We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place to stay cheap!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of HI-Hyannis Hostel

HI-Hyannis Hostel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
HI-Hyannis Hostel
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place to stay cheap!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I have stayed at a few hostels and this ranks up there with the best. It is warm and inviting. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. The location was the best part about it, near everything. The rooms are good size and really clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mccoy63174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
3
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

I stayed here for a couple of nights in a private room with two beds. The hostel is newly renovated, so everything was in great condition. Plenty of bathrooms for everyone and a good kitchen to prepare your own meals if you want to. The staff are friendly and will give you tips on what to do & see, places to eat and drink and so on. A good budget option in a location where that's hard to find. It's also only 5 mins walk from the bus terminal and 2 minutes from the ferries to Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket, so a good base to explore if you want to do day trips.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AEF_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Decked out like a Laura Ashley showroom, HI Hyannis faces the harbour, and the ferries for Nantucket. It has been completely refurbished both inside and out, has clean and presentable modern bathrooms and showers, a members kitchen with all modern conveniences, free wi-fi, a guitar - for those of you bold enough to play - and is close to some of the best fish and seafood restaurants in the USA. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable. A central location, fresh and new, a delight for any traveller. It is not the first time that a HI Hostel was in need of the cleaning of its windows! That minor detail aside, its an A+ for the visitor experience!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stonechatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

We caught some warm weather so the unairconditioned room was a tad warm for sleeping. The building is history is interesting and in a great location. It was nice to have coffee & tea available all day. It is not within easy walking distance of a grocery so it would be nice if the hostel had some eggs or fruit available for sale at breakfast.


Veteran's Beach was nice, smallish, and uncrowded. It is about 1 mile walk from the hostel. There are no waves but it is scenic and has a roped off area for swimming. We lived Veteran's much better than the large & overcrowded Craigsville Beach that the hostel recommended. The JFK Memorial is adjacent to Veteran's Beach and the JFK Museum is a short walk to downtown Main St.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doodle_ya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

I stayed at the Hyannis Hostel in August 2011. I stayed in one of the private rooms and found the room to be clean (nothing extravagant). The common areas (Kitchen, bathroom, grounds) were well above average compared to other Hostels I stayed at. The Hostel's location was amazing as it was right by many fantastic restaurants, beaches, cape code baseball, and ferry. I would stay here again if my travels bring me to cape cod.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank stein5285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

The Hi Hostels in the U.S. are generally old and run down, yet character filled. The Hi hostel in Hyannis is brand new, shiny, and posses a fantastic character all of its own. It is located in a perfect position between the main street and some nearby beaches. It is right next to the ferries that travel to Nantucket & Marthas Vineyard.

The staff I met were helpful, friendly, courtious, and well informed on all aspects of the local area. I feel that this friendly atmosphere went a long way to creating the warm character of this new building. Prop's to Eric (letting us use the kitchen pre check in) Jamie ( checking us in asap) Elliot for coolness and rock stacking, and Niki for interesting morning conversations. I feel some Hi staff U.S. wide I have encountered prior could benefit from a stay at Hi Hyannis.

Only very small negative was that the bunks felt a little unstable as they were subject to a little sway as you climbed in and out.

In short, a great place to base yourself to explore the Cape if your on a budget. Free breakfast and speedy Wi-Fi topped of a good two night stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

I was traveling on my own and only crashed here for the night. The hostel is located right across from where you pick up the ferry that I took out to Nantucket. This is a very new hostel. It was really nice staying here. It is also located right near the center of town. I slept well. The guests and staff were all super friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hyannis hotels
0.3 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
Hyannis Harbor Hotel
#12 of 22 in Hyannis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
0.1 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#3 of 22 in Hyannis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Heritage House Hotel
Heritage House Hotel
#16 of 22 in Hyannis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
0.0 mi away
Hyannis Holiday Motel
Hyannis Holiday Motel
#11 of 22 in Hyannis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI-Hyannis Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Hyannis Hostel

Property: HI-Hyannis Hostel
Address: 111 Ocean St, Hyannis, MA 02601-4734
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — HI-Hyannis Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your HI-Hyannis Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
HI-Hyannis Hostel Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing