We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful view, great room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor In Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anchor In Hotel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, great room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We came the week before memorial day weekend and were happily surprised to find we had been upgraded to a really gorgeous room more like a hotel than an inn! Fantastic full view of harbor, we could watch the ferries leaving throughout the day, every room has a balcony, too with chairs and table. We also had a full kitchen, bed was very comfortable, room clean and many small touches i.e. towels folded in decorative shapes each day, lots of extra bath amenities (shaver, toothpaste/toothbrush, mouthwash, etc). Located perfectly for walking to the main street shops/restaurants and the wharf area (about 15 minutes) but the area around is safe and quiet. My one suggestion is don't expect much for breakfast, we stayed 6 days and every single day was the same: muffins, boiled eggs, bread, apples, oranges, bananas, plain yogurt in a communal bowl, strangely packaged slices of sandwich ham, cereal. Fine if you're only there a couple days. Overall I strongly recommend especially for the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SayuriDowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    245
    44
    12
    4
See reviews for
218
467
29
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Siasconset, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The outside of the Anchor Inn Hotel is typical unassuming New England... inside it is beautifully decorated, up to date, and totally charming. We spent a night there on the way to Nantucket, and wished we could stay longer. The room was spacious, clean, and lovely. Breakfast overlooking the Harbor was a wonderful way to start the day. the staff was welcoming and helpful. A great spot if you want to be on the water in Hyannis.

Room Tip: all have a nice view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sconsetsmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gray, Maine
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location on the harbor. The staff is incredibly friendly and go above and beyond. Room was clean, lovely, comfortable. We enjoyed not only our room but also the library, well stocked with books and games - we enjoyed a chilly evening of Scrabble. Would definitely return here and recommend to others!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hotel is very pretty inside the main house and the rooms ate extremely clean as is the rest of the property. 2 blocks from main street which houses restaurants and shops. Hotel is right on Hyannis harbor and every room has a view of the harbor. Just a really great experience. Staff is also extremely helpful and friendly. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We loved our stay here. The location is ideal. Close to the ferry and close to town. We walked everywhere. No need for a car. The staff was wonderful, helpful and knowledgable. We had a harbor view room which had lovely amenities. The only negatives were the lack of a full length mirror and we were not told when we made our reservations that the wing we stayed in did not have an elevator. While the building is only two stories, I could see where this would be an issue for someone who is physically challenged.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here two nights and very much enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean and bright, with a nice view of the harbor. The continental breakfast is awesome and the staff helpful and attentive. The only downside is the walls were thin and we could easily hear our neighbors talking and tv.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike22315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on a driving holiday around new England out of season in early April.
This was a superb place with ticks in all the boxes from check in to departure. The staff were exceptionally helpful offering great advice on what to see in the area , places to eat etc. The room was superb with its own deck a views over the harbor. Unfortunately we could not make full use of the deck as the weather was very cold. The room was very large with a great bed and bathroom facilities. It had a fridge and coffee making equipment. The complimentary breakfast was very good with an excellent attendant and complimentary drinks were on offer all day in the vistiors lounge/library. The property is exceptionally well maintained , clean , warm and comfortable. It was a pleasure to get back in the evening after a day's sightseeing. The location of the property is great being close to the harbor and the main street with the various musuems and eateries

Cannot recommend this place highly enough. If you need a great place to say on the Cod with a good price then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyannis
0.3 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#2 of 22 in Hyannis
5.0 of 5 stars 1,206 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
15.3 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 stars 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 1,096 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
#12 of 22 in Hyannis
3.0 of 5 stars 758 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor In Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor In Hotel

Property: Anchor In Hotel
Address: 1 South St, On Hyannis Harbor, Hyannis, MA 02601-3130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Business Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor In Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Distinctively located in Hyannis, the "Homeport of Cape Cod". Walk to Bayview Beach, ferries to Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard, waterfront restaurants, Harbor cruises to Hyannisport and the Kennedy compound, Main Streets diverse variety of shops, restaurants, gift stores, festivals, Cape Cod Train, and the Kennedy Museum. Within a short drive you will find Whale Watching, golf, historic Rte 6a, summer theatre, bike trails, world-class Cape Cod beaches including the Cape Cod National Seashore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Anchor In Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor In Hyannis
Hotel Anchor In
Anchor In Hotel Hyannis, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing