We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best bread etc” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pain D'Avignon

Pain D'Avignon
Ranked #19 of 188 Restaurants in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Modern European style Cafe & Bistro
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best bread etc”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

If you're looking for great French baguette bread, high end muffins, desserts etc this is the place to go in Hyannis. Being from Montreal Canada we are used to French style bread and grocery store varieties won't do unless peanut butter is on the menu....this place had amazing crusty bread, the muffins were made with quality ingredients and tasted amazing as well as some other desserts we tried...I saw people having lunch and the pizza looked great, this year will be back for a full meal...I actually heard Ina from Barefoot Contessa rave about this place on her show so you know it's good. Also a great spot for coffee...enjoy!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DVAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    95
    31
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Braintree
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Elegant and Delicious on the cape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

My favorite restaurant to have dinner on the cape. I know that the outside atmosphere leaves something to desire, but the food and service far overcomes that! i have NEVER had a bad meal here. it can get crowded, so be prepared. but it is well worth the wait. In the past they even give you a small loaf of bread to take home. the many different varieties of their bread and pastries are delicious too- they purvey lots of restaurants in Boston. Enjoy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BraintreeLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Not just your average slice of bread - just fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

What a great restaurant in a very unlikely location beside an airport! The staff, ambience, atmosphere, service and food were just fantastic.
The restaurant layout is a very clever blend of a shop where you can buy delicious items from the bakery together with lots of other tasty snacks and a great place for an elegant dinner. There's also a bar where you can either sit or eat.
The waitress was utterly charming and very helpful and knew what she was talking about. The wine list was superb with a good choice of prices.
I had a deliciously sharp and refreshing salad to begin with, my husband indulged in very good foie gras. Then it was special of the day (marlin) and he had juicy, succulent scallops. Six of us shared three yummy and decadent puds - excellent.
At the end of the meal the waitress gave us all a loaf of bread to take home - OK it would have been too old to sell the next day but it was a nice touch.
Great place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kategc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best almond croissant this side of the Atlantic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

A little bit of Europe hidden in the most unlikely location - in back of the Hyannis airport. Delicious almond croissants, scones, breads... chocolate hazelnut bread is too die for... cranberry walnut bread is so delicious and flavorful. Their lattes are not to my taste - very foamy and a little bitter. Inside is a pleasant sidewalk cafe vibe. Expensive but worth it!

(I always come in the morning, so can't speak to the very different dinnertime transformation)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank X10Khan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bon appetit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Hidden gem but worth it! They squeezed us in! Literally, at a tiny table against the bread shelves between two large groups that we had to sidle behind chairs to get there. Tables and chairs are tiny and tight and we're not huge people! Hubby had the free range chicken, um YUMMMM! I had the tagliatelle which was so delish! I would def order the Beef Bourguignon next time when I have more appetite. Portions were perfect for us after duck confit app. Attentive server and staff. Can't say enough about the BREAD!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KittyTyrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pain D'Avignon also viewed

 

Been to Pain D'Avignon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing