We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Children friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Codder Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
GreenLeadersSilver level
CT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Children friendly”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were pleased with our stay. Very family-oriented! They had movies for kids every night along with a bonfire where you could roast marshmallows(purchased for $5 at the Hearth and Kettle restaurant attached to the hotel). They had a calendar full of family activities for every day of the week and a DJ on mon and thurs nights at the bonfire. They give you vouchers towards your meals at the H&K. The wave pool is fun but I did find rusty décor at the pirate ship toward the back of the pool. The outdoor pool is nice but I think it is small for the size of the resort and only half of the poolside is in the sun.
We stayed in the 100 block and it did not have an elevator(one of the original buildings I think). The beds are pillow top, comfy - but the pillows were not firm! I'll recommend you use the map they give you because the resort is spread out. The Hearth and Kettle restaurant is conveniently attached but the food is only good, not fantastic. The staff was very friendly at the front desk, concierge desk, spa and restaurant!

Room Tip: Make sure you tell the hotel you need a room near an elevator if you need to use one or you'll b...
See more room tips
Green Features: They leave a sign about reusing linen but every day we found new towels even though we didn't leave used on the floor like the sign indicated
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kumonkeymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    395
    222
    95
    95
See reviews for
661
235
13
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Had a great time staying at the Cape Codder in July. Staff was very friendly and rooms were great! Kids enjoyed the pools, slides and all the activities going on during the day. Convenient location to visit many parts of the Cape. Food and service at the restaurants were excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Cape Codder for 5 nights as a base for exploring the Cape. Having read mixed reviews I was slightly concerned about what we might find but decided to take a chance, given the very reasonable rate for two adults and three children.
This is my honest take on this resort:
It's not what you would call luxurious but it doesn't sell itself as luxury accommodation. Rooms are clean and spacious and some aspects are a little tired but nothing to overly concern you.
The staff are friendly and attentive- we had only good experiences of the service here. Of special note is Megan who waitresses on The Deck and Iris who ran the organised children's activities. They were both excellent.
If you are travelling with children, this is where the Cape Codder really comes in its own. There are so many organised activities throughout the day, along with use of two pools and slides. When you return from a busy morning of sightseeing, the freedom these facilities offer children is very welcome. Our children loved all the activities, from bingo to the reptile show!
We ate at The Deck each evening. For myself and my husband, this was possibly the best feature of the Cape Codder. Lit with fairy lights in the trees and candles around the paths and offering live, easy listening music most evenings, The Deck gave that perfect, relaxed holiday experience. The food is good and guests are given money off vouchers at check in, making it fairly reasonably priced.
Overall, if you're looking for a central base to explore Cape Cod, which offers unpretentious family fun at good value- this is the place for you. We had a great time and our children loved it... that is what holidays are all about. Just be realistic- this is a 3 star resort, if you want luxury, pay the premium at one of the higher end resorts.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smiths2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tolland, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I brought my two daughters and two granddaughter's for two nights in July 2013 and June 2012. We had a wonderful time both times. The staff was helpful from the front desk, concierge, cleaning, restaurant, etc...each visit. With a two and three-year old we had a memorable time and were able to relax. They loved the pools and craft time and I felt they accomodated children very well. We were unable to open our slider due to the fact it had direct access to the outdoor pool. Would have been a bit better to have been able to sit outside with the children and have access to our room, but considering safety with the little ones it worked out well. I have a daughter with celiac disease and the restaurant took care of her needs and produced wonderful choices for her. Thank you for the two years of special memories for a grateful mom/grandma. See you again next year!

Room Tip: Rooms on 1st floor facing outdoor pool do not have working sliders for safety for direct pool access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ama2421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
195 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was in Hyannis for a company Leadership Retreat and stayed at this hotel for one night. First, there was not even eye contact inteded from the receptionist during check in. We needed to come back to the reception to request another room since ours was very, very musty. The next room was good, facing the pool but noise was not an issue until next morning with the loud pool service guys.

The evening of our arrival we did not turn on the air because we were out sightseeing soon after we checked in and then went out for a group dinner and came back on or around 11pm to an extremely hot room. We talked to the front desk and were told that there was no maintenance for the night and we needed to wait until after 7am next day. Moving us to another room was not an option. We spent the entire night practicly awake and just hoping it was 7AM soon. At 7AM we went back to the reception and we were told that someone would be there soon, which was past 8AM. The AC tech came in, checked the unit, left and came back to take it apart in order to make it work.

We left the hotel very unhappy to say the least.

I wanted to have this conversation with the GM, Mr. [--] directly, emailed and phoned him on July 18th, no response to my email and his assistant responded to my phone message saying that it would take Mr. [--] a long time before he was able to respond to my messages. I guess she was very right because I have not heard back from him.

No customer should spend a night without sleeping, sweating at your hotel with no rest and having to do business the next day. it not acceptable to hear that you do not have an employee on shift for the night as were told.

Mr. [--] No need to return my phone call or email.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CitizenoftheAir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at the Cape Codder Resort and very much enjoyed our stay. The rooms were spacious and clean, with a terrace overlooking the courtyard area. There are plenty of options available for entertainment if you choose to stay on property. The outdoor pool was very nice, although a little crowded on the day we went. The indoor wave pool is more geared toward smaller children, so our 2 teenagers did not really enjoy going there. The fitness room suited our needs perfectly. We enjoyed having drinks in the wine bar -- the bartender was very friendly. I would definitely recommend this resort to friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sriv726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilbraham, MA
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2013

From all the good reviews of this hotel,I expected far more, especially for the steep price.Our room was clean and slightly above average in size, but the bathroom was extremely small.We were thankful that the mattresses were comfortable (bed linens, however, don't fit the new thicker mattresses). This hotel definitely appeals to couples with young children, not older couples. Overall, the hotel needs updating - at least the parts that we saw....a tear in a hall rug, rust on metal doors, peeling wallpaper in the halls and in our room, rust on the piping to the toilet, rust on some of the fixtures in the tub, etc. There also was no motorized fan in the bathroom to take the steam out when taking a shower; mirror was completely fogged up; had to use hair dryer to clear it up. Because the bathroom was so small, the bathroom vanity had no drawers or storage space, so every day you had to bring your toilette articles into the bathroom and afterward, store them in the bureau drawers. The lighting in the room was very inadequate, but typical of many hotels, including more upscale ones. The lighting in the bathroom wasn't very good for putting on makeup or styling your hair. The toilet was so low it was very difficult to get up; even my husband needed to pull himself up by holding onto the vanity counter. Don't know if the water pressure in the area is poor or if a water restrictor was put on the bathroom sink. It took forever to rinse out a washcloth or to rinse your hands. The entrance door to our room didn't open easily. The lever had to be pushed down a certain way or you couldn't open it. If there was an emergency, you would lose precious time getting out. The sliding door to the courtyard was extremely hard to open and close and the locking mechanism didn't work.(signs of neglect and lack of routine maintenance). There's outdoor nightly music from a small band from 7 - 9 p.m. in the courtyard, but I'm sure those with infants didn't appreciate the noise. Our room was quite far removed from it, and we had to listen to bass tones throbbing, thrumming every evening of our week's stay. The staff at the desk were friendly and helpful, but the maid service for bathroom linens was hit or miss. Some days we'd get only one washcloth or one hand towel. The wall-mounted air conditioner would run for two minutes about every 10 minutes.. Because it didn't remove the humidity in the air, we'd wake up at night sweating. The week we were there the temperatures were in the 90s and it was very humid. The other thing that irked us was the $2.12/day "resort fee", which covers the pools, the outdated fitness center, BONFIRE, entertainment and local and long-distance calls. Never before have we paid extra for a pool, fitness center or entertainment. These costs are usually factored into the room rates. Guests don't like being "nickeled and dimed". Most hotels include free local phone calls and many guests use their cellphones to make toll calls.

Room Tip: Have heard that some sections of the hotel have been renovated. Ask for a newly-renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyannis
15.0 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
2.4 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,064 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
5.9 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
245 reviews
5.3 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Codder Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Codder Resort & Spa

Property: Cape Codder Resort & Spa
Address: 1225 Iyannough Rd, Route 132 & Bearse's Way, Hyannis, MA 02601-1832
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hyannis
#5 Family Hotel in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Codder Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Codder Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Codder Resort And Spa
Cape Codder Hotel Hyannis
Cape Codder Resort & Spa Hyannis, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing