Vineyard. It was Shifted out of it’s parking spot- two dents, and back bumper almost falling off. As per our home location we need a police report for any damages over 500$, so we asked the employee to call the police station and he didn’t have a clue what number to call, so he called some number which had only an answering machine- obviously it was 11pm. Just dial 911 and they will dispatch the call properly. Anyway the police came and was not sympathetic and did not make the report but siding with the other driver who had hit the car. The other driver said she was really tired driving from Albany and just smashed into our car. The whole time the employee was smirking and smiling… I called him up on it and he said he was not laughing at us.
The next day we went to the police station and the officer said the other cop should have made a report.
Anyway the next day- I asked the employee as checking out, if they can waive my room charge as it was paid upon check in- and he said so heartlessly it’s not the hotels fault with a smirk on his face- no customer service skills or compassion. The insurance will cover the damage, that’s not the point. It could have happened anywhere, but the way the staff dealt with it like shaking their head and smirking is not the kind of service you would find at better hotel chain. They need more speed bumps in the parking lot, as there is only one in the front. And I heard people speeding in there. The parking spots are really tight, and people drinking in the parking lot.
Our vacation was completely ruined after the first day. Have never stayed at ABVI and never will again. I know this hotel will not bankrupt or shut down as we all keep giving them a chance like I did despite the mixed review. There is a lot to be said about customer service skills and mannerism, just know what you are getting yourself into.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amsa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hyannis hotels
0.3 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#2 of 22 in Hyannis
5.0 of 5 stars 1,216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage House Hotel
Heritage House Hotel
#16 of 22 in Hyannis
3.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn Cape Cod
Quality Inn Cape Cod
#15 of 22 in Hyannis
3.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
#12 of 22 in Hyannis
3.0 of 5 stars 785 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 stars 960 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyannis Holiday Motel
Hyannis Holiday Motel
#11 of 22 in Hyannis
3.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites / Hyannis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites / Hyannis

Property: Americas Best Value Inn & Suites / Hyannis
Address: 206 Main St, Hyannis, MA 02601-4002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites / Hyannis 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seasonal Property- Open April 15th thru October 31st, Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Cape Cod is a wonderful 2 floor, 84 guestroom property conveniently located in Hyannis, the heart of beautiful Cape Cod. Our tastefully decorated guestrooms offer modern in-room conveniences and quality amenities for the comfort of our guests. The name says it all - comfortable and quality accommodations at a valued price. Perfect getaway for couples and vacationing families. Relax and enjoy the value. We are centrally located in Downtown Hyannis' "famous Main Street Waterfront District". Our hotel is a short walk to Hyannis Harbor, ferry services to Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket, Cape Cod Scenic Railroad, the Kennedy Memorial, the beautiful beaches, and wonderful Main Street shopping which has waterfront dining. Our inn is the best value for clean and comfortable rooms in Cape Cod. Enjoy our gigantic indoor heated pool and outdoor pool with a sundeck. Guestroom amenities include wireless internet, refrigerators, premium cable TV, telephones, air conditioning, and a complimentary breakfast. You'll find it all at Americas Best Value Inn and Suites. We're right on Main Street in Hyannis, the very heart of the Cape...always close to the sights and sounds that make a visit to this wonderland a perennial joy artists' colonies and museums, stores and charming antique shops, restaurants, movies and summer theaters, churches. Everywhere there are meandering roads and picturesque villages. Nearby are challenging golf courses, boat rentals, and superb fishing facilities. Fine, safe beaches on Lewis Bay and Nantucket Sound are mere moments from our door. One stay and you will come to realize what others already have and what has made Americas Best Value Inn so welcoming for so many. So book with Americas Best Value Inn and Suites in Hyannis today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites / Hyannis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites / Hyannis Hotel Hyannis
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites / Hyannis
Americas Best Value Inn Hyannis
Americas Best Value Inn Hotel
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites / Hyannis Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing