We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Cape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Codder Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cape”
Reviewed August 21, 2006

Enjoyed a 2 week stay on Cape Cod staying at the Cape Codder Resort. Was disappointed with first room which was on the second floor overlooking the car park but managed to get moved to the second floor overlooking the courtyard which was a lovely spot.
Air conditioning a little noisy. Food was good. Spa excellent and facilities ideal especially for families with young children as the pool was open until 10pm and there was a different film every night in the courtyard for children,

  • Liked — Only 2 floors
  • Disliked — Air conditioning noisy
  • Tips/Secrets — Check out the concerts at the Melody tent
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Hounslea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    401
    226
    95
    95
See reviews for
673
237
13
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom Downs, Surrey, England
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2006

Have just got back from a lovely week in Cape Cod. The Cape Codder was a truly functional place to stay to tour the Cape. It has all a family needs, but I would agree with other reviewers that for teenagers it would have been nice if there were an outdoor pool. Having said that, the 'beach' area by the covered wave pool is great.

It's in a good spot for getting about the Cape. Plenty of eateries either in the resort or nearby (the Grand Cru bistro has especially good food).

The rooms were a good size, clean and tidy. No complaints!

Helpful?
4 Thank juliamould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston ma
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2006

We stayed at the Cape Codder for one night on our way to another location on the Cape.

Our young children cooled off in the pool after a long drive. They enjoyed the wave pool.The hotel offers many activities for children. Our kids had their faces painted, swam, went to the (nightly) bonfire and roasted marshmallows. They were also very excited about the small game room near the pool.

The staff was courteous and helpful. We did not use the restaurant on site., and the concierge was helpful and gave us some restaurant recommendations and a map, The decor was so-so but the room and bathroom were very clean. Some peeling paint on the exterior of the building, but very nice plantings outside. No exterior pool. The Cape Codder is on a very busy road - Rte 132, but is set back a bit..

Our children were very happy here, but if on our own or on an extended trip, we would go elsewhere. I would upgrade the hotel and stay in a less busy area.

  • Liked — kid friendly
  • Disliked — location, tired decor in hallways, room
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank redi4sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2006

I was worried after reading the previous reviews, but we had a wonderful time! I found the staff to be extremely helpful and polite, from the housekeeping staff to the lady in the gift shop. Our room was very nice and clean. The kids loved the wave pool, water slides, game room, bonfire, and entertainment in the evenings. This is a family resort; I would probably stay elsewhere if I did not have young kids with me. Overall, I found the atmosphere very relaxing and comfortable. My only complaint might be the restaurant food, it was very convenient, but just average.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Holly65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgian Bay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2006

While staying on Cape Cod recently, we had dinner with 4 British friends (all of whom were staying at the resort) at the Grand Cru Bistro. It was a Saturday night but not all that busy. It is a wine bar. We ordered, in sequence, four different bottles of wine, none of which seemed to be available. We finally settled on some French Beaujolais - which we all drink frequently - and when the first bit was poured it fizzed in the glass. Upon tasting it, it was definitely "off" and we sent it back. Another bottle was brought, and the same thing occurred again. This time we asked, very politely, to see the sommelier (it is a wine bar, right?). Jay arrived at our table full of hauty, outraged arrogance and informed us that the wine was fine, that the problem was with "our taste", that we didn't know any better, and what could we expect from a cheap bottle of wine. I should add that this was almost $40, but not $70 like everything else. Cheap??? I will point out at this time that we are an international collection of well-travelled 60+ wine enthusiasts, who know something about it and all have substantial cellars in our homes. The story goes on with our trying - again very politely - to find something drinkable when our meals arrived. As a final insult, these were cold, overcooked, possibly re-heated conglomerations, supposedly because they had been peviously frozen or so the waitress said and my husband sent his back. He requested that he speak with the chef and was told he had left for the evening. So who cooked? And isn't he supposed to be on site until the end of meal service? Clearly my husband was not going to be able to get anything more and went hungry. Again, Jay appeared and not only made no attempt to apologize or placate, instead told us we were lucky to not be charged for all the returned wine as well as the inedible dinner. Never, anywhere has any of us been treated so appallingly by anyone in the hospitality industry, and this establishment needs to do some housecleaning! Eat at the Old Yarmouth Inn in Yarmouth Port instead - lovely fresh properly prepared ingredients, great service, beautiful atmosphere and half the price.

Helpful?
5 Thank Waters Edge.Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2006

Spent two nights and my kids thought it was nice. Children under 13 should enjoy it. If they are older I would look elsewhere. The wave pool was good for an hour and then the kids wanted to move on. The rooms have paper thin walls and you can hear EVERY sound from the neighbors. We opted to spend extra for the fireplace room. What a mistake. The fireplace was fake and had two small sterno cans in it that you light to create the flames. Police cars patrol the parking lot every 30 minutes or so. I don't know if that is just good security or if they have had problems in the past. I made sure to leave nothing of value in the car overnight. I would not visit again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SlinkDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2006

We had a girls weekend (my friend and I and our daughters, ages 12 and 1.5) at the end of March/beginning of April). We had a ball! We stayed in adjoining fireplaced Cape Codder rooms - they both had 2 queen beds and a fireplace (which was a mantle, a fake log and 2 big sterno cans), and altho they were really just nicely furnished hotel rooms, it was really very nice - even the sterno fireplace. The wave pool and the slides were a blast, and we treated ourselves to massages in the spa, which were also great. The restaurants are good and the whole place is very family oriented. The fitness room was very well-equipped and not busy at all. I'd definitely come back here, the staff was friendly and helpful and our rooms were very clean.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank bethch62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyannis
15.0 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
3.1 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,224 reviews
5.9 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,081 reviews
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Codder Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Codder Resort & Spa

Property: Cape Codder Resort & Spa
Address: 1225 Iyannough Rd, Route 132 & Bearse's Way, Hyannis, MA 02601-1832
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hyannis
#5 Family Hotel in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Codder Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Codder Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Codder Resort And Spa
Cape Codder Hotel Hyannis
Cape Codder Resort & Spa Hyannis, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing