We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views”
Review of Anchor In Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anchor In Hotel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2008

We stayed one night at this hotel based on reviews from trip advisor and we weren't disappointed. The hotel has views over the harbour and our room had a lovely deck area where you could sit and watch the boats go by. We paid for a deluxe room and we noticed that some rooms have decks which are sideways to the harbour. The hotel has plenty of parking and the staff on reception were very knowledgeable about the local area. It is easy to walk to Main Street where all the shops are or walk to the ferries and boat trips. The room had two double beds, bathroom and seating area so there was plenty of space for the two of us. Everything was clean and well maintained. The hotel has a lovely lounge area overlooking the swimming pool and harbour where you can get complimentary tea and coffee which you can either take to your room or enjoy in the lounge. That was a real bonus for us English travellers! On our night there we weren't disturbed by any noise and slept well. The hotel also provides a complimentary continental breakfast which gave plenty of choice - cereals, muffins, bagels, toast etc which again you can take to your room or eat on the terrace overlooking the pool. We didn't have time to use the pool while we were there, but were told it is heated. Some parts of the Cape are very touristy but this hotel was lovely and we would definitely stay there again when we next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsMessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

984 - 990 of 1,148 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2008

It's been a couple of weeks since we returned from our wonderful trip to the Anchor In. I'm missing it as much today as I was the moment we checked out. What a delightfully comfortable, friendly, lovely motel, with an equally as delightful and friendly staff! From the moment we arrived, we loved everything about it. Each day that we stayed, it felt more like home. Traveling with two teenagers can be a challenge, yet they loved it just as much. The breakfast each morning was fresh and tasty and reminded us of finer inns in Europe. We were greeted throughout our stay by smiling staff and a cheerful "hello" with friendly and personal suggestions for restaurants. A special shoutout and thanks to Jay for his many recommendations and treating us just like friends. If I'm to be perfectly honest, I must admit that I thought our room was a bit overpriced even with it's generous size and lovely location. The a/c unit blew directly on the bed & made sleeping a bit uncomfortable for my husband who slept right next to it. But an extra blanket (and maybe an extra glass of wine while sitting on the lovely balcony!) seemed to do the trick. Believe everything wonderful that you read about this place. Even with all of our travels throughout Europe and the U.S., the Anchor In takes the top spot for favorites. You'll love the personal attention, the location and the view. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2008

We stayed at the Anchor In with our two children aged 7 and 9 for 6 nights towards the end of July. We loved this hotel - beautiful bedrooms, newly refurbished and so very clean. The beds were luxurious with crisp cotton sheets. The rooms must have pretty good sound insulation because we didnt hear a sound from the neighbouring bedrooms, even though the hotel was fully booked all during our stay.
Breakfast was really good. Considering it's complimentary, it was very generous indeed, - a full selection of fresh and dried fruit, juices, cereals, muffins and breads, all regularly replenished .
The library room was a open all day with tea and coffee available for self service. Its a great spot to relax and chat with other guests at the end of the day.
The hotel gets a good mix of US and international guests, and a good mix of families, couples, and groups.
We found Hyannis to be a convenient base for touring the Cape. Our favourite small town was Yarmouth. Hyannis is great for eating out at night, - very good restaurants along Main street.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PippaDublin84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2008

We stayed at the Anchor In at the recommendation of tripadvisor.com. We were absolutely thrilled with the hotel, property, and location.

It's no shock - high season in the Cape can be a pain. It's touristy and expensive. However, the Anchor In was an absolute gem! When we arrived (very early), our room was not yet ready. The front desk gave us directions to a beach, and later called us on my mobile phone when the room was ready. It was an extra touch - definitely an "above and beyond". Once we arrived back at the hotel, check in was prompt and efficient. There were three adults in our room - and the room was plenty big. We had our own space, and were not tripping over each other trying to move about. The room was tastefully decorated, and extremely clean. We had a room right off of the pool, which I thought would be a bit loud, but it wasn't. It was convenient to walk out on to our patio, right to the pool. Plus, the view of the harbor was beautiful.

Breakfast at the hotel was amazing. A wonderful selection of muffins, bagels, cereal, yogurt, fruit, etc...served in a very quaint and charming area. The lady tending to the kitchen area reminded me of Martha Stewart, and the decor and food were something you'd expect if you were dining at her home.

Overall, the Anchor In was a wonderful experience. I would highly recommend the hotel to other travelers. I would also be more than happy to discuss my experience with other visitors to Hyannis.

One other thing to note: the hotel was wheelchair friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank StacySki_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2008

Lovely hotel, tastefully decorated, great location, lovely breakfast, nice staff, lots of free parking!

We stayed at the Anchor In for a week in July 2008 and really enjoyed it. We chose a room with a King Size bed and a balcony, it was very clean and tastefully decorated and had nice views of the pool and the harbour. Breakfasts were really tasty with lots of choice.

The hotel itself is only a 5-10 minute walk from the restaurants in Hyannis, so it is a big plus that you don't have to drive to enjoy a night out (however, there is ample free parking at the hotel).

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JPJPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2008

A friend and I recently visited Cape Cod and chose to stay at the Anchor In based on Tripadvisor recommendations and it's close proximity to the ferry. What a great place! The staff were very helpful, the breakfast was perfect for starting the day. with lots of baked items, cereal, yogurt and fresh fruit. Our room was wonderful with a charming little patio area looking out to the pool and dock. Though the price was high (isn't everything in the Cape area?), we were very pleased. The room was immaculate and recently renovated, complete with a small refrigerator and DVD player. Everything looked fresh and bright. The hotel is within walking distance of all the shops and restaurants on Main Street as well as the ferry to Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MALLIS03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2008

The Anchor In was a stopover for us on our trip to Nantucket. The staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful and breakfast exceeded expectations, with a unlimited selection of fruit, bagels, muffins and more.

The hotel had been recently tastefully decorated, and the room was clean and spacious and had all the required amenities, even a DVD player. The pool was an added bonus, with towels being provided, and the relaxed atmosphere within the hotel added to a pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Mastersons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyannis
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
1 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,276 reviews
16.8 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
#10 of 22 in Hyannis
65 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cape Cod Hyannis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor In Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor In Hotel

Address: 1 South St, On Hyannis Harbor, Hyannis, MA 02601-3130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Business Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Family Hotel in Hyannis
Price Range: $107 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor In Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Distinctively located in Hyannis, the "Homeport of Cape Cod". Walk to Bayview Beach, ferries to Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard, waterfront restaurants, Harbor cruises to Hyannisport and the Kennedy compound, Main Streets diverse variety of shops, restaurants, gift stores, festivals, Cape Cod Train, and the Kennedy Museum. Within a short drive you will find Whale Watching, golf, historic Rte 6a, summer theatre, bike trails, world-class Cape Cod beaches including the Cape Cod National Seashore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Anchor In Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor In Hyannis
Hotel Anchor In
Anchor In Hotel Hyannis, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing