We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bartender wonderful, but after 45 minutes sitting on patio, no service”
Review of Tommy Doyles - CLOSED

Tommy Doyles
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
301 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Bartender wonderful, but after 45 minutes sitting on patio, no service”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Server told us to take a seat. We waited. After 15 minutes went to bar to get beer and menu. Waited again. Were not acknowledged by server for the 45 minutes we were waiting outside even thouh she came and went outside. Restaurant was not full, would have been fine if she said she'd be back but we were completely ignored. After finishing beer, which was, excellent, went back to return menus and bartender graciously comped drink. Disappointed because we were excited about the menu, but 45 minutes at a table with nothing didn't impress us. Wish we could comment about the food. Other restaurant we went to was spectacular. Hope they do better when they hire more waitstaff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMF568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    3
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jenkintown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A day late, A dollar short”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Waited over 45 minutes for our dinner. Only one waitress for whole place. I would not go there again. Good just for getting a beer at the bar.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardner, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
127 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Typical Low End Pub Food”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Had delivered to a local hotel, Was told 45 minutes.. Took 90 minutes, Food was typical thaw and heat pub food. Tasted alright and delivery guy was friendly. Nothing Special but good if your drunk and need food

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DunkinD83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
129 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The waiting....and waiting....”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

A group of friends and I dropped in for Trivia night while we were out on the cape. We rushed to get to the bar because trivia was supposed to start at 7pm. We asked the waitress what time it was supposed to start and she sort of looked at us and then asked the bartender who said he was on his way....on his way in 30 minutes that is. So we ordered a round of drinks, and when I say drinks I mean 4 draft beers and one mixed drink. After about 15 minutes we were wondering where our drinks were. There were very few people in the establishment and we could see that our drinks were not up on the bar or anything. Finally the bartender took time from fixing her eyeliner to pour our beers. This kind of thing continued for the next 3 rounds of drinks. If it weren't for trivia which we are suckers for, there is no way I would have stayed here. When I waited to pay my bill, and waited and waited..I finally went up to our waitress who was dancing by herself on the side of the bar. She was friendly, but goodness...never again. A shame, the place looks awesome. I can't imagine the wait on food if a beer takes 20 minutes. Oh and clean your bathroom. There were lipstick kisses all over the wall (who would do that!?!)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandiceMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLEWOOD
Level Contributor
231 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Kids eat free, except...”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The sign that indicated that kids eat free with a parent , was hanging on the parental entrée. We enjoyed the chowder, which was good but may have been thickend with corn starch, because it had the wallpaper paste look.

Kids don't eat free unless you have an entrée.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglewoodDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy Doyles also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing