We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Content lacking”

Cape Cod Duckmobiles
Swampscott, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Content lacking”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Our family loves ducktours, and we have always considered them to be a lot of fun, whilst also offering great value as you get both a road and waterway tour for the one price. We have taken them in cities all over America, and have always been satisfied with our experience. Not so in Hyannis. Whilst the driver and tour guide did try their best to give their customers a fun time, there is simply nothing to see on this tour! The town portion consisted of pointing out ice-cream shops, and places to eat, which one could get easily do much better by simply taking a stroll along Main Street. The water portion was even more sad, as it consisted of puttering around the Harbor, and seeing.... nothing. They actually stated outright that other companies gave much better tours than theirs. This is of no comfort, given that you already on their vehicle in the middle of a tour. Save your money and either skip a tour altogether, or shell out a bit more for one that actually shows you somehting worthwhile.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank momof2boys_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    42
    15
    17
    25
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Haven, ct
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“tour would have been better if the guide SHUT UP!”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I know my title sounds mean....but man she RUINED what could have been a fun and interesting tour. The vehicles they take you out in are very unique military land/water vehicles...so the tour starts out on the streets of Hyannis and then the vehicle goes right into the ocean for the 2nd part of the tour. However, in between what was supposed to be informative commentary, the tour guide would stop and yell 'QUACK QUACK QUACK' to every person she saw on the street, and every car she saw with their windows open. I can see where kids would find this entertaining, but there were NO KIDS on our particular trip...so the obnoxious 'QUACK QUACK QUACKS' really werent needed every 2 minutes. If it wasnt for that, the trip would have been good....but unfortunately, i think these obnoxious 'QUACKS' are part of every trip.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Too Kitschy not Enough Substance”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My family of four bought 4 tickets for the Duck Tour of Hyannis, Cape Cod. Tickets were $18 per adult and $15 for children 6 and up. Children 5 and under are $5. We ended up paying $56 for the tour. I was excited about the tour as I had been on other Duck Tours in many other cities and always loved them. This one was really boring. The driver and tour guide were both lovely people but their little kitschy jokes were overdone and were annoying w/in 5 minutes of the tour. We were hoping to learn about the town of Hyannis which is home to the Kennedy family and we learned nothing except that the tour does not pass any of the Kennedy homes. The most exciting thing on the tour was seeing the church where the Kennedy's attend services and where Maria Schrivner and Arnold Schwarzenegger got married. We did about 8 minutes on land and the rest in the water which is not bad, but all the tour guide did was force us to do Duck calls to every passing boat (which there are many) and tell us how expensive the houses on the water sell for. We learned nothing about the history of the town and were disappointed we wasted our money on this tour. I can't imagine they can't come up with a better tour for such a renowned area such as Hyannis Port.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Globe trotters
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“$48 I'll never see again”
Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

While Miss Lynn was 50% adorable and 50% obnoxious, even she knew the tour was massively lame. She pointed out the "Wings" store, same cheap restaurants, and our trip into the water consisited of stories about where they would like to take us but the town cousel wouldnt let them. Thankfully we were spared the homophobic jokes that the other commenter experienced but Even my three year old barely raised an eyebrow.

Helpful?
Thank Joshley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, Mass
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great for the kids!”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We took our five year old on the duckmobile and he loved it! He was completely blown away by the fact that it turns into a boat and goes into the water! The "captain" and tour guide are always hilarious and make the ride enjoyable for the parents as well!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Cod Duckmobiles also viewed

 

Been to Cape Cod Duckmobiles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing