We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Anchor In Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anchor In Hotel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed at Anchor inn, Hyannis 5th to 7th December.
We were immediately greeting by a friendly guy who checked us in with ease.
The hotel is lovely. It's right by the waterfront. It's about a 10 minute walk to the picture postcard Main Street. We were surprised by how many shops, bars and restaurants are open in the so called off season. The hotel is spotlessly clean and all the hotel staff were met were genuinely friendly offering spot on advice when asked for restaurant recommendations etc.
The cute lounge with a open fire is perfect for relaxing after breakfast. The hotel has a lovely ambience fitting perfectly with cape cod's amazing scenery. We took a day trip to Martha's Vineyard which we drove down to wood's hole for the 45 minute ferry. Great trip. You can also jump on a ferry (2minutes walk from hotel) to Nantucket.
Our room was 137. I'd recommend a harbour view just for sunrise alone. Will we be back? You bet! if we are ever back in the USA. Would I recommend to family / friends? absolutely.

Room Tip: Harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaA6545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    276
    50
    12
    4
See reviews for
257
561
35
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We picked this place based on TripAdvisor reviews - and couldn't have made a better choice. This hotel is truly a "home from home" with its cozy, comfortable and warm atmosphere. In more detail:
The hotel is quietly and conveniently located in Hyannis at the harbor, nearby shopping mall, restaurants, etc. The "this is really nice" feeling got us as we entered the lobby, where we were greeted friendly and with a big smile. There's a lounge with (free) coffee, tea and cookies in the afternoon, with lots of games to play and books to read. It is just like being in a living room that welcomes you.
The room in the main building was large and very clean, offered a small walk in closet, comfortable bed, TV, (free) WLAN, fridge, coffee maker, heating/AC and a balcony. The only "downside" - hence not an excellent rating - were the rooms seem to have walls (almost) as thin as paper, so we could hear our neighbors talk. Admittedly, we have a light sleep, too.
The rate included breakfast - cold, but good and plenty. Cereals, bagels, muffins, eggs, yogurt, fruit, you name it. We were even encouraged to take something for the day.
Would we book the Anchor In again - most definitely and anytime!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanMel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JACKSON
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Great location walking distance to ferries, great staff, larger than usual room.would recommend to anyone visiting Cape Cod. Atmosphere is truly what I envisioned for Cape Cod. We enjoyed interacting with other guest.
Ng
Y

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Shores, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Used Anchor In as our home base to travel around Cape Cod and it was perfect....absolutely no complaints whatsoever. Staff was very helpful....recommend highly! Breakfast was done very tastefully, sitting room for watching a little football after a long day sightseeing if you wern't ready to call it a day with your traveling companions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 39Ilene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Perfect location for our first trip to Cape Cod. Only a few minutes walk to Hyannis Main Street, and easy to get around the rest of Cape Cod by car.

We booked this as part of our honeymoon and couldn't have chosen anywhere better. Everyone was so friendly: We, too, were at the Anchor In when 'Sandy' arrived and all the staff were fantastic. I was particularly nervous beforehand, but everyone really made us feel safe. Thank you so much.

The room was very clean and comfortable and the atmosphere at the Anchor In is very relaxed, with help always at hand for advice on places to eat out, visit etc.

Loved Cape Cod & also loved our trip to Marthas Vineyard. Hope to see you all again.

Thanks again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a refurbished older hotel owned by the same family for several decades. It is located in a perfect spot for walking distance to restaurants and shops in Hyannis and along the waterfront. If you're taking a ferry to the islands, it is right next door. In the off season it is very quiet. The staff are very helpful and the rooms are sparkling clean. I would avoid the cheapest rooms as they are in a low-ceilinged near basement location, which is fine if no one is staying above you, but if you have folks who seem to need to walk back and forth across the floor about 500 times a night it is quite loud.

Room Tip: Don't select the "partial-view" rooms in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bio-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Fl
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I went for a weekend visit "off season" and found this place to be a gem. I picked The Anchor to stay at based on the reviews in Trip Advisor. I was not disapointed! The room was "clean, clean, clean". The staff was helpful with suggestions on places to eat.
I just can't say enough about it. I found the positive reviews to be unusual as most people write to "complain", not very many write in with positive feed back.

We can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gretchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyannis
1.0 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,236 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
0.4 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#4 of 22 in Hyannis
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
15.3 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#3 of 9 in Chatham
684 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor In Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor In Hotel

Property: Anchor In Hotel
Address: 1 South St, On Hyannis Harbor, Hyannis, MA 02601-3130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Business Hotel in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor In Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Distinctively located in Hyannis, the "Homeport of Cape Cod". Walk to Bayview Beach, ferries to Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard, waterfront restaurants, Harbor cruises to Hyannisport and the Kennedy compound, Main Streets diverse variety of shops, restaurants, gift stores, festivals, Cape Cod Train, and the Kennedy Museum. Within a short drive you will find Whale Watching, golf, historic Rte 6a, summer theatre, bike trails, world-class Cape Cod beaches including the Cape Cod National Seashore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Anchor In Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor In Hyannis
Hotel Anchor In
Anchor In Hotel Hyannis, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing