We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anchor in great”
Review of Anchor In Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anchor In Hotel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2008

Stayed at the anchor in with my husband and two sons.
The location was great and you looked out to the harbour where ever you were in the motel.
Room was clean and the complimentary breakfast was great.
the staff were friendly enough without overdoing it.
I did not have a laptop with me and the hotel let my son use theirs to chat to his friends and check the football scores.
they welcome every guest by putting up a flag on the deck.
the pool was great and opened till eight at night so was used after a day of sight seeing.
Cape cod is beautiful and Hyannis great.
we ate in many of the resaurants my favourite was spankys and the irish pub my worse by far was baxters(steer clear) staff were unfriendly and the food just bad.
We went to Province town on carnival day Great!!!
Anchor in was a great base to stay and had that little bit extra, nice staff, clean attractive rooms and a great view fof the harbour.
A must is Whale watching from Barnstable it was amazing.
Sitting having your breakfast watching the ferry, boats and the duck tour(take it it is an experience) was lovely.
I hope to go back to Cape cod and yes i would stay at the Anchor in again.
A must for all travellers is whale watching ifrom Barnstable it was amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sillyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

977 - 983 of 1,148 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2008

We stayed here in the West wing Deluxe room in early August -my husband and I with our two children(ages 2 and 5). We loved it! Our room was recently renovated and everything was spotless(very important to me , especially with a 2 year old playing on the floor). The bathroom was super clean. Our sink and mirror were separate from the toilet/shower, which was nice. There were robes provided for our use, as well as a mini fridge. We also had a DVD player and flat screen TV. Our sliders looked right out onto the fenced in pool. Towels were provided and there were many nice lounge chairs and tables by the pool. The staff were friendly and they have menus and many brochures, etc in the lobby which were helpful. The continental breakfast was more than I expected--It is self service , but they had many choices. There were bagels , toast (also, cream cheese, peanut butter , jelly ) choices of cereals , oatmeal, granola, fresh fruit, and fresh vanilla yogurt. Coffee, tea, milk and juice as well. Something for everyone!
The location was fantastic--it was fun watching the boats come in every day . It is right across from the hospital and it was not noisy at all. You can walk to restaurants on the harbor, and a few blocks away there is parking behind the JFK museum to enjoy Main Street . You could walk to Main st too , but we had a stroller and we did find it not so well lit to walk at night so we drove to Main street. Parking was free , and there was traffic even going only a few blocks at dinnertime , but still took only about 10-15 min. It was worth the price to be able to get back to a clean room in a convenient location, and we enjoyed access to the pool. We will be staying again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2008

We loved our stay at the Anchor In at the end of a busy holiday in the USA. The hotel was in a superb location and we were able to check in early. Our room was spotlessly clean and had lovely views. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and the tea and coffee available all day in the library, which was a nice place to chat with other guests and relax.
It was a pleasant stroll to the harbour and town centre where we found some great places to eat.( We used the hotel`s selection of menus to help us decide!)
Although quite pricey, we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David-Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2008

We stayed August 23-26, 2008 and the place is great! The rooms have been recently updated and have all you need for a pleasant stay. I was celebrating a birthday and there was a complimentary bottle of wine with birthday greetings & wine glasses upon our arrival. How thoughtful! The set up is geared to give you a nice view where ever your room is. The pool nice and clean with pool towels available. There is a nice continental breakfast and coffee, tea and such available until 11 PM. The Anchor-In is located that you could walk to many places but we decided to drive and park behind the Town Hall and walk every where from there. Another nice feature is the availability of local menus in the motel lobby. You won't be disappointed staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank karenjob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2008

Our 1 night stay-over at the Anchor In was OK (nothing special). Here is my assessment:

Pros:
* Convenient to ferry, which we were taking the next day to Nantucket.
* Clean Room
* Convenient to the harbor and within walking distance to a couple restaurants.

Cons:
* Our room was non-descript and dark with minimal windows/outside light.
* Bed was not comfortable. In fact, our room had two double beds, which was not ideal.

Breakfast was crowded and mainly consisted of bagels, cereal and coffee. If you are looking for an average motel room this may be the place for you. However, based on the reviews I was expecting a little more. There is nothing that really stood out to me about this property and I’m glad that we only had one night to stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fletch608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2008

Stayed a week in the Deluxe King room. Check in was quick, staff was friendly. Room was spacious and relatively clean (found a peanut and potato chip under furniture by the bed). The shower/tub was huge with both a shower head and a hand held shower head. The room smelled musty and old when the air conditioner was running. Since we had sliding doors with a screen, we opted to keep the patio door open which alleviated the smell. The patio was a nice sitting area with two chairs and table which gave a nice view of the pool and the harbor. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast area had many seats and tables in the area. The breakfast consisted of bagels, muffins, bread, fruit, and cereal.

Overall, the atmosphere was perfect! It was great being right on the harbor. This location is a short walking distance to Main st. and the ferries for Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket. I definitely would stay at this location again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TheDBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2008

We do not normally stay at small inns as I need the facilities for handicapped visitors.

However, we did get the one deluxe room they had to suit me and but for one really important item, it fulfilled its promise.

There is a reserved car space (must have a Handicap Licence) near the entrance to the wing and the room is the first near the door. A very large double bed and room to move and turn around. The bathroom was large too, with a bathtub and attached shower with a large ledge to sit on at the back. The basin had lever handles. Sufficient grab rails too. The toilet, however, was far, far too low, and we located a medical supplies company 10 minutes away and bought a raised seat.

The small pool is up steps and not accessible for wheelchairs. Breakfast was available on the enclosed terrace as there was a step into the breakfast room.

Altogether, a very nice stay for 4 days, and when we left, we gave the helpful manager 2 or 3 tips on making the room more handicap friendly (such as the toilet seat and a couple of extra grab rails etc.) I think he will get the seat, but check if it would be a problem without it.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyannis
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
1 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,275 reviews
16.8 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
#10 of 22 in Hyannis
65 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cape Cod Hyannis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor In Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor In Hotel

Address: 1 South St, On Hyannis Harbor, Hyannis, MA 02601-3130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Family Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Business Hotel in Hyannis
Price Range: $106 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor In Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Distinctively located in Hyannis, the "Homeport of Cape Cod". Walk to Bayview Beach, ferries to Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard, waterfront restaurants, Harbor cruises to Hyannisport and the Kennedy compound, Main Streets diverse variety of shops, restaurants, gift stores, festivals, Cape Cod Train, and the Kennedy Museum. Within a short drive you will find Whale Watching, golf, historic Rte 6a, summer theatre, bike trails, world-class Cape Cod beaches including the Cape Cod National Seashore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Anchor In Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor In Hyannis
Hotel Anchor In
Anchor In Hotel Hyannis, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing