We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Anchor In Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anchor In Hotel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

This was our second trip to 'the cod' have spent our first holiday in Plymouth and Boston. My wife and I decided to find somewhere with a good link to Provincetown, Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket and the Anchor In couldn't have been more perfect. We were greeted by the reception staff who were very helpful and they advised on local restaurants and sight seeing.
We stayed in 2 different rooms over our holiday as our first choice was not available for the whole time but both rooms were very nice and very clean.
Great views, good hospitality and good breakfast.

Room Tip: If you can book one of the larger rooms first floor overlooking the harbour you will not be disappoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    704
    267
    49
    12
    4
See reviews for
240
534
34
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

I loved the Anchor In. The staff was cheerful and helpful with information about the area and everything looked new and clean. We were greeted in the afternoon with cookies and lemonade in the common area and breakfast was enough for anyone (fresh fruit, cereals, bagels, muffins, meat cold cuts, cheese, hard boiled eggs, juice, coffe, tea). The view of the harbor was great and the grounds beautifully manicured and the pool area well maintained. The rooms were also clean and well maintained, large TV and refrigerator and sitting area inside and on the balony. The expense was worth it and the area seemed very safe. We were near the hospital but never heard a noise. I'd love to go back its a great place to hang out and relax. And we received a thank you bag of water and taffy when we checked out, that was especially a nice touch. Another thanks to the staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn_123_456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We booked for 3 nights and stayed 5! This Inn is charming, friendly, extremely clean and the staff were always friendly and helpful. We enjoyed some lovely evening meals in Hyannis' restaurants at the staff's recommendation. The breakfast on offer was fresh, plentiful and of excellent quality in a very pleasant and comfortable surrounding. It is buffet style with very good choices, which are continually being replenished. The decor throughout this hotel is quality and tasteful. Quiet location, in easy walking distance to harbour/ferries and Maine Street with the many restaurants and shops. Good parking, lovely views, lots of information available in the hotel for the holiday maker........ and loads of lovely fluffy white towels in the bathroom! We are only sorry they did not have availability on the 6th night!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, VA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

This inn has more of a B & B feel. The dining room/lobby seems more like a home setting than a motel. It looked better than my own family room at home!
The included breakfast is wonderful, served up in a beautiful kitchen. The hotel is clean and the view of the harbor is picture worthy.
A short walk to the ferry.
I highly recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms are beautifully decorated & comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The room was clean and up to date but this hotel was a bit disappointing, I expected more from such a highly ranked hotel. The lobby was tiny, I found the staff to be a little stiff. Breakfast was only fair although the dining room was lovely. No valet service, we had to walk up a long set of stairs with our luggage. There are better choices.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank servins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorInHyannisowner, Owner at Anchor In Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your review of your overnight stay. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet or exceed your every expectation. It would have been our pleasure to assist you with your luggage upon request. Of course it also would have been our pleasure to assist you to your complete satisfaction with and questions or concerns you may have had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

The Anchor is a must when coming to Cape Cod. This charming hotel is very clean, charming, and inviting. The staff is very friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. It is on a Harbor with great views, and walking distance to ferries to Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard. The rooms are very clean and decorated wonderfully. The complimentary breakfast is great and includes cereal, muffins, bagels, fresh fruit, cheese, and cold cuts.
There is a heated pool, and we frequently enjoyed our balcony off our room with views of the Harbor. We had everything we needed and more. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and would recommend the Anchor In as the perfect place to stay on Cape Cod!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cobb761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpful with suggestions of where to go and and how to get around the most efficiently. They helped us unwind the various options for crossing over to Martha's Vineyard. They had great restaurant suggestions and coupons for some of them. The morning breakfast was well-supplied and staffed by a friendly hostess. The view over the harbor while eating breakfast made for a pleasant start to the day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyannis
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
1.0 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
0.4 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#3 of 22 in Hyannis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
14.2 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
15.3 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor In Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor In Hotel

Property: Anchor In Hotel
Address: 1 South St, On Hyannis Harbor, Hyannis, MA 02601-3130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Family Hotel in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor In Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Distinctively located in Hyannis, the "Homeport of Cape Cod". Walk to Bayview Beach, ferries to Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard, waterfront restaurants, Harbor cruises to Hyannisport and the Kennedy compound, Main Streets diverse variety of shops, restaurants, gift stores, festivals, Cape Cod Train, and the Kennedy Museum. Within a short drive you will find Whale Watching, golf, historic Rte 6a, summer theatre, bike trails, world-class Cape Cod beaches including the Cape Cod National Seashore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Anchor In Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor In Hyannis
Hotel Anchor In
Anchor In Hotel Hyannis, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing