We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, good food at reasonable prices”
Review of McGrath's Saloon and Sports Bar - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
McGrath's Saloon and Sports Bar
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Barnstable, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

McGrath's is relatively new in a shopping area near the Hyannis airport. WIth a menu consisting of sandwiches, salads and standard American fare, McGrath's is comfortable, convenient, and consistent. It's a sports bar; TVs dot the perimeter of the room. Live music is brought in regularly. It's a good place to go after work, or after a hard day at the beach!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank orowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Sports bar/restaurant”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stopped in to watch the Super Bowl and found McGrath's packed with large screen HD TV's. The bar is large and the tables and the booths are all brand new. I believe the place just opened recently. They offered a full menu which looked great but we just ordered from the tailgate menu which is offered up during the NFL season. The $2.00 menu was suprisingly good. There is another bar and more seating on the lower level which we looked at but did not go to. If your looking to watch March Madness or any other sporting event this would be a great choice.
It is a little hard to find as it sits back from Rte 28 in the Staples shopping area. Plenty of parking though and lot is well lit. We will definately go back!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dexter800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great local place”
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Good food, friendly staff, check this place out folks! The only thing missing was Cape Cod beer!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank threejean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We've been here a bunch and times and have never been disappointed. The food,staff and atmosphere is fantastic. The Dagwood sandwich and Danno's Chili are must tries. Drinks and food are reasonable priced. My boyfriend and I love this place. They also have a $2 football menu during NFL games......

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nessenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The food and value are unsurpassed.”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

This establishment just opened July 1 2011 and my family has already been there 3 times. The portions are quite large and the cost is pretty low for both food and alcohol. Overall the value was great. We sat at the bar each time and had friendly service.

There are daily lunch and dinner specials and the chowder and chili are home made on site, we were told, and were both awesome. You can get salads or bugers and sandwiches all the way up to prime rib so there is a little bit for everyone. Some of the nightly specials when we were there were steak and lobster pie surf and turf as well as grilled sea bass with a mango salsa. The appetizers portions are immense. There is a large childrens menu also.

The saloon is located right near the airport rotary in Hyannis and we are told that they will be staying open year round, which can be a rarity for establishments on Cape Cod. There is a beautiful function room that is on it's own private floor so you could feel like you had the place to yourself. We will definately keep it in mind for our future functions. I forgot to mention the flat panel TV's everywhere! There is 1 on the outside patio and even in the rest rooms so you don't miss a second of the sports action.

All in all a great experience. The owners (husband and wife) were both on site and were their to introduce themselves to the guests and made us feel very welcome. Can't wait for winter so we can sit by the fireplace and have a great meal but no way are we waiting that long to go back!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank princesshollyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGrath's Saloon and Sports Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing