We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year on the Cape”
Review of Anchor In Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anchor In Hotel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I opted for the Anchor In in Hyannis for a short New Year break on the Cape and was impressed by the location, accommodation and service offered. The room (a king-size) was clean, comfortable and well-furnished with a small balcony and free internet was an added bonus. The continental breakfast was excellent and included a choice of cereals, fresh fruit, bagels and muffins; tables for two were set overlooking the pool area and offered a lovely view of the harbour. The breakfast room manager was friendly and welcoming and offered advice and tips about where to visit and what to do on the Cape. I've paid much higher rates in New England for inferior accommodation and believe that the Anchor In represents extremely good value - I can wholeheartedly recommend it. On a slightly different note - and this is certainly no fault of the hotel - I was disappointed to find no public New Year's Eve events/fireworks in Hyannis as there are in other towns on the Cape (Chatham and Sandwich); maybe this is something Hyannis could consider in future years.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the harbour - first floor rooms are best for this
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigBootsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

702 - 708 of 1,139 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

The staff and this hotel couldn't have been better. We stayed from 12/26 through 12/30. The staff was very helpful in suggesting local restaurants as many were closed in the off season. They also helped plan some Winter beach outings. I liked the fact that the Library was open late and coffee and tea were available there. The breakfast was more than adequate. Al in all a great stay. We will definately return here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed in the anchor inn for 3 nights at The West Barnstable room which was just great. It has everything you need and more, very spacious clean and comfortable and with wonderful views.
The breakfast is also more than enough .bagels, muffins. Cheese fruits and more.
There are also 24/7 hot drinks at the lobby that you can drink there or take to your room.
The most wonderful thing in this hotel is the staff. So nice and helpful and always with a smile. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ililili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We went to Hyannis for our birthdays and stayed at the Anchor. Great little place on the water (harbor) place was very clean, friendly staff, great continental breakfast and nice room. Would recommend ftoo anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krm120658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed at Anchor inn, Hyannis 5th to 7th December.
We were immediately greeting by a friendly guy who checked us in with ease.
The hotel is lovely. It's right by the waterfront. It's about a 10 minute walk to the picture postcard Main Street. We were surprised by how many shops, bars and restaurants are open in the so called off season. The hotel is spotlessly clean and all the hotel staff were met were genuinely friendly offering spot on advice when asked for restaurant recommendations etc.
The cute lounge with a open fire is perfect for relaxing after breakfast. The hotel has a lovely ambience fitting perfectly with cape cod's amazing scenery. We took a day trip to Martha's Vineyard which we drove down to wood's hole for the 45 minute ferry. Great trip. You can also jump on a ferry (2minutes walk from hotel) to Nantucket.
Our room was 137. I'd recommend a harbour view just for sunrise alone. Will we be back? You bet! if we are ever back in the USA. Would I recommend to family / friends? absolutely.

Room Tip: Harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaA6545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We picked this place based on TripAdvisor reviews - and couldn't have made a better choice. This hotel is truly a "home from home" with its cozy, comfortable and warm atmosphere. In more detail:
The hotel is quietly and conveniently located in Hyannis at the harbor, nearby shopping mall, restaurants, etc. The "this is really nice" feeling got us as we entered the lobby, where we were greeted friendly and with a big smile. There's a lounge with (free) coffee, tea and cookies in the afternoon, with lots of games to play and books to read. It is just like being in a living room that welcomes you.
The room in the main building was large and very clean, offered a small walk in closet, comfortable bed, TV, (free) WLAN, fridge, coffee maker, heating/AC and a balcony. The only "downside" - hence not an excellent rating - were the rooms seem to have walls (almost) as thin as paper, so we could hear our neighbors talk. Admittedly, we have a light sleep, too.
The rate included breakfast - cold, but good and plenty. Cereals, bagels, muffins, eggs, yogurt, fruit, you name it. We were even encouraged to take something for the day.
Would we book the Anchor In again - most definitely and anytime!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DanMel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Great location walking distance to ferries, great staff, larger than usual room.would recommend to anyone visiting Cape Cod. Atmosphere is truly what I envisioned for Cape Cod. We enjoyed interacting with other guest.
Ng
Y

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bettyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyannis
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
1.0 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,268 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
#10 of 22 in Hyannis
58 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.4 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#5 of 22 in Hyannis
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor In Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor In Hotel

Address: 1 South St, On Hyannis Harbor, Hyannis, MA 02601-3130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Business Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hyannis
Price Range: $108 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor In Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Distinctively located in Hyannis, the "Homeport of Cape Cod". Walk to Bayview Beach, ferries to Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard, waterfront restaurants, Harbor cruises to Hyannisport and the Kennedy compound, Main Streets diverse variety of shops, restaurants, gift stores, festivals, Cape Cod Train, and the Kennedy Museum. Within a short drive you will find Whale Watching, golf, historic Rte 6a, summer theatre, bike trails, world-class Cape Cod beaches including the Cape Cod National Seashore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Anchor In Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor In Hyannis
Hotel Anchor In
Anchor In Hotel Hyannis, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing