We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Anchor In hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Anchor In Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anchor In Hotel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
Rochdale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved the Anchor In hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2007

We stayed at the Anchor In for 1O DAYS. We were pariculary impressed at the high level of care demonstrated by all the staff. The room was lovely and cleaned to a very high level. Staff were very helpful. The complimentary breakfast was very adequate .The pool was spotleesly clean and obviously well maintained. Its location to restaurants made the Anchor in ideally situated. We can only speak very highly of this hotel.We would like to thank all the staff especially Chris for making our stay in Cape Cod such a wonderful one.

  • Liked — Great location and fabulous quality of care .
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank james085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    704
    267
    49
    12
    4
See reviews for
240
534
34
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2007

My husband, teenage daughter and I stayed at the Achor Inn for four days, and we loved it. The hotel is in an excellent location; close enough to walk to the beach, dock, shops and restaurants, yet far enough down the street to avoid the crowds, noise and traffic. The hotel was nice and quiet, very clean, nice pool, and terrific view. Our hotel room had comfortable mattresses, and a great t.v. We drove around the Cape to explore, but just enjoyed relaxing at the hotel. The continental breakfast was nice, since my husband and I could get something to eat while our daughter slept in. Also, compared to the prices of many other places, this hotel was an excellent deal. We saw many cheap looking motels all over Hyannis. We were very happy with our selection. Lastly, the hotel staff was very helpful with recommendations, etc. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kealoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2007

I stayed here in Sept 2005 having found it via the internet. It is in a great location overlooking the harbour and it is possible to walk a short distance to several restaurants. Many more a short drive. The room standards are high, the staff helpful and there is plenty of car park space. Breakfast was simple but adequate. A small pool and sun bathing area make this an ideal choice if you want to have a day or two resting.
Boats to Nantucket and Marthas Vineyard are also a short walk away.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sucal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2007

This was my first time to the cape. I thoroughly enjoyed myself at the Anchor inn. Chris and Sandy from the front desk were very helpful and courteous. The sunsets and views of the marina were awesome .I enjoyed kayaking on the river .The staff recommendations for dinner and lunch were insightful and right on target. Joy from the pool was very nice. I enjoyed being able to walk into the town of Hyannis to shop and eat .I also loved the continental breakfast and the unlimited java in the morning. I hope that the next time I'm on the cape and your inn is full that the next place I stumble upon can live up to your standards. If you’re looking for a place to relax and enjoy yourself, this is the place. I can’t wait to come back in the fall and see a flooded cranberry bog .

Helpful?
2 Thank Travelinthru_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2007

After 5 nights in New York and 4 in Boston, we needed to wind down before returning from New England to Old England! We chose Hyannis in Cape Cod and stayed at the Anchor In for 4 nights. This was a Trip Advisor recommendation and we are glad that we did! The staff were very welcoming and the hotel was clean. It had a great location right next to the harbour at Hyannis. A light breakfast was included and this could be taken in an indoor area overlooking the pool and harbour or alternatively in the room. The breakfast was not exceptional but was fine for us at that stage of our holiday – the usual juices, coffee, muffins, cereal, bagels etc. Some other Trip Advisor contributors warn about a Hospital next door. In truth, it did catch our eye when we first arrived but was not visible to us after that nor did it create any noise. The heated pool overlooks Hyannis harbour and enjoys a decked area. It is very easy to relax there overlooking the boats leaving and arriving from Nantucket and Martha’s Vineyard. Our room was called the Hyannis Room. It had a wrap-around balcony overlooking the harbour and the pool. It was a great place to relax and we used it alot. I think the room had been recently renovated. It felt fresh and had modern fittings. It was not cheap though! Be warned, the rooms do differ in style, size, outlook and price. You need to be careful that the room that you select meets your needs in full as the Hyannis Room did for us. As for Hyannis, it was a laid back town with a reasonable Main Street. There was a small park area where they held different events every night such as an outdoor movie for the kids, live music for the elders etc. These were well frequented and enjoyable. Without being anything out of the ordinary, Hyannis had a relaxed atmosphere and is a good base in the Cape Cod area. We would return to Hyannis and the Anchor In. In fact, we would have probably benefited from a few more days there!

  • Liked — View from bedroom
  • Disliked — Dificult this but a 5 minutes walk from Main Street!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank p-m1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2007

Had a great time in Hyannis, spent 4 nights at the Anchor in with my girlfriend and could of stayed longer if it wasn't for the flight home. The Anchor in is in a great location with good free private parking. The rooms have been renovated to a high standard, very clean and comfortable, our balcony looked over the pool and harbor and as we were there over July 4th this was a good position to see all the fireworks celebrations over the waterfront. The Inn is just a 5 minute walk from the ferries where you can go over to Nantucket island and Martha’s Vineyard, which i would highly recommend. Main street is also only a very short walk away, wheres there's plenty of restaurants and shops. The staff were very helpful with any questions i had about the area and attractions. I've stayed in a lot of big well known hotels but this little inn would give them a good run for their money .

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — air conditioning unit in room maybe a little louder then it should be
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank richardintheUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2007

We had really high hopes of our stay in Hyannis at the Anchor Inn. So much so that we booked an extra night. However it let us down a bit.

Firstly the good parts - the staff were very helpful, the view was lovely, the deck was huge and the pool was enjoyed by the children.

The bad - The worst part was that the room smelt of sick. Over the two days the smell never went away and just hung on in the background. The room was very dated - it appears some have been re-furbished based on other comments, but ours certainly wasn't. The decor was old and the bathroom was dirty with plaster falling off. For the price paid we would have expected better.

The beds were also pretty awful - very uncomfortbale and the sofa bed for our third child couldn't be slept on. We ended up putting the mattress on the floor as this was more comfortable. I tried to mention this in passing when paying and was roundly ignored.

Such a shame as the view is better than elsewhere in Hynannis.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RichardCDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyannis
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
1.0 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
0.4 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#3 of 22 in Hyannis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
14.2 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
15.3 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor In Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor In Hotel

Property: Anchor In Hotel
Address: 1 South St, On Hyannis Harbor, Hyannis, MA 02601-3130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Business Hotel in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor In Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Distinctively located in Hyannis, the "Homeport of Cape Cod". Walk to Bayview Beach, ferries to Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard, waterfront restaurants, Harbor cruises to Hyannisport and the Kennedy compound, Main Streets diverse variety of shops, restaurants, gift stores, festivals, Cape Cod Train, and the Kennedy Museum. Within a short drive you will find Whale Watching, golf, historic Rte 6a, summer theatre, bike trails, world-class Cape Cod beaches including the Cape Cod National Seashore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Anchor In Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor In Hyannis
Hotel Anchor In
Anchor In Hotel Hyannis, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing