We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Second stay ! Love it !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anchor In Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anchor In Hotel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Second stay ! Love it !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for second time this year on a two week trip to the USA. Fab location. Room overlooked harbour . Great view to wake up to. Staff friendly. Breakfast was great. Lots of choice and nice lounge to sit in. Very well located for Main st Hyannis. Pool is one of the warmest I have swam in. Well done Anchor In ... Hope to be back !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newyorkgal72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    261
    46
    12
    4
See reviews for
233
509
30
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

My husband and I had a two day getaway for his Halloween birthday. No candy or trick or treaters for us this year. While on the Cape this summer we passed the Anchor In many times without knowing it. It is nothing special from the street view but surprisingly lovely inside.
The rooms are well appointed, (relatively recently refurbished I would guess), the breakfast is more than ample for a continental breakfast (they did have cold cuts for you meat cravers) with fresh muffins, fruit, yogurt, granola, etc. Coffee and tea all day and lots of cozy, water viewed chairs to sit and read in.
The room we booked was good (jacuzzi in room!) but it was on the lower level and my husband had a yen for a terrace, so Francis was very nice and switched us to a different room that had a terrace. It was supposed to be slightly more money but Francis gave it to us for the same rate -- Thank you Francis.
In addition, the management left a little bottle of champagne and two glasses for us (For my Husband's birthday).
The Cape has great bike paths and that is what we did when we were not being couch potatoes in our hotel room. It was a lovely get a way.

Room Tip: There are parking lots in the back of the hotel between you and the water, so look at the views of e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gailandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

A friend and I stayed here in October and were very impressed with both the amenities and the service provided. The gentleman on reception could not have been more helpful and every other member of staff also went out of their way to be pleasant and as helpful as could be. The flower beds along the pathways and around the reception area were beautiful and the pool and lounge areas were well appointed and clean. The books and games provided were also a nice touch.Also the location proved to be perfect for us with walkable restaurants and an easy stroll down to the ferry. The parting gift of bottled water and salt water taffy encapsulates the level of thoughtfulness in the service here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaliaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

This HAS to be one of the best hotels (or IN!) that we have ever stayed at. The staff were so nice, the rooms sooooo comfortable and welcoming even with complimentary tea/coffee or hot chocolate etc. Complimentary breakfast is also included. Our room in the east Wing was a deluxe room with balcony or dock as they call it. The views were spectacular down to the bay, sitting on the dock watching the ships go by ( you could start singing songs about it!) was an afternoon must. In the evening the In had a fire pit so guests could sit outside with some heat if required. what was so nice that the In had 4 flagpoles and they flew the country flags of the guests who were from that day. This is an old sailing tradition for ships going into port and it makes you feel that bit more welcome and cared for. No lunch or evening meals are served but there are plenty of places round about. Even although we stayed at the end of the season when a lot of places had shut there were still plenty of choice. f you just wanted basic snacks ( crisps etc or cans of pepsi) then the hotel had a couple of vending machines. Bed linen and towels were changed daily unless you put the card provided on your bed to say not to change things.
This was also superb value for money. The desk staff will also help you with tour bookings or car hire etc. we stayed for 2 nights while we took a trip over to Martha's Vineyard. we would go back in a minute!!!

Room Tip: if you can afford a suite or deluxe room go for it! The West wing rooms get early light on the balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank intipusscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pointe-Claire
Level Contributor
216 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel is very well located in the center of Hyannis... rooms were clean, all facing the harbour ... they light up the fire pit every night... breakfast included - cold buffet with a fair choice of delicous selection of fresh food. Lovely closed-in sunny veranda where you can eat your breakfast overlooking the harbour..
Staff was great, friendly and helpful...
cons: room decor is a bit outdated color and patterns from the 90 ; a bit of a moldy odor but otherwise clean
what a great sunday morning waking up at the sound of the sterns and seagull !
we took a day trip to Nantuket using the regular ferry to get there, coming back on the express; very nice village - postcard picturesque!! we did the JFK Trail the next day and walk down the beach - we will return for sure next fall....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michel_josee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Very nice place with friendly staff. Nice location. Left a crib in our room for our baby. Good prices for off season too. Outdoor fire pit was great. Quiet and clean. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackiemw82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and found the whole experience very positive. The room (Barnstable Village) was beautifully clean and really lovely including a small kitchen and living area and large terrace overlooking the harbour. The staff gave helpful hints on the best things to do (advice on ferry travel to Martha's Vineyard) and on local restaurants (The Black Cat was a great recommendation just 5 mins walk). The breakfast/lounge area of the hotel is very nice although can be a little cramped if several guests all converge at the same time. This was a minor issue and certainly did not change our overall positive opinion on this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Barnstable Village is large, bright and comfortable with a lovely view of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyannis
0.3 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#3 of 22 in Hyannis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
1.0 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hyannis
Holiday Inn Hyannis
#7 of 22 in Hyannis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor In Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor In Hotel

Property: Anchor In Hotel
Address: 1 South St, On Hyannis Harbor, Hyannis, MA 02601-3130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Business Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Family Hotel in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor In Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Distinctively located in Hyannis, the "Homeport of Cape Cod". Walk to Bayview Beach, ferries to Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard, waterfront restaurants, Harbor cruises to Hyannisport and the Kennedy compound, Main Streets diverse variety of shops, restaurants, gift stores, festivals, Cape Cod Train, and the Kennedy Museum. Within a short drive you will find Whale Watching, golf, historic Rte 6a, summer theatre, bike trails, world-class Cape Cod beaches including the Cape Cod National Seashore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Anchor In Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor In Hyannis
Hotel Anchor In
Anchor In Hotel Hyannis, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing