We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Anchor In Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anchor In Hotel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
Akron, OH
Level Contributor
167 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed here for three days. The room was clean and nicely decorated but there seemed to be a bit too much furniture for the size of the room. In addition to two queen beds there was a sofa bed, chair, coffee table, end tables, desk, desk chair and large dresser which had the TV on top. Check-in was easy and quick and the people at the front desk were friendly when we came in contact with them which was only once or twice during our stay.

Since we were staying such a short time, we asked that housekeeping bypass our room. There was plenty of towels and we opted not to have the sheets changed every day. It seems like a waste of water and soap. A couple of things that would have been nice to have was a microwave and access to a national newspaper. They did have complimentary copies of the local paper. The small refrigerator was useful.

The water pressure was very good but we had the smallest bathroom ever. There was nowhere to put our toiletries and my cosmetics. We ended up taking the tissue holder and extra roll of toilet paper off the back of the toilet and used that space to put a few things. The rest went on the dresser in the bedroom.

The one big disappointment was the view from our room. I reserved a traditional room because it said "mix of limited views of the harbor". Well, our limited view was mostly the end of the east wing building. We were in the last room in the main building. I walked in and saw that and it ruined the whole stay for me. Limited is one thing but almost non-existent is another.

We went down to the fire pit one evening and it was a nice touch. We were able to enjoy a couple adult beverages after dinner.

Breakfast is nice if you don't care for eggs. We ate there the last day to save time but we had to rush around a bit to get there by 9:30. The other days we went into town to the Daily Paper. The one day we ate there we were able to snag a table even though it was very busy.

We'd probably think about staying here again but I'd certainly be sure we had a room with more of a view.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowbirdAkron_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorInHyannisowner, Owner at Anchor In Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations. You booked a Deluxe guest room on our website vs. a Traditional guest room. A confirmation letter was sent describing the Deluxe guest room with a sofa bed. The pictures posted as part of the review are from our one of a kind Deluxe guest room with a sofa bed. We do our very best to describe and display our guest rooms with multiple pictures and text. You will find far more than an average amount of room pictures and descriptive text on our website. We address the fact that some of the view from this room is blocked.

The text for the room copied from our website in the booking area where the reservation was made is >Main Building Deluxe Harbor View Double beds and Sofa Bed. Completely Renovated for 2011. Classic Cape Cod decor. Three panel sliding glass door leads to a spacious deck with a view of Hyannis Harbor from the room and the deck. Some view is blocked by the East Wing.<

The image posted #3 of 3 is taken from the far left of the deck and captures the least of the harbor. It’s not fair to say that the view is nonexistent.

We do our very best to meet or exceed expectations. It would have been our pleasure to address your disappointment with the view if you had just let us know right away. There was no need to let it ruin your stay.

It would be our pleasure to work with you from reservation to check out on your next visit to Cape Cod. We’ll look forward to it.

Sincerely
Lisa and Skip Simpson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    274
    49
    12
    4
See reviews for
246
553
34
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Anchor In is a gem. The front desk staff (Janet) was always very helpful, friendly and gracious. Our room was immaculate (thank you, Joy!) and stocked with whatever we requested (extra towels, soap...). We LOVED the daily, delicious (and beautiful) breakfast spread. Our family LOVED gathering each morning in the "den" to have breakfast and plan our day. In the evening, we often stopped there for tea, coffee or to play scrabble. Our room looked out over the pool and harbor...so beautiful. Parking was easy and always just outside the In's front door. Anchor In's location was ideal...it is within walking distance to the ferries, harbor and many restaurants. What a lovely place--with much attention to the details. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sgraves78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Nice hotel within a mile from Main Street, so you are not far from all the action, but also not right next to it. I will list the pros and cons:

Pros: Very clean room, very friendly people, always willing to help out. Gas fire pit was great, and they kept it open late for us a few nights (after midnight). There's a pool. Shower had great water pressure. Easy walk to Main Street or Ferries to the other islands. Excellent location. Great view of the harbor/boats.

Cons: Pool was very cold (outside temp was 82 pool was much colder), Continental breakfast ended at 9:30am...we never made it down to it once. No onsite food or drinks. Slightly dated feel to the room. There's a lack of lounge chairs on the pool deck..the one day it was warm and we could take advantage of the pool, there were no lounge chairs to sit on.

Overall I would recommend this place. I would suggest extending the breakfast til 11am for us late risers. If you stay here, pack a cooler so you can enjoy some drinks by the fire pit at night. It was great to meet people from all over the world sitting by the fire.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wilbr024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
235 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 220 which is on the harbor end second floor overlooking the harbor. Two comfortable Queen beds in a large room with a couch and easy chair as well as a desk. There is a small refrigerator in the room. Great Internet service at no charge and a very clean room. We stayed for two nights and enjoyed this hotel very much. The breakfast is minimal but sufficient. The staff was great. The room was cleaned and made up while we did a day trip to Nantucket and the second morning we were allowed a late checkout so we could shower after a morning walk. This room was a higher priced room than many other room choices but we considered it money well spent. We will choose this for our return trip to Hyannis.
Picture is from the room balcony.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank fishpicturesbybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
118 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We really liked this hotel, having stayed in the West Barnstaple room recently. It was a lovely big room with an amazing terrace overlooking the ocean - comfortable beds and very clean with a mini-kitchen with fridge for storing drinks, etc. Breakfasts were good and staff were all very friendly and helpful. Great for catching boat from nearby harbour to Nantucket (beautiful island). Also, can recommend Spanky's restaurant on the harbour - fantastic food, particularly lobster!

Room Tip: Private terrace was a real treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel was great if you wanted to be close to everything. This hotel is very close to Main Street and in walking distance to almost everything. However,there is no inside bar/restaurant, the continental breakfast was from 7-9:30(way to early), and the pool was freezing. At night, we went to the gas fire pit outside which was amazing. Hanging by the fire and talking to new people was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkojr625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorInHyannisowner, Owner at Anchor In Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. The overwhelming guest comments we receive from others guests also rave about our fabulous waterfront location coupled with it's convenience to almost everything...several one of a kind restaurants with a bar. Island Ferries, Harbor cruises, Main St. and Waterfront shopping. Guests really enjoy the variety of one of a kind, local seafood restaurants close by and then stroll back to the Anchor and enjoy the harbor in the evening from your deck or as you also mentioned by the new fire pit with guests from around the world. We are sorry you did not realize we do not have a restaurant but that your overall stay was positive. The weather has been perfect with warm weather. Our heated pool never gets below 82 degrees and has been in the high 80's for most of the last week.

We look forward to making your next visit to Cape Cod a most memorable one.

Sincerely
Lisa and Skip Simpson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Very nice motel with great views and clean, bright rooms! The continental breakfast was perfect and very relaxing. We usually go off season, but we're going back in August to see how we like staying there during "peak season".

Room Tip: All the rooms seem perfect with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyannis
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
1.0 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,205 reviews
0.4 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#3 of 22 in Hyannis
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
642 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor In Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor In Hotel

Property: Anchor In Hotel
Address: 1 South St, On Hyannis Harbor, Hyannis, MA 02601-3130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Business Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor In Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Distinctively located in Hyannis, the "Homeport of Cape Cod". Walk to Bayview Beach, ferries to Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard, waterfront restaurants, Harbor cruises to Hyannisport and the Kennedy compound, Main Streets diverse variety of shops, restaurants, gift stores, festivals, Cape Cod Train, and the Kennedy Museum. Within a short drive you will find Whale Watching, golf, historic Rte 6a, summer theatre, bike trails, world-class Cape Cod beaches including the Cape Cod National Seashore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Anchor In Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor In Hyannis
Hotel Anchor In
Anchor In Hotel Hyannis, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing